$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 North 17th Street, 201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
240 reviews
Granddaughter's Wedding

While the rest of the wedding guests stayed at another hotel, they all complained about the... See full review

  • Laura D.
  • Jun 24, 2015
One Direction Concert

The beds were so comfortable I did not want to leave! All the staff members we ran into were very... See full review

  • Lizzette R.
  • May 27, 2015
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.
General
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Location
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Dining
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Rooms
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Highlights
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Policies
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$87
4.0 / 5 667 reviews
★★★★
$115
3.7 / 5 149 reviews
★★★★
$139
3.9 / 5 81 reviews
★★★
$126
4.3 / 5 84 reviews
★★★★
$98
4.4 / 5 96 reviews
★★★★
$152
4.2 / 5 45 reviews
★★★★
$136
4.2 / 5 60 reviews
★★★★
$260
4.2 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★
$145
4.1 / 5 14 reviews

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

The Terrace Café
The newly transformed Terrace Café serves a delicious buffet breakfast and à la carte dining.
Lobby Lounge & Restaurant
Enjoy light fare while watching your favorite game in the Lobby Lounge & Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bianca moon
Family
NYC
Feb 24, 2014

Vacation

I was aware I was staying at a pet friendly hotel by I didn't realize I would be subject to the room being gross and unclean. My dog is very well behaved and clearly the ones prior were not. There was stains every where on the carpet and walls. You can tell a dog was left unattended in the room the doors were all scratched up from anxiety. Not to mention my bed had no fitted sheets just a sheet laying on top of a filthy disgusting mattress. I slept I top on the comforter because I was so disgusted. To late at night to find another hotel I was disappointed to say the least. My to mention my allergies had gone berserk. I am still sneezing and stuffy. All congested from the filthy room that clearly staff though was acceptable. If I could rate no stars I would. Not to mention I am 8 months pregnant and had to deal with this on my fiancé and I's vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Let me save you time by telling you to never go to thu hotel

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bhm
Mar 6, 2010

noisy

very noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mARK hOCKEY dAD
Couples
Philadelphia PA
Aug 12, 2014

Disappointed

Started out being assigned a single bed room and a double bed was reserved. They did correct the problem quickly. The coffee maker did not work, the refrigerator and microwave were missing, a light bulb was burned out in the bathroom and never replaced. The signage in the hall pointed ice and vending was located at the end of the hall. After walking the entire length a sign said ice was available on the 4th and 26th floors. Two ice machines for 26 floors? Red Roof does better than that. Had to call security the 1st night because there was a LOUD drunken party in the hall at 1:30 AM Wi-Fi only available for a $12.95 fee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's worth the short walk to Sabrina's Café for breakfast vrs the bland over-priced hotel breakfast

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
burr
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Horrible and Unclean

This hotel is low class, wasn't clean and they had on the website there was continental breakfast.... That you had to pay for! The room I booked was dirty the entire experience was a waste staff was unfriendly. I will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York City
Jun 22, 2010

Should have been better

The best thing was my extra soft and comfortable bed and pillows. The hotel was off to the side, so I had to take cabs to get to where I was going. The sites were not in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Dec 15, 2010

Sheraton December 2011

The hotel is conveniently located; the staff was pleasant and very helpful; the room was up to date and the bed was quite comfortable. The service in the restaurant and bar was great. The hotel has an atrium style lobby with a bar and coffee shop open to the ceiling. The lobby had horribly cold drafts, which actually drove people out. As much as I liked the staff, I won't be back. There are too many other comparably priced hotels without the discomfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The airport shuttle isn't fancy and takes a bit longer, but the cost is $10 as opposed to $28.50 plus tip for a cab.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ny
Apr 5, 2011

Week end

Not impressed with hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Providence, RI
Jul 20, 2011

Bit disappointed

I went to Philly to spend a nice several days with my boyfriend, whom I don't get to see often since it is long distance. We wanted to book a hotel for a couple of nights so that we could have some privacy and spend some time in Center City. No doubt the Sheraton is a luxurious hotel. The reason I chose it was because it had the lowest rate at the time of booking. The nice thing is that we were able to check in early so that we would not have to wait around for three hours when we got there. The room was clean and comfortable, also. What I did not like was the fact that we had to pay a ridiculous fee to use the internet each day, and that there wasn't any cable. They had "ON COMMAND" where you could select a certain movie to watch, but when we found one we wanted to watch we saw how much it cost and decided not to watch it. Really!? It was more than going to a movie theater. And if there was free WIFI we could've watched something on Netflix! We saw that there was an "Internet on TV" option, but we were having trouble figuring it out. When we called the front desk they had told us that they no longer had the option. So we were wasting time messing with it for nothing. The other thing is there was a liter bottle of water on the desk and when I picked it up to see if we could drink some I saw that the price was ridiculous! For that much we might as well drink from the tap. And the meal menu prices? Forget it. We just ate out and saved money. There was a slight problem with housekeeping as well. The first morning we woke up there housekeeping knocked on our door at around 10:20. I was expecting them at some point, but that was just too early and when I opened the door the woman apologized profusely because we weren't even dressed yet. She knocked again like ten minutes later! We should've had a sign on the door. The next day when we came back from a day of walking at around 4pm for a break we saw that our room had been cleaned, which is good. However, the same woman from housekeeping opened the door with her key assuming that there was no one there and apologized saying she had the wrong room. Wasn't she the one who cleaned it in the first place? Good thing neither of us were naked! In conclusion, the next time I book a room I think I will stick with the less luxurious, but very cozy hotels I have stayed in before. At least those have free WIFI/cable and sometimes even a complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
never stay at sheraton again
Friends
usa
May 9, 2009

Sheraton philly city center hotel

This hotel is all about sucking money out of you. Nothing offered for breakfast. Not a piece a bread or a juice. Nothing! Even discount hotel chains care enough about their customers to offer something, anything. Oh yeah you could pay $17 for the breakfast buffet! Omg do you realize how many pancakes, eggs and othe cheap breakfast stuff you can buy for $17? This is a nopn smoking hotel so do not believe Orbitz when they say you can get a smoking room! They take your credit card even when you prepay for room! I was scared they were going to charge me for the soap and toilet paper i used. Windows dont open and the air conditioner was not working very well. The matresses had springs that jab you in your back when you are sleeping. The lady at the desk was snotty when I asked where our breakfast was. I suppose they feel everybody is rich who stays at a sheraton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

nothing real close, everything requires expensive taxi ride

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NYC
May 25, 2009

Okay

Location for walking around was great or could take a shottle to the Big Bus Tours which is worth every penny. The parking garage is a rip off. A perfectly good parking facility is across the Street for approx. $5.00 vs the $38.00 at the Hotel. Everyone at the Hotel was curteous, unfortunately the room was not vacuumed, 1 bar of soap, not enough towels and a lack of toliet paper. The concierge was extremly helpful and provided easy access around the city. It looks like everything is spread out but very walkable. Do not eat in the Hotel better walk over to Rittenhouse area. Lovely restaurants, shopping okay a bit more upscale but can find some quaint spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top