$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
View map of 1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
May 13, 2010

Good location, fine hotel

The Rodeway hotel is about 5 blocks west of the historic Philadelphia - the walk to the historic district was safe and pleasant. At the time of my visit (May 2010) I was provided with free wireless internet which worked without flaw. Also at that time, the elevator was not operational, so I climbed two flights of narrow stairs to my room - not a huge inconvenience but worth noting. The free breakfast included choices of juice, coffee, cereal, bagels and doughnuts. My room had windows facing the street. After dark, the street did become somewhat loud with car noises and some yelling outside. I also did not find a thermostat in the room and felt the air to be somewhat chilly at night. One afternoon, there was a weird episode where the fire alarm went off for about 15 minutes. The fire department came and checked out the building and declared a false alarm. For the next half hour, the alarm went off for a few seconds about every minute. The fire department returned, but again it was a false alarm. It sounded like they were going to get the alarm fixed. The staff were friendly and competent. Check in and check out were easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
transcendntl
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jan 26, 2011

Great location but remodeling needed bad

The good - Parking was conveniently located across the street and discounted at 10.50 per day per entry (i.e., no in-and-out privileges without paying again). However, location was so convenient that I didn't need to move my car for the entire 2 day trip. The hotel room was clean and most amenties were adequate. The bad - The comforter felt like sandpaper. The elevator did break down a few times (thankfully, I was only on the 3rd floor). But the most objectionable part of my stay was the water pressure in the shower. Most shower heads are regulated with a flow restricter to product 2.5 gallons per minute. The shower in the room I was staying in barely trickled out of the pipe. It was impossible to use. (This is where use of the 12th Street Gym was an absolutely necessity!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The CBC Bath House was located just a block away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philly guy 215
Business
Phila., PA
May 11, 2009

it was cute

the hotel was nice, the staff was great. the only problem we had was the pressure for the shower on the top floor, it was really bad. the hot water barely worked, we called the front desk and they apologized and said we could check out an hour later...so that was cool with me!! i would stay here again because the location is perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 3, 2009

Philadelphia Rodeway

The hotel was in a great location close to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and area arts and entertainment. The main problems was that the elevator did not work and my room was on the 4th floor, it was a climb to get to my room daily. My first night I found the laundry was not as clean as I would have preferred.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping close by the hotel and it was very close to the historic district also - great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Artic Traveler
Business
Jacksonville FL
Oct 27, 2009

Not quite what I expected

I was not able to adust the heat settings in the room. It was cold and there were not enough blankets to keep me warm .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family in hotel
Business
Connecticut
Jun 29, 2014

City center value

Nice basic hotel, ac is controlled at lobby for each floor not controlled in room. Everything very accessible from location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MiniBreaker
Business
Lancaster, PA
Sep 1, 2014

Not small -- fun sized

Great location on Walnut - especially close to Forrest Theater and Thomas Jefferson U - but this is not a hotel for anyone with a belt-size beyond 40, particularly if you staying as a couple. The reservation clearly stated a Queen Sized bed, but it's a double (I doubt a queen would fit in the room). Also the elevator door is very thin (though the elevator was having electrical issues the day we checked in, so we had to walk the [also very narrow] stairs up to the 5th floor. The rooms themselves are nice, though lacking in square footage -- and I would have been more impressed if the shower head wasn't missing in our bathroom. But, again, the location is tough to beat. The price is reasonable, parking is in the garage across the street (discounted to $12 for 24 hours - front desk will validate), and the staff is really very nice and friendly and the hotel décor overall is modern and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brief visitor
Business
Durham, North Carolina
May 7, 2012

Great location

I stayed for one night and didn't have any complaints about the place. Great location, recently renovated. Relatively affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viola C.E.A
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 30, 2012

Fantastic for exploring Philly

I enjoyed very much my stay at this hotel. The location is absolutely perfect, you can walk anywhere in Philly (which was perfect for me, as I think that to know really a town, you have to walk through it), and the hotel is in a very good area to go out, with many restaurants and shops. The room was fine, with the most comfortable bed I've had ever in a hotel. the staff helpful and friendly (I had problems with the air conditioning, which was really high, and they fixed it. And, they helped me with directions and transports). Definitely, I would be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single guest one night
Business
Philadelphia
Sep 5, 2012

Clean, simple, comfortable.

All the basic amenities. Very friendly staff, cozy bed, but unfortunately the jacuzzi function of the bathtub wasn't working. Clean enough, no complaints there. Big flat-screen TV was nice, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top