$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
74 reviews
I love this hotel

Every time I'm in Philly I stay here. It is a small hotel, but it is so clean and comfortable. The... See full review

  • Katie Reegs
  • Aug 12, 2014
Perfect place for a relaxing time away

Best hotel we have stayed in so far for the price we're able to pay. The location couldn't have... See full review

  • Shrimp Steak
  • Feb 7, 2014
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Hotel Map

39.9488 -75.161
Nearby airports
PHILADELPHIA INT'L AIRPORT, (PHL), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Convention Cntr.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NE
Jun 26, 2010

not good

The elevator was out of order so we had to take stairs to 6th floor everytime. We were not able to control room temperature, which was hot and uncomfortable. No house keeping. Good things were only the location and breakfast service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Feb 21, 2011

Good location, everything else is not

I was there on the buisness trip, so I did not need much, but good night rest which was impossible.Check in was good,but that's about it, room was very small,cold,layer of dust on the coffee machine. Window did not have night time curtains,so you could see through the room. Noisy from the hotel and from the street sides,hardly possible to sleep without earplugs and without sweater. Breakfast was pitiful. Stuff in the bathroom was fallen apart on me,and cherry on the cake-internet was not working,so I would pay couple extra bucks and get different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trackwriter
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 19, 2010

Great Locations, but rare occaision.

The hotel is in the geighborhood, which for me is no complaint. It's only that the daytime staffers aren't very friendly, not mean just not attentive. There is a parking garage for you use, I wasn't thrilled that there was a "no in and out" policy, but it was a nice feature for the quaint hotel. With a little paint and staff training, this could be a really great stay, but as it is. I wouldn't suggest spending your "getting to know you" days here. It's not a lover's nest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
happy hoppy
Business
Eatontown,N J
Mar 23, 2010

Philadelphia in the Spring

This hotel was with in walking distance to the Convention Center, elevator ran but was ancient and tiny, lower enconomic people seemed to be living at the hotel, price was high for services, but it is Center City Philadelphia. Nice to have the parking ticket validated, so its cost was lower than surrounding parking garages and relatively safe. I did not find air conditioning nor heating control in the room. I did feel safe and room was clean, watch out for the level changes on the floor between the entryway of the room and the sleeping area. There was no wall switch in the room area, only in the entrance area of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Be prepared to encounter people of all economic status.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Terlinda
NYC
Aug 16, 2009

plain OK

the location is good, the hotel plain bearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 8, 2007

Very kindly

great location, however, the price is so high on Summer holiday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hingham, MA
Oct 5, 2008

Good Location Only

No elevator. Patrons had to take steep elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to restaurants entertainment

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
egoo
Tucson, AZ
Sep 25, 2010

the moderate

the locations is great, poor water pressure, uncontrolled air condition. breakfast is not bad, free internet, but bad wirless service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philly guy 215
Phila., PA
May 11, 2009

it was cute

the hotel was nice, the staff was great. the only problem we had was the pressure for the shower on the top floor, it was really bad. the hot water barely worked, we called the front desk and they apologized and said we could check out an hour later...so that was cool with me!! i would stay here again because the location is perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BoRog
Baltimore
Apr 22, 2013

Surprisingly good

From the outside I was a little taken aback by Rodeway. It looks like an old house but the hotel was more modern and sleek than the outside facade. The desk clerk was not that friendly when I got there but desk staff the rest of the weekend were great. The room was larger than expected. Comfortable bed. Nice windows. Clean. The bathroom was small but fine. The second day of my stay the hot water was not working. The extremely nice and apologetic desk clerk gave me 10% off for the issue when I checked out. I did not spend much time in the room but I would recommend the hotel for a nice weekend get away to Philly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search