$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
76 reviews
Very Nice Location

The staff was exceptionally nice and the location was very unexpected for a Center City area. See full review

  • Ladye10
  • Sep 11, 2014
I love this hotel

Every time I'm in Philly I stay here. It is a small hotel, but it is so clean and comfortable. The... See full review

  • Katie Reegs
  • Aug 12, 2014
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Hotel Map

39.9488 -75.161
Nearby airports
PHILADELPHIA INT'L AIRPORT, (PHL), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Convention Cntr.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Center City also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mcc
Business
Los Angeles
May 26, 2010

Stay away unless necessary

Location-wise, it's very nice since it's pretty close to the center of Philly; however, the broken elevator really bothered me. The only room available was on the 6th floor and up so I had to drag my luggage and backpacks all the way up via the very tiny narrow staircase. Overall, the room is clean, but the curtain does not cover the showering space fully so every time I showered, waster splashed around the area. I had to clean it after I used it- Very nasty. If you are on a very tight budget, this hotel provides breakfast which could be a plus though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richboro, PA
Oct 13, 2009

The perks stop at the price.

The hotel was in a great location but it was very old. You felt like the elevator was going to break down. The room look clean but you just felt like it was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Sep 30, 2009

Rodeway Inn Center City

Great neighborhood. Nice hotel for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 30, 2008

Basic & clean, but watch out

Very basic, but clean. Nice 'towel art', good breakfast. Since our room was on the second floor, we used the stairs instead of the elevator. The elevator looked very tiny and old, but it does work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Historic Philadelphia is about a mile away, the convention center is about 1/4 mile away. We could easily walk it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PS Wes
Palm Springs California
May 16, 2010

Good location but many issues

Good central location to sights and public transportation, but unapologetic about "broken" elevator and inconsistent housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kaybee27
Business
Michigan
Aug 28, 2012

Room to improve

This hotel was in a great location near to cheap dining as well as nicer bars and restaurants. It was several blocks from the convention center though not too far in heels. One of the days that I stayed here Harrison Ford was filming a movie on the street outside the hotel! Besides for the location, however, I was wishing I had booked a different hotel. My complaints are all listed elsewhere in reviews that I had read: unprofessional staff, weird elevator that didn't go all the way up to my floor, poor water pressure and no hot water, cold rooms. The hotel is currently being renovated, but when I got in before check-in and was told that there was not a place I could change before heading to my conference, but eventually there would be a place... I was not impressed. The bed/furniture were nice, and there was a large tv and a coffee maker in the room, but the lack of a nice hot shower was a drag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Philly Cupcake on the way to the convention center was amazing -- Flourless chocolate cupcake ("Coma Cupcake") was insanely good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PCII
Business
NY, NY
Mar 9, 2013

Transitions

Hotel is undergoing renovations. Center City location is excellent. Room was small but clean, bed was small but comfortable. Shower, carpet were new but work was still ongoing throughout the hotel. Free wifi. Good for one night on short-notice business but interested to see how renovations evolve and whether the overall experience is improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
ma
Apr 29, 2010

GREAT LOCATION + BAD SERVICE !

Unfriendly front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nomad bill
Washington D.C.
Sep 19, 2009

The good, the bad, and the ugly

The best thing going for this hotel is location. It is within walking distance of all of the historic district, convention district, and "Washington"district. It tries to be a "boutique hotel" in an old building, but didn't quite pull it off with badly scratched tiles in the bathroom and mold in the shower. One night other guests were noisy and obviously drunk at 2-3 a.m. The cleaning staff did not clean the room while we were out during the day and, upon our return, asked if we wanted the room serviced..... so we went to the very small lobby for half an hour to allow the room to be cleaned. With the hotel discount, parking fees were okay but did not allow for in and out during the day. Once the car was parked, that was it. If the car went out and back in, it was another day's fee. If we go back to Philly, we will probably choose another hotel further away with access to the metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Howard-in-Philly
Haddonfield, NJ
Oct 26, 2009

Rodeway Inn Philadelphia Center City

Although the location was good, the room was clean & comfortable,[...] we won't stay there again. A disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Find another hotel. Holiday Inn, a little more expensive, is within a block or two.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top