$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
115 reviews
Perfect place for a relaxing time away

Best hotel we have stayed in so far for the price we're able to pay. The location couldn't have... See full review

  • Shrimp Steak
  • Feb 7, 2014
Charmed

The Rodeway was undergoing the last of their renovations while I was there, so the elevator was not... See full review

  • Chamberlain
  • Jan 15, 2013
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Hotel Map

39.9488 -75.161
Nearby airports
PHILADELPHIA INT'L AIRPORT, (PHL), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Convention Cntr.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Carmen
New Jersey
Mar 18, 2013

simple and accomodating

The facilities of the hotel itself are nice because it's newly renovated. The only wierd/downside of my stay was that they put me in the very first room next to the lobby..? Luckily I was out most of the time but it's wierd they even have a room right next to the lobby desk. It doesn't even have any windows so that made me feel very claustrophobic. At least the room was comfortable and I was only there for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florence SC
Apr 22, 2009

Hotel from Hell

I had two 70lb cases of laptops along with approximately 10 boxes of documentation. There was no place to park. Had to pay a parking meter then pay to park in a parking garage. I was there on business and the internet was my deciding factor in getting this hotel, well you guessed it, little to no internet. It was either down or so slow that it was not worth trying to send emails. The staff was very friendly. I got stuck in the elevator and called for help, only to get a busy signal. The elevator was so old that you had to manually shut the doors. I had to take 3 trips in the elevator because it was too small to take my items. Rooms were clean but they never restocked my coffee. I got tired of asking for things. The microwave did not work. I was told that by one worker it would be switched out the next day, the next day I was told that I would have to switch rooms, when I told the first person what happened, she got a microwave sent up. I would never go back there!!!! Even though it was convenient to where I was teaching, I'd rather stay a great distance away just so I would not have to deal with this again. I cancelled my last day and basically got back on the road instead of resting up because I could not take it any longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bed-Bugged
NH
Oct 12, 2009

Unimpressed

Found out there were bed bugs the morning of checkout. The place would have been manageable until that discovery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doctor scammed
Business
union city, nj
Mar 12, 2010

Bad bad bad, not worth the 100 dollars

Stayed there to take a test the next day, so i only stayed for one night. Got stuck on the elevator. I was told i had to turn the refrigerator on my self. The rooms are small. Shower has low pressure, there was a strange smell in the rooms, and you can here your neighbors tv and conversation. They don't have the decency to put proper cable on the tvs but they are more than eager to charge you the more the 100 dollars a night for the awful room. They also charge you 50 dollars for any damage you make without even telling you. If you don't break anything they will return it to you in 3 or 4 business days. Just hated it, but had to stay there anyways for the test. If you are not obligated to stay just anywhere in Philadelphia do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florence SC
Apr 22, 2009

Hotel from Hell

I had two 70lb cases of laptops along with approximately 10 boxes of documentation. There was no place to park. Had to pay a parking meter then pay to park in a parking garage. I was there on business and the internet was my deciding factor in getting this hotel, well you guessed it, little to no internet. It was either down or so slow that it was not worth trying to send emails. The staff was very friendly. I got stuck in the elevator and called for help, only to get a busy signal. The elevator was so old that you had to manually shut the doors. I had to take 3 trips in the elevator because it was too small to take my items. Rooms were clean but they never restocked my coffee. I got tired of asking for things. The microwave did not work. I was told that by one worker it would be switched out the next day, the next day I was told that I would have to switch rooms, when I told the first person what happened, she got a microwave sent up. I would never go back there!!!! Even though it was convenient to where I was teaching, I'd rather stay a great distance away just so I would not have to deal with this again. I cancelled my last day and basically got back on the road instead of resting up because I could not take it any longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doctor scammed
Business
union city, nj
Mar 12, 2010

Bad bad bad, not worth the 100 dollars

Stayed there to take a test the next day, so i only stayed for one night. Got stuck on the elevator. I was told i had to turn the refrigerator on my self. The rooms are small. Shower has low pressure, there was a strange smell in the rooms, and you can here your neighbors tv and conversation. They don't have the decency to put proper cable on the tvs but they are more than eager to charge you the more the 100 dollars a night for the awful room. They also charge you 50 dollars for any damage you make without even telling you. If you don't break anything they will return it to you in 3 or 4 business days. Just hated it, but had to stay there anyways for the test. If you are not obligated to stay just anywhere in Philadelphia do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BallW[@]
New Milford, CT
May 30, 2011

Rodeway Evaluation

I stayed in room 603, which was a disaster! The bathroom floor was patched with cement; there was only a dim light in the the exhaust fan--no light over the sink. The room had no heat/air conditioning control. I asked the desk attendant to make the room cooler, but he had no real solution!The elevator was awkward! Everyone needed to use this outdated, single elevator, including cleaning crew. The "continental breakfast" on the 2nd floor was inadequate. At 9:15, there were no forks, along with other missing items, which were promised on the internet! There was no "service!"This hotel needs help or it should be "shut down!"Wes Ballballw[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Serious Business Man
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 22, 2011

YUCK!

The location was great - and thats about the best I can say about the place. The hallways were creepy and small, the place dingy and felt unsafe. Dirty for sure - I wore clean socks and walked across the carpet in my room and they were dirty. Each room does not have its own climate control. This is a big deal for me because I was freezing the entire time I was here and ended up in urgent care upon my return home. Freezing cold with no climate control - the room was funky and not at all what I was expecting. Bathroom was dirty and poorly maintained. Avoid this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking for the hotel is across the street in a parking garage - it is NOT free even with the hotel stay, in fact it is some of the most expensive parking I've ever paid.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Serious Business Man
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 22, 2011

YUCK!

The location was great - and thats about the best I can say about the place. The hallways were creepy and small, the place dingy and felt unsafe. Dirty for sure - I wore clean socks and walked across the carpet in my room and they were dirty. Each room does not have its own climate control. This is a big deal for me because I was freezing the entire time I was here and ended up in urgent care upon my return home. Freezing cold with no climate control - the room was funky and not at all what I was expecting. Bathroom was dirty and poorly maintained. Avoid this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking for the hotel is across the street in a parking garage - it is NOT free even with the hotel stay, in fact it is some of the most expensive parking I've ever paid.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BallW[@]
New Milford, CT
May 30, 2011

Rodeway Evaluation

I stayed in room 603, which was a disaster! The bathroom floor was patched with cement; there was only a dim light in the the exhaust fan--no light over the sink. The room had no heat/air conditioning control. I asked the desk attendant to make the room cooler, but he had no real solution!The elevator was awkward! Everyone needed to use this outdated, single elevator, including cleaning crew. The "continental breakfast" on the 2nd floor was inadequate. At 9:15, there were no forks, along with other missing items, which were promised on the internet! There was no "service!"This hotel needs help or it should be "shut down!"Wes Ballballw[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bed-Bugged
NH
Oct 12, 2009

Unimpressed

Found out there were bed bugs the morning of checkout. The place would have been manageable until that discovery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top