$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
77 reviews
Perfect for my business needs

Safe location. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. I felt comfortable. See full review

  • Counselor AK
  • Oct 20, 2014
Very Nice Location

The staff was exceptionally nice and the location was very unexpected for a Center City area. See full review

  • Ladye10
  • Sep 11, 2014
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Center City also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chamberlain
Washington DC
Jan 15, 2013

Charmed

The Rodeway was undergoing the last of their renovations while I was there, so the elevator was not available and the front desk was a temporary set up but the cheerful and willing service by the staff made my stay most enjoyable, really lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
supertraveller
Business
new york
Apr 27, 2013

terrible service!

Location is great, but rude receptionist made the whole experience less pleasent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shortstuff3533
Business
Michigan
Jun 2, 2013

Stay away during summer months!

When we were in Philadelphia, there was a 90 degree heatwave going through the city. It was very hot and very humid. We arrived at the hotel and got to our room, expecting to cool down and relax before we hit the town. WRONG. It was extremely hot in the room, as we were at the very top level. There wasn't a thermostat in the room. We found out that the front desk has central control of the temperatures. We asked our room to be cooled down and she said she would set the temperature to 68. We waited for about half hour but it didn't get any cooler. In fact, there was no air coming out from the vent (yes, we double checked to be sure the vent was open). At this point, we were frustrated, sweating, and starving. We decided to leave for some food and find some air conditioned building. When we returned 4 hours later, we were hopeful that the room would be cooler. WRONG. It was the same. Still hot. Still humid. Still no air coming from the vents. There wasn't any other open room we could switch to. She offered a full refund around 10pm and we left to find another hotel. On a Friday night. What a nightmare. I would NEVER recommend anyone stay here during the summer months. No a/c in 90 degree heat? Unacceptable. Also, the bathroom smelled of mildew and mold. The room was small. The elevator was the smallest I've ever been in. I felt claustrophobic and I'm only 115lbs. The only positive things I can say is good location and free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florence SC
Apr 22, 2009

Hotel from Hell

I had two 70lb cases of laptops along with approximately 10 boxes of documentation. There was no place to park. Had to pay a parking meter then pay to park in a parking garage. I was there on business and the internet was my deciding factor in getting this hotel, well you guessed it, little to no internet. It was either down or so slow that it was not worth trying to send emails. The staff was very friendly. I got stuck in the elevator and called for help, only to get a busy signal. The elevator was so old that you had to manually shut the doors. I had to take 3 trips in the elevator because it was too small to take my items. Rooms were clean but they never restocked my coffee. I got tired of asking for things. The microwave did not work. I was told that by one worker it would be switched out the next day, the next day I was told that I would have to switch rooms, when I told the first person what happened, she got a microwave sent up. I would never go back there!!!! Even though it was convenient to where I was teaching, I'd rather stay a great distance away just so I would not have to deal with this again. I cancelled my last day and basically got back on the road instead of resting up because I could not take it any longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Serious Business Man
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 22, 2011

YUCK!

The location was great - and thats about the best I can say about the place. The hallways were creepy and small, the place dingy and felt unsafe. Dirty for sure - I wore clean socks and walked across the carpet in my room and they were dirty. Each room does not have its own climate control. This is a big deal for me because I was freezing the entire time I was here and ended up in urgent care upon my return home. Freezing cold with no climate control - the room was funky and not at all what I was expecting. Bathroom was dirty and poorly maintained. Avoid this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking for the hotel is across the street in a parking garage - it is NOT free even with the hotel stay, in fact it is some of the most expensive parking I've ever paid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bed-Bugged
Business
NH
Oct 12, 2009

Unimpressed

Found out there were bed bugs the morning of checkout. The place would have been manageable until that discovery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BallW[@]
Business
New Milford, CT
May 30, 2011

Rodeway Evaluation

I stayed in room 603, which was a disaster! The bathroom floor was patched with cement; there was only a dim light in the the exhaust fan--no light over the sink. The room had no heat/air conditioning control. I asked the desk attendant to make the room cooler, but he had no real solution!The elevator was awkward! Everyone needed to use this outdated, single elevator, including cleaning crew. The "continental breakfast" on the 2nd floor was inadequate. At 9:15, there were no forks, along with other missing items, which were promised on the internet! There was no "service!"This hotel needs help or it should be "shut down!"Wes Ballballw[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doctor scammed
Business
union city, nj
Mar 12, 2010

Bad bad bad, not worth the 100 dollars

Stayed there to take a test the next day, so i only stayed for one night. Got stuck on the elevator. I was told i had to turn the refrigerator on my self. The rooms are small. Shower has low pressure, there was a strange smell in the rooms, and you can here your neighbors tv and conversation. They don't have the decency to put proper cable on the tvs but they are more than eager to charge you the more the 100 dollars a night for the awful room. They also charge you 50 dollars for any damage you make without even telling you. If you don't break anything they will return it to you in 3 or 4 business days. Just hated it, but had to stay there anyways for the test. If you are not obligated to stay just anywhere in Philadelphia do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nomad bill
Business
Washington D.C.
Sep 19, 2009

The good, the bad, and the ugly

The best thing going for this hotel is location. It is within walking distance of all of the historic district, convention district, and "Washington"district. It tries to be a "boutique hotel" in an old building, but didn't quite pull it off with badly scratched tiles in the bathroom and mold in the shower. One night other guests were noisy and obviously drunk at 2-3 a.m. The cleaning staff did not clean the room while we were out during the day and, upon our return, asked if we wanted the room serviced..... so we went to the very small lobby for half an hour to allow the room to be cleaned. With the hotel discount, parking fees were okay but did not allow for in and out during the day. Once the car was parked, that was it. If the car went out and back in, it was another day's fee. If we go back to Philly, we will probably choose another hotel further away with access to the metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trackwriter
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 19, 2010

Great Locations, but rare occaision.

The hotel is in the geighborhood, which for me is no complaint. It's only that the daytime staffers aren't very friendly, not mean just not attentive. There is a parking garage for you use, I wasn't thrilled that there was a "no in and out" policy, but it was a nice feature for the quaint hotel. With a little paint and staff training, this could be a really great stay, but as it is. I wouldn't suggest spending your "getting to know you" days here. It's not a lover's nest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kaybee27
Business
Michigan
Aug 28, 2012

Room to improve

This hotel was in a great location near to cheap dining as well as nicer bars and restaurants. It was several blocks from the convention center though not too far in heels. One of the days that I stayed here Harrison Ford was filming a movie on the street outside the hotel! Besides for the location, however, I was wishing I had booked a different hotel. My complaints are all listed elsewhere in reviews that I had read: unprofessional staff, weird elevator that didn't go all the way up to my floor, poor water pressure and no hot water, cold rooms. The hotel is currently being renovated, but when I got in before check-in and was told that there was not a place I could change before heading to my conference, but eventually there would be a place... I was not impressed. The bed/furniture were nice, and there was a large tv and a coffee maker in the room, but the lack of a nice hot shower was a drag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Philly Cupcake on the way to the convention center was amazing -- Flourless chocolate cupcake ("Coma Cupcake") was insanely good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top