$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
79 reviews
I love this hotel

Every time I'm in Philly I stay here. It is a small hotel, but it is so clean and comfortable. The... See full review

  • Katie Reegs
  • Aug 12, 2014
Perfect place for a relaxing time away

Best hotel we have stayed in so far for the price we're able to pay. The location couldn't have... See full review

  • Shrimp Steak
  • Feb 7, 2014
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Hotel Map

39.9488 -75.161
Nearby airports
PHILADELPHIA INT'L AIRPORT, (PHL), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Convention Cntr.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 79
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shrimp Steak
Virginia
Feb 7, 2014

Perfect place for a relaxing time away

Best hotel we have stayed in so far for the price we're able to pay. The location couldn't have been any better, thank you to everyone at Rhodes Inn for great service. We look forward to returning again next year. We came down to Philly for the tattoo convention and the location was great as we were just blocks away from everything we needed. There are many different restaurants, coffee shops, and even a CVS all within walking distance. We really couldn't have picked a better location, the hotel is also right across the road from a secure parking lot and they stamped our ticket to give us a good deal on parking prices and that made a huge difference after having stayed a few days. The staff at the hotel were welcoming and all had great attitudes, as well as the house keeping ladies, thank you to all of you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Milk Boys was great, as well as Bru. The food was delicious and there was a good vibe in both places. They both offer good food options for those meat and non-meat eaters.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami
Aug 6, 2009

nearly perfect

nice staff, great rooms, perfect location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katie Reegs
NJ
Aug 12, 2014

I love this hotel

Every time I'm in Philly I stay here. It is a small hotel, but it is so clean and comfortable. The people who work here are so friendly and helpful. The location is great, right in the middle of the old town in Philly, and close to anywhere you need to go! There is a train station down the road, and a bus that stops directly by the hotel also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Soundgarden Hall, Lit Ultra Bar, and Festival Pier are all close by!

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Carmen
New Jersey
Mar 18, 2013

simple and accomodating

The facilities of the hotel itself are nice because it's newly renovated. The only wierd/downside of my stay was that they put me in the very first room next to the lobby..? Luckily I was out most of the time but it's wierd they even have a room right next to the lobby desk. It doesn't even have any windows so that made me feel very claustrophobic. At least the room was comfortable and I was only there for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annie2dorable
Philadelphia, pa
Nov 19, 2013

good value

It was a small room but it was very clean, the bed and bathroom were very nice and the location is excellent right in the city close to everything and for the price it can't be beat I've paid more at motels close to bensalem and the northeast and they were not nearly as nice. Me and the mister loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The gallery is only a short walk away

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Srok
Phila, Pa
Aug 13, 2009

NIce NIght

perfect location, amazing deal, and a nice room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
State College, PA
Aug 19, 2009

Perfect location for the price

This is a really cute old building tucked away in center city at a GREAT price. The staff was nice, room was clean, and the location was great. The wireless internet wasn't working for our entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Irish pub with delicious food and cheap beer at 11th and Walnut (a block away).

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Owen Passing Through
Boston, MA
Jul 7, 2014

Great Location, Simple and Small

This was my second time staying here. Rooms are small but not a problem unless you plan to be hanging out or working in your room. Clean and modern looking. Staff is great, they suggested a good place to get breakfast. No temperature control in the room. It was a little warmer than I would have liked but fine. If you are a normal human being you will be comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Philly Rookie
Waipahu, HI, USA
Nov 18, 2011

First time in Philly

Very good location...within walking distance to sites and transportation. Old building, therefore certain items were undersized, such as hallways, door widths. Heater wasn't working or working well and it got chilly (late Sept). Near good casual eateries and is an interesting neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five Guys burger joint across street was a favorite.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BoRog
Baltimore
Apr 22, 2013

Surprisingly good

From the outside I was a little taken aback by Rodeway. It looks like an old house but the hotel was more modern and sleek than the outside facade. The desk clerk was not that friendly when I got there but desk staff the rest of the weekend were great. The room was larger than expected. Comfortable bed. Nice windows. Clean. The bathroom was small but fine. The second day of my stay the hot water was not working. The extremely nice and apologetic desk clerk gave me 10% off for the issue when I checked out. I did not spend much time in the room but I would recommend the hotel for a nice weekend get away to Philly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search