$105 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
View map of 1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MiniBreaker
Business
Lancaster, PA
Sep 1, 2014

Not small -- fun sized

Great location on Walnut - especially close to Forrest Theater and Thomas Jefferson U - but this is not a hotel for anyone with a belt-size beyond 40, particularly if you staying as a couple. The reservation clearly stated a Queen Sized bed, but it's a double (I doubt a queen would fit in the room). Also the elevator door is very thin (though the elevator was having electrical issues the day we checked in, so we had to walk the [also very narrow] stairs up to the 5th floor. The rooms themselves are nice, though lacking in square footage -- and I would have been more impressed if the shower head wasn't missing in our bathroom. But, again, the location is tough to beat. The price is reasonable, parking is in the garage across the street (discounted to $12 for 24 hours - front desk will validate), and the staff is really very nice and friendly and the hotel décor overall is modern and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nomad bill
Business
Washington D.C.
Sep 19, 2009

The good, the bad, and the ugly

The best thing going for this hotel is location. It is within walking distance of all of the historic district, convention district, and "Washington"district. It tries to be a "boutique hotel" in an old building, but didn't quite pull it off with badly scratched tiles in the bathroom and mold in the shower. One night other guests were noisy and obviously drunk at 2-3 a.m. The cleaning staff did not clean the room while we were out during the day and, upon our return, asked if we wanted the room serviced..... so we went to the very small lobby for half an hour to allow the room to be cleaned. With the hotel discount, parking fees were okay but did not allow for in and out during the day. Once the car was parked, that was it. If the car went out and back in, it was another day's fee. If we go back to Philly, we will probably choose another hotel further away with access to the metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trackwriter
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 19, 2010

Great Locations, but rare occaision.

The hotel is in the geighborhood, which for me is no complaint. It's only that the daytime staffers aren't very friendly, not mean just not attentive. There is a parking garage for you use, I wasn't thrilled that there was a "no in and out" policy, but it was a nice feature for the quaint hotel. With a little paint and staff training, this could be a really great stay, but as it is. I wouldn't suggest spending your "getting to know you" days here. It's not a lover's nest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kaybee27
Business
Michigan
Aug 28, 2012

Room to improve

This hotel was in a great location near to cheap dining as well as nicer bars and restaurants. It was several blocks from the convention center though not too far in heels. One of the days that I stayed here Harrison Ford was filming a movie on the street outside the hotel! Besides for the location, however, I was wishing I had booked a different hotel. My complaints are all listed elsewhere in reviews that I had read: unprofessional staff, weird elevator that didn't go all the way up to my floor, poor water pressure and no hot water, cold rooms. The hotel is currently being renovated, but when I got in before check-in and was told that there was not a place I could change before heading to my conference, but eventually there would be a place... I was not impressed. The bed/furniture were nice, and there was a large tv and a coffee maker in the room, but the lack of a nice hot shower was a drag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Philly Cupcake on the way to the convention center was amazing -- Flourless chocolate cupcake ("Coma Cupcake") was insanely good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PCII
Business
NY, NY
Mar 9, 2013

Transitions

Hotel is undergoing renovations. Center City location is excellent. Room was small but clean, bed was small but comfortable. Shower, carpet were new but work was still ongoing throughout the hotel. Free wifi. Good for one night on short-notice business but interested to see how renovations evolve and whether the overall experience is improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hingham, MA
Oct 5, 2008

Good Location Only

No elevator. Patrons had to take steep elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to restaurants entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
happy hoppy
Business
Eatontown,N J
Mar 23, 2010

Philadelphia in the Spring

This hotel was with in walking distance to the Convention Center, elevator ran but was ancient and tiny, lower enconomic people seemed to be living at the hotel, price was high for services, but it is Center City Philadelphia. Nice to have the parking ticket validated, so its cost was lower than surrounding parking garages and relatively safe. I did not find air conditioning nor heating control in the room. I did feel safe and room was clean, watch out for the level changes on the floor between the entryway of the room and the sleeping area. There was no wall switch in the room area, only in the entrance area of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Be prepared to encounter people of all economic status.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ma
Apr 29, 2010

GREAT LOCATION + BAD SERVICE !

Unfriendly front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Sep 30, 2009

Rodeway Inn Center City

Great neighborhood. Nice hotel for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 30, 2008

Basic & clean, but watch out

Very basic, but clean. Nice 'towel art', good breakfast. Since our room was on the second floor, we used the stairs instead of the elevator. The elevator looked very tiny and old, but it does work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Historic Philadelphia is about a mile away, the convention center is about 1/4 mile away. We could easily walk it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top