$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 6, 2014 Check-out: Nov 7, 2014

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
77 reviews
Perfect for my business needs

Safe location. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. I felt comfortable. See full review

  • Counselor AK
  • Oct 20, 2014
Very Nice Location

The staff was exceptionally nice and the location was very unexpected for a Center City area. See full review

  • Ladye10
  • Sep 11, 2014
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Hotel Map

39.9488 -75.161
Nearby airports
PHILADELPHIA INT'L AIRPORT, (PHL), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Convention Cntr.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Center City also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Mar 27, 2011

GOOD

Really good hotel on perfect place!!! In the center of the city for good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilkes Barre, PA
Aug 1, 2009

Nice location

Older but clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
egoo
Business
Tucson, AZ
Sep 25, 2010

the moderate

the locations is great, poor water pressure, uncontrolled air condition. breakfast is not bad, free internet, but bad wirless service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
May 13, 2010

Good location, fine hotel

The Rodeway hotel is about 5 blocks west of the historic Philadelphia - the walk to the historic district was safe and pleasant. At the time of my visit (May 2010) I was provided with free wireless internet which worked without flaw. Also at that time, the elevator was not operational, so I climbed two flights of narrow stairs to my room - not a huge inconvenience but worth noting. The free breakfast included choices of juice, coffee, cereal, bagels and doughnuts. My room had windows facing the street. After dark, the street did become somewhat loud with car noises and some yelling outside. I also did not find a thermostat in the room and felt the air to be somewhat chilly at night. One afternoon, there was a weird episode where the fire alarm went off for about 15 minutes. The fire department came and checked out the building and declared a false alarm. For the next half hour, the alarm went off for a few seconds about every minute. The fire department returned, but again it was a false alarm. It sounded like they were going to get the alarm fixed. The staff were friendly and competent. Check in and check out were easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
transcendntl
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jan 26, 2011

Great location but remodeling needed bad

The good - Parking was conveniently located across the street and discounted at 10.50 per day per entry (i.e., no in-and-out privileges without paying again). However, location was so convenient that I didn't need to move my car for the entire 2 day trip. The hotel room was clean and most amenties were adequate. The bad - The comforter felt like sandpaper. The elevator did break down a few times (thankfully, I was only on the 3rd floor). But the most objectionable part of my stay was the water pressure in the shower. Most shower heads are regulated with a flow restricter to product 2.5 gallons per minute. The shower in the room I was staying in barely trickled out of the pipe. It was impossible to use. (This is where use of the 12th Street Gym was an absolutely necessity!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The CBC Bath House was located just a block away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philly guy 215
Business
Phila., PA
May 11, 2009

it was cute

the hotel was nice, the staff was great. the only problem we had was the pressure for the shower on the top floor, it was really bad. the hot water barely worked, we called the front desk and they apologized and said we could check out an hour later...so that was cool with me!! i would stay here again because the location is perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 3, 2009

Philadelphia Rodeway

The hotel was in a great location close to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and area arts and entertainment. The main problems was that the elevator did not work and my room was on the 4th floor, it was a climb to get to my room daily. My first night I found the laundry was not as clean as I would have preferred.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping close by the hotel and it was very close to the historic district also - great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Artic Traveler
Business
Jacksonville FL
Oct 27, 2009

Not quite what I expected

I was not able to adust the heat settings in the room. It was cold and there were not enough blankets to keep me warm .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family in hotel
Business
Connecticut
Jun 29, 2014

City center value

Nice basic hotel, ac is controlled at lobby for each floor not controlled in room. Everything very accessible from location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MiniBreaker
Business
Lancaster, PA
Sep 1, 2014

Not small -- fun sized

Great location on Walnut - especially close to Forrest Theater and Thomas Jefferson U - but this is not a hotel for anyone with a belt-size beyond 40, particularly if you staying as a couple. The reservation clearly stated a Queen Sized bed, but it's a double (I doubt a queen would fit in the room). Also the elevator door is very thin (though the elevator was having electrical issues the day we checked in, so we had to walk the [also very narrow] stairs up to the 5th floor. The rooms themselves are nice, though lacking in square footage -- and I would have been more impressed if the shower head wasn't missing in our bathroom. But, again, the location is tough to beat. The price is reasonable, parking is in the garage across the street (discounted to $12 for 24 hours - front desk will validate), and the staff is really very nice and friendly and the hotel décor overall is modern and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top