$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
79 reviews
I love this hotel

Every time I'm in Philly I stay here. It is a small hotel, but it is so clean and comfortable. The... See full review

  • Katie Reegs
  • Aug 12, 2014
Perfect place for a relaxing time away

Best hotel we have stayed in so far for the price we're able to pay. The location couldn't have... See full review

  • Shrimp Steak
  • Feb 7, 2014
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Hotel Map

39.9488 -75.161
Nearby airports
PHILADELPHIA INT'L AIRPORT, (PHL), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Convention Cntr.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brief visitor
Business
Durham, North Carolina
May 7, 2012

Great location

I stayed for one night and didn't have any complaints about the place. Great location, recently renovated. Relatively affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viola C.E.A
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 30, 2012

Fantastic for exploring Philly

I enjoyed very much my stay at this hotel. The location is absolutely perfect, you can walk anywhere in Philly (which was perfect for me, as I think that to know really a town, you have to walk through it), and the hotel is in a very good area to go out, with many restaurants and shops. The room was fine, with the most comfortable bed I've had ever in a hotel. the staff helpful and friendly (I had problems with the air conditioning, which was really high, and they fixed it. And, they helped me with directions and transports). Definitely, I would be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single guest one night
Philadelphia
Sep 5, 2012

Clean, simple, comfortable.

All the basic amenities. Very friendly staff, cozy bed, but unfortunately the jacuzzi function of the bathtub wasn't working. Clean enough, no complaints there. Big flat-screen TV was nice, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shalie
Business
Columbia, MD
Sep 17, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

Great hotel and in the perfect location. COntemporary room made it very cozy and the tall ceioings were great. The elevator was a little scary but overal it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yen from New York
NY
Nov 29, 2012

A Backpacker from NY

It was a good hotel in general. It has good location, right in the heart of Philly. There are many food stores and meal choices around. It's just walking distance to the Old City and Liberty Bell. My room was nice, a clean queen size bed, microwave stove, fridge, coffee machine and so on. They offer everything needed. For me, the room was large enough and very comfortable. Due to this hotel, I had a great time in Philly during Thanksgiving holidays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walnut st. and Chestnut st are good place to find good deals.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul1980
Belfast, N. Ireland
Feb 5, 2013

Good Hotel

Great room, 2 rooms joined into 1. Friendly staff and good experience. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Visitor 2013
Saratoga, NY
Mar 8, 2013

Great first experience of Philadelphia

First impression of this hotel was the beaming face of the receptionist checking us in. She was friendly and professional and very accommodating with questions. Hotel appears to be under some renovations. Elevator was quite small, and hallways are small, but the room was nice and clean. Comfortable beds, free wifi. Only complaint was that the lighting is a little dim, especially in the bathroom. Great neighborhood with a starbucks across the street, and a quick walk to the event we came to see. Looking forward to coming back next month and will rebook!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Carmen
New Jersey
Mar 18, 2013

simple and accomodating

The facilities of the hotel itself are nice because it's newly renovated. The only wierd/downside of my stay was that they put me in the very first room next to the lobby..? Luckily I was out most of the time but it's wierd they even have a room right next to the lobby desk. It doesn't even have any windows so that made me feel very claustrophobic. At least the room was comfortable and I was only there for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alan489
Business
philly
Apr 30, 2013

nice

clean and comfortable, new bed and large TV...fridge and microwave ...it was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Time Traveler
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 1, 2013

A Very Nice Hotel

the hotel is still going through some renovations but all in all it is a very nice hotel. Even though they do not have a restaurant it is plenty of choices surrounding it. they even had a nice little wine tasting in the late afternoon with some cheese and vegetable plates to go with it. As for location I was right were we wanted to be close to a lot of great restaurants and walking distance to the conference center. All in all it was a pleasant stay there and I would go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search