$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
79 reviews
I love this hotel

Every time I'm in Philly I stay here. It is a small hotel, but it is so clean and comfortable. The... See full review

  • Katie Reegs
  • Aug 12, 2014
Perfect place for a relaxing time away

Best hotel we have stayed in so far for the price we're able to pay. The location couldn't have... See full review

  • Shrimp Steak
  • Feb 7, 2014
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Hotel Map

39.9488 -75.161
Nearby airports
PHILADELPHIA INT'L AIRPORT, (PHL), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Convention Cntr.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Short Hills
Oct 21, 2008

Unimaginable bathroom experience - yekki!

Location is the only reason I stayed at this Roadway Inn Center City - twice! It is just around the corner from Jefferson Medical Center. The tiny bathroom (on both occasions) have cracks on the tile. A shower pan with a flowing plastic curtain is really tiny (Thank God, I have a small frame and a tiny sink with a forcet protruds right over the sink. (The sink in the hospital room was better than this.) The sink in the room I stayed at the second time, was missing the straight bar that opens the sink plug. The plug was so neatly fit the drain and there was no way to open it. No overflow drain in the sink! You could imagine how yekki the water got after tooth brushing, etc.... However, I should say, the room is very nicely furnished with quite sophiscated color scheme. A freindly warning. I had to walk up six floors. Anyway I need exercise, I consoled myself. Would I go back to the hotel? Probably Yes. When you are there to take care of your loved one in the hospital, you could be above those minor inconveniences, I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Philadelphia city center is just a short walk. One can easily walk to the Independence hall.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CalVic
San Diego, CA
Oct 20, 2009

Weird place

Chose this hotel as it was the only room available in Philadelphia, which tells you something. Just a very odd place. We were in town for Family Weekend at our daughter's school. We were not in the room except to sleep, and the bed was fine. Bathroom was tiny with a retrofitted, fiberglass corner shower, a toilet, and a pedestal sink. No place to put anything. Felt like you were going to go right through the floor of the shower when you stepped into it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 8, 2007

Very kindly

great location, however, the price is so high on Summer holiday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NE
Jun 26, 2010

not good

The elevator was out of order so we had to take stairs to 6th floor everytime. We were not able to control room temperature, which was hot and uncomfortable. No house keeping. Good things were only the location and breakfast service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richboro, PA
Oct 13, 2009

The perks stop at the price.

The hotel was in a great location but it was very old. You felt like the elevator was going to break down. The room look clean but you just felt like it was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Now a Phili fan!!
LI, New york
Oct 13, 2009

Great location but way toooo noisy!!!

What a great city!! so much to do so little time. This hotel was in the heart of the party area great time but couldnt sleep. Streets were a buzz all night long! if you stay here ask for a room in the back of the hotel. we switched and it was so much better. Dont miss the phili art museu, phili zoo, ride the ducks, Old city is a great quaint little shopping are quite like soho in manhattan. We had a great weekend! despite the bad nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Terlinda
NYC
Aug 16, 2009

plain OK

the location is good, the hotel plain bearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Feb 21, 2011

Good location, everything else is not

I was there on the buisness trip, so I did not need much, but good night rest which was impossible.Check in was good,but that's about it, room was very small,cold,layer of dust on the coffee machine. Window did not have night time curtains,so you could see through the room. Noisy from the hotel and from the street sides,hardly possible to sleep without earplugs and without sweater. Breakfast was pitiful. Stuff in the bathroom was fallen apart on me,and cherry on the cake-internet was not working,so I would pay couple extra bucks and get different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PS Wes
Palm Springs California
May 16, 2010

Good location but many issues

Good central location to sights and public transportation, but unapologetic about "broken" elevator and inconsistent housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mcc
Business
Los Angeles
May 26, 2010

Stay away unless necessary

Location-wise, it's very nice since it's pretty close to the center of Philly; however, the broken elevator really bothered me. The only room available was on the 6th floor and up so I had to drag my luggage and backpacks all the way up via the very tiny narrow staircase. Overall, the room is clean, but the curtain does not cover the showering space fully so every time I showered, waster splashed around the area. I had to clean it after I used it- Very nasty. If you are on a very tight budget, this hotel provides breakfast which could be a plus though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search