$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
115 reviews
Perfect place for a relaxing time away

Best hotel we have stayed in so far for the price we're able to pay. The location couldn't have... See full review

  • Shrimp Steak
  • Feb 7, 2014
Great Location, Simple and Small

This was my second time staying here. Rooms are small but not a problem unless you plan to be... See full review

  • Owen Passing Through
  • Jul 7, 2014
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Hotel Map

39.9488 -75.161
Nearby airports
PHILADELPHIA INT'L AIRPORT, (PHL), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Convention Cntr.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chamberlain
Washington DC
Jan 15, 2013

Charmed

The Rodeway was undergoing the last of their renovations while I was there, so the elevator was not available and the front desk was a temporary set up but the cheerful and willing service by the staff made my stay most enjoyable, really lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Nov 13, 2009

Philadelphia

I liked the location of the hotel--it was close to everything. The staff were friendly and a lot of help with all kinds of things that crept up during my stay. The rooms were clean-a little small but didn't spend too much time there sonot a real concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Market is an absolute must. Great Food and shops and a lot of fun.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Nov 13, 2009

Philadelphia

I liked the location of the hotel--it was close to everything. The staff were friendly and a lot of help with all kinds of things that crept up during my stay. The rooms were clean-a little small but didn't spend too much time there sonot a real concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Market is an absolute must. Great Food and shops and a lot of fun.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Artic Traveler
Jacksonville FL
Oct 27, 2009

Not quite what I expected

I was not able to adust the heat settings in the room. It was cold and there were not enough blankets to keep me warm .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Artic Traveler
Jacksonville FL
Oct 27, 2009

Not quite what I expected

I was not able to adust the heat settings in the room. It was cold and there were not enough blankets to keep me warm .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Howard-in-Philly
Haddonfield, NJ
Oct 26, 2009

Rodeway Inn Philadelphia Center City

Although the location was good, the room was clean & comfortable,[...] we won't stay there again. A disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Find another hotel. Holiday Inn, a little more expensive, is within a block or two.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Howard-in-Philly
Haddonfield, NJ
Oct 26, 2009

Rodeway Inn Philadelphia Center City

Although the location was good, the room was clean & comfortable,[...] we won't stay there again. A disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Find another hotel. Holiday Inn, a little more expensive, is within a block or two.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CalVic
San Diego, CA
Oct 20, 2009

Weird place

Chose this hotel as it was the only room available in Philadelphia, which tells you something. Just a very odd place. We were in town for Family Weekend at our daughter's school. We were not in the room except to sleep, and the bed was fine. Bathroom was tiny with a retrofitted, fiberglass corner shower, a toilet, and a pedestal sink. No place to put anything. Felt like you were going to go right through the floor of the shower when you stepped into it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CalVic
San Diego, CA
Oct 20, 2009

Weird place

Chose this hotel as it was the only room available in Philadelphia, which tells you something. Just a very odd place. We were in town for Family Weekend at our daughter's school. We were not in the room except to sleep, and the bed was fine. Bathroom was tiny with a retrofitted, fiberglass corner shower, a toilet, and a pedestal sink. No place to put anything. Felt like you were going to go right through the floor of the shower when you stepped into it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Now a Phili fan!!
LI, New york
Oct 13, 2009

Great location but way toooo noisy!!!

What a great city!! so much to do so little time. This hotel was in the heart of the party area great time but couldnt sleep. Streets were a buzz all night long! if you stay here ask for a room in the back of the hotel. we switched and it was so much better. Dont miss the phili art museu, phili zoo, ride the ducks, Old city is a great quaint little shopping are quite like soho in manhattan. We had a great weekend! despite the bad nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richboro, PA
Oct 13, 2009

The perks stop at the price.

The hotel was in a great location but it was very old. You felt like the elevator was going to break down. The room look clean but you just felt like it was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top