$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
View map of 1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chamberlain
Washington DC
Jan 15, 2013

Charmed

The Rodeway was undergoing the last of their renovations while I was there, so the elevator was not available and the front desk was a temporary set up but the cheerful and willing service by the staff made my stay most enjoyable, really lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
egoo
Business
Tucson, AZ
Sep 25, 2010

the moderate

the locations is great, poor water pressure, uncontrolled air condition. breakfast is not bad, free internet, but bad wirless service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
May 13, 2010

Good location, fine hotel

The Rodeway hotel is about 5 blocks west of the historic Philadelphia - the walk to the historic district was safe and pleasant. At the time of my visit (May 2010) I was provided with free wireless internet which worked without flaw. Also at that time, the elevator was not operational, so I climbed two flights of narrow stairs to my room - not a huge inconvenience but worth noting. The free breakfast included choices of juice, coffee, cereal, bagels and doughnuts. My room had windows facing the street. After dark, the street did become somewhat loud with car noises and some yelling outside. I also did not find a thermostat in the room and felt the air to be somewhat chilly at night. One afternoon, there was a weird episode where the fire alarm went off for about 15 minutes. The fire department came and checked out the building and declared a false alarm. For the next half hour, the alarm went off for a few seconds about every minute. The fire department returned, but again it was a false alarm. It sounded like they were going to get the alarm fixed. The staff were friendly and competent. Check in and check out were easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
transcendntl
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jan 26, 2011

Great location but remodeling needed bad

The good - Parking was conveniently located across the street and discounted at 10.50 per day per entry (i.e., no in-and-out privileges without paying again). However, location was so convenient that I didn't need to move my car for the entire 2 day trip. The hotel room was clean and most amenties were adequate. The bad - The comforter felt like sandpaper. The elevator did break down a few times (thankfully, I was only on the 3rd floor). But the most objectionable part of my stay was the water pressure in the shower. Most shower heads are regulated with a flow restricter to product 2.5 gallons per minute. The shower in the room I was staying in barely trickled out of the pipe. It was impossible to use. (This is where use of the 12th Street Gym was an absolutely necessity!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The CBC Bath House was located just a block away from the hotel.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philly guy 215
Business
Phila., PA
May 11, 2009

it was cute

the hotel was nice, the staff was great. the only problem we had was the pressure for the shower on the top floor, it was really bad. the hot water barely worked, we called the front desk and they apologized and said we could check out an hour later...so that was cool with me!! i would stay here again because the location is perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 3, 2009

Philadelphia Rodeway

The hotel was in a great location close to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and area arts and entertainment. The main problems was that the elevator did not work and my room was on the 4th floor, it was a climb to get to my room daily. My first night I found the laundry was not as clean as I would have preferred.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping close by the hotel and it was very close to the historic district also - great location.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Artic Traveler
Business
Jacksonville FL
Oct 27, 2009

Not quite what I expected

I was not able to adust the heat settings in the room. It was cold and there were not enough blankets to keep me warm .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family in hotel
Business
Connecticut
Jun 29, 2014

City center value

Nice basic hotel, ac is controlled at lobby for each floor not controlled in room. Everything very accessible from location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MiniBreaker
Business
Lancaster, PA
Sep 1, 2014

Not small -- fun sized

Great location on Walnut - especially close to Forrest Theater and Thomas Jefferson U - but this is not a hotel for anyone with a belt-size beyond 40, particularly if you staying as a couple. The reservation clearly stated a Queen Sized bed, but it's a double (I doubt a queen would fit in the room). Also the elevator door is very thin (though the elevator was having electrical issues the day we checked in, so we had to walk the [also very narrow] stairs up to the 5th floor. The rooms themselves are nice, though lacking in square footage -- and I would have been more impressed if the shower head wasn't missing in our bathroom. But, again, the location is tough to beat. The price is reasonable, parking is in the garage across the street (discounted to $12 for 24 hours - front desk will validate), and the staff is really very nice and friendly and the hotel décor overall is modern and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kaybee27
Business
Michigan
Aug 28, 2012

Room to improve

This hotel was in a great location near to cheap dining as well as nicer bars and restaurants. It was several blocks from the convention center though not too far in heels. One of the days that I stayed here Harrison Ford was filming a movie on the street outside the hotel! Besides for the location, however, I was wishing I had booked a different hotel. My complaints are all listed elsewhere in reviews that I had read: unprofessional staff, weird elevator that didn't go all the way up to my floor, poor water pressure and no hot water, cold rooms. The hotel is currently being renovated, but when I got in before check-in and was told that there was not a place I could change before heading to my conference, but eventually there would be a place... I was not impressed. The bed/furniture were nice, and there was a large tv and a coffee maker in the room, but the lack of a nice hot shower was a drag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Philly Cupcake on the way to the convention center was amazing -- Flourless chocolate cupcake ("Coma Cupcake") was insanely good.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PCII
Business
NY, NY
Mar 9, 2013

Transitions

Hotel is undergoing renovations. Center City location is excellent. Room was small but clean, bed was small but comfortable. Shower, carpet were new but work was still ongoing throughout the hotel. Free wifi. Good for one night on short-notice business but interested to see how renovations evolve and whether the overall experience is improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top