Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
115 reviews
Perfect place for a relaxing time away

Best hotel we have stayed in so far for the price we're able to pay. The location couldn't have... See full review

  • Shrimp Steak
  • Feb 7, 2014
Charmed

The Rodeway was undergoing the last of their renovations while I was there, so the elevator was not... See full review

  • Chamberlain
  • Jan 15, 2013
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Hotel Map

39.9488 -75.161
Nearby airports
PHILADELPHIA INT'L AIRPORT, (PHL), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Convention Cntr.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Owen Passing Through
Boston, MA
Jul 7, 2014

Great Location, Simple and Small

This was my second time staying here. Rooms are small but not a problem unless you plan to be hanging out or working in your room. Clean and modern looking. Staff is great, they suggested a good place to get breakfast. No temperature control in the room. It was a little warmer than I would have liked but fine. If you are a normal human being you will be comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Nov 13, 2009

Philadelphia

I liked the location of the hotel--it was close to everything. The staff were friendly and a lot of help with all kinds of things that crept up during my stay. The rooms were clean-a little small but didn't spend too much time there sonot a real concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Market is an absolute must. Great Food and shops and a lot of fun.

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viola C.E.A
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 30, 2012

Fantastic for exploring Philly

I enjoyed very much my stay at this hotel. The location is absolutely perfect, you can walk anywhere in Philly (which was perfect for me, as I think that to know really a town, you have to walk through it), and the hotel is in a very good area to go out, with many restaurants and shops. The room was fine, with the most comfortable bed I've had ever in a hotel. the staff helpful and friendly (I had problems with the air conditioning, which was really high, and they fixed it. And, they helped me with directions and transports). Definitely, I would be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annie2dorable
Philadelphia, pa
Nov 19, 2013

good value

It was a small room but it was very clean, the bed and bathroom were very nice and the location is excellent right in the city close to everything and for the price it can't be beat I've paid more at motels close to bensalem and the northeast and they were not nearly as nice. Me and the mister loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The gallery is only a short walk away

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston girls
Boston
Mar 6, 2014

philly

Location was perfect and staff was friendly. Hotel was nice and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brief visitor
Business
Durham, North Carolina
May 7, 2012

Great location

I stayed for one night and didn't have any complaints about the place. Great location, recently renovated. Relatively affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Carmen
New Jersey
Mar 18, 2013

simple and accomodating

The facilities of the hotel itself are nice because it's newly renovated. The only wierd/downside of my stay was that they put me in the very first room next to the lobby..? Luckily I was out most of the time but it's wierd they even have a room right next to the lobby desk. It doesn't even have any windows so that made me feel very claustrophobic. At least the room was comfortable and I was only there for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single guest one night
Philadelphia
Sep 5, 2012

Clean, simple, comfortable.

All the basic amenities. Very friendly staff, cozy bed, but unfortunately the jacuzzi function of the bathtub wasn't working. Clean enough, no complaints there. Big flat-screen TV was nice, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Time Traveler
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 1, 2013

A Very Nice Hotel

the hotel is still going through some renovations but all in all it is a very nice hotel. Even though they do not have a restaurant it is plenty of choices surrounding it. they even had a nice little wine tasting in the late afternoon with some cheese and vegetable plates to go with it. As for location I was right were we wanted to be close to a lot of great restaurants and walking distance to the conference center. All in all it was a pleasant stay there and I would go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 5, 2007

Not quite what we expected

The staff was pleasant and efficient, the continental breakfast was fresh and ample, and the hotel was located near major facilities (convention center, hospital, restaurants). The hotel is in an older building, so you have the charm of thick walls and high ceilings...and a very small bathroom, small elevator, and narrow stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants, bars, and a major hospital are all close by.

Back to menu Return to top