$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
77 reviews
Perfect for my business needs

Safe location. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. I felt comfortable. See full review

  • Counselor AK
  • Oct 20, 2014
Very Nice Location

The staff was exceptionally nice and the location was very unexpected for a Center City area. See full review

  • Ladye10
  • Sep 11, 2014
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Hotel Map

39.9488 -75.161
Nearby airports
PHILADELPHIA INT'L AIRPORT, (PHL), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Convention Cntr.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Center City also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Carmen
Business
New Jersey
Mar 18, 2013

simple and accomodating

The facilities of the hotel itself are nice because it's newly renovated. The only wierd/downside of my stay was that they put me in the very first room next to the lobby..? Luckily I was out most of the time but it's wierd they even have a room right next to the lobby desk. It doesn't even have any windows so that made me feel very claustrophobic. At least the room was comfortable and I was only there for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PCII
Business
NY, NY
Mar 9, 2013

Transitions

Hotel is undergoing renovations. Center City location is excellent. Room was small but clean, bed was small but comfortable. Shower, carpet were new but work was still ongoing throughout the hotel. Free wifi. Good for one night on short-notice business but interested to see how renovations evolve and whether the overall experience is improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Visitor 2013
Business
Saratoga, NY
Mar 8, 2013

Great first experience of Philadelphia

First impression of this hotel was the beaming face of the receptionist checking us in. She was friendly and professional and very accommodating with questions. Hotel appears to be under some renovations. Elevator was quite small, and hallways are small, but the room was nice and clean. Comfortable beds, free wifi. Only complaint was that the lighting is a little dim, especially in the bathroom. Great neighborhood with a starbucks across the street, and a quick walk to the event we came to see. Looking forward to coming back next month and will rebook!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul1980
Business
Belfast, N. Ireland
Feb 5, 2013

Good Hotel

Great room, 2 rooms joined into 1. Friendly staff and good experience. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chamberlain
Business
Washington DC
Jan 15, 2013

Charmed

The Rodeway was undergoing the last of their renovations while I was there, so the elevator was not available and the front desk was a temporary set up but the cheerful and willing service by the staff made my stay most enjoyable, really lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bertin
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Dec 3, 2012

Not so bad

I stayed there for two days. There was construction going on when I checked in. My room was cosy, but the carpet needs to be changed right away for the great a downtown hotel. The concierge/deskworker were great and very helpful. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The area is filled with hotels and very busy any time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yen from New York
Business
NY
Nov 29, 2012

A Backpacker from NY

It was a good hotel in general. It has good location, right in the heart of Philly. There are many food stores and meal choices around. It's just walking distance to the Old City and Liberty Bell. My room was nice, a clean queen size bed, microwave stove, fridge, coffee machine and so on. They offer everything needed. For me, the room was large enough and very comfortable. Due to this hotel, I had a great time in Philly during Thanksgiving holidays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walnut st. and Chestnut st are good place to find good deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shalie
Business
Columbia, MD
Sep 17, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

Great hotel and in the perfect location. COntemporary room made it very cozy and the tall ceioings were great. The elevator was a little scary but overal it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single guest one night
Business
Philadelphia
Sep 5, 2012

Clean, simple, comfortable.

All the basic amenities. Very friendly staff, cozy bed, but unfortunately the jacuzzi function of the bathtub wasn't working. Clean enough, no complaints there. Big flat-screen TV was nice, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kaybee27
Business
Michigan
Aug 28, 2012

Room to improve

This hotel was in a great location near to cheap dining as well as nicer bars and restaurants. It was several blocks from the convention center though not too far in heels. One of the days that I stayed here Harrison Ford was filming a movie on the street outside the hotel! Besides for the location, however, I was wishing I had booked a different hotel. My complaints are all listed elsewhere in reviews that I had read: unprofessional staff, weird elevator that didn't go all the way up to my floor, poor water pressure and no hot water, cold rooms. The hotel is currently being renovated, but when I got in before check-in and was told that there was not a place I could change before heading to my conference, but eventually there would be a place... I was not impressed. The bed/furniture were nice, and there was a large tv and a coffee maker in the room, but the lack of a nice hot shower was a drag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Philly Cupcake on the way to the convention center was amazing -- Flourless chocolate cupcake ("Coma Cupcake") was insanely good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top