$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Rodeway Inn Center City

1 star
1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
115 reviews
Perfect place for a relaxing time away

Best hotel we have stayed in so far for the price we're able to pay. The location couldn't have... See full review

  • Shrimp Steak
  • Feb 7, 2014
Charmed

The Rodeway was undergoing the last of their renovations while I was there, so the elevator was not... See full review

  • Chamberlain
  • Jan 15, 2013
Budget hotel is easy walk to Arts, Business, and Historic Districts

Centrally located, the Rodeway Inn Center City is four blocks from the Cultural District, five blocks from the convention center and less than a mile from the Historic District. The slim seven-story building occupies a small space on bustling Walnut Street and offers 32 nonsmoking guest rooms. Amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and cable television.
Highlights
  • All rooms include a microwave and a refrigerator
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Rodeway Inn Center City has 32 cozy guest rooms, renovated in 2007, with a choice of one or two queen beds. All rooms are nonsmoking and air-conditioned and include a television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

The Rodeway Inn Center City does not have an on-site fitness center, but guests can gain access to a nearby health club that includes a sauna, pool and whirlpool (fees apply).

 

Next-door to the hotel is a Japanese Fusion Restaurant & Sake Bar, and one block down the street is Portofino's, an Italian restaurant popular with the locals for nearly 40 years. The Hard Rock Cafe is a five-minute walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet access
  • Copy machine
  • Fax machine

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9488 -75.161
Nearby airports
PHILADELPHIA INT'L AIRPORT, (PHL), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Convention Cntr.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Center City

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chamberlain
Washington DC
Jan 15, 2013

Charmed

The Rodeway was undergoing the last of their renovations while I was there, so the elevator was not available and the front desk was a temporary set up but the cheerful and willing service by the staff made my stay most enjoyable, really lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charma
Business
Nashville, TN
Oct 18, 2013

Business travel

It was clean and the staff were kind and helpful. I got a good nights sleep. I loved that the hotel was minutes from shops and transportation. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shortstuff3533
Michigan
Jun 2, 2013

Stay away during summer months!

When we were in Philadelphia, there was a 90 degree heatwave going through the city. It was very hot and very humid. We arrived at the hotel and got to our room, expecting to cool down and relax before we hit the town. WRONG. It was extremely hot in the room, as we were at the very top level. There wasn't a thermostat in the room. We found out that the front desk has central control of the temperatures. We asked our room to be cooled down and she said she would set the temperature to 68. We waited for about half hour but it didn't get any cooler. In fact, there was no air coming out from the vent (yes, we double checked to be sure the vent was open). At this point, we were frustrated, sweating, and starving. We decided to leave for some food and find some air conditioned building. When we returned 4 hours later, we were hopeful that the room would be cooler. WRONG. It was the same. Still hot. Still humid. Still no air coming from the vents. There wasn't any other open room we could switch to. She offered a full refund around 10pm and we left to find another hotel. On a Friday night. What a nightmare. I would NEVER recommend anyone stay here during the summer months. No a/c in 90 degree heat? Unacceptable. Also, the bathroom smelled of mildew and mold. The room was small. The elevator was the smallest I've ever been in. I felt claustrophobic and I'm only 115lbs. The only positive things I can say is good location and free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Time Traveler
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 1, 2013

A Very Nice Hotel

the hotel is still going through some renovations but all in all it is a very nice hotel. Even though they do not have a restaurant it is plenty of choices surrounding it. they even had a nice little wine tasting in the late afternoon with some cheese and vegetable plates to go with it. As for location I was right were we wanted to be close to a lot of great restaurants and walking distance to the conference center. All in all it was a pleasant stay there and I would go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alan489
Business
philly
Apr 30, 2013

nice

clean and comfortable, new bed and large TV...fridge and microwave ...it was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
supertraveller
Business
new york
Apr 27, 2013

terrible service!

Location is great, but rude receptionist made the whole experience less pleasent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BoRog
Baltimore
Apr 22, 2013

Surprisingly good

From the outside I was a little taken aback by Rodeway. It looks like an old house but the hotel was more modern and sleek than the outside facade. The desk clerk was not that friendly when I got there but desk staff the rest of the weekend were great. The room was larger than expected. Comfortable bed. Nice windows. Clean. The bathroom was small but fine. The second day of my stay the hot water was not working. The extremely nice and apologetic desk clerk gave me 10% off for the issue when I checked out. I did not spend much time in the room but I would recommend the hotel for a nice weekend get away to Philly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Carmen
New Jersey
Mar 18, 2013

simple and accomodating

The facilities of the hotel itself are nice because it's newly renovated. The only wierd/downside of my stay was that they put me in the very first room next to the lobby..? Luckily I was out most of the time but it's wierd they even have a room right next to the lobby desk. It doesn't even have any windows so that made me feel very claustrophobic. At least the room was comfortable and I was only there for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PCII
Business
NY, NY
Mar 9, 2013

Transitions

Hotel is undergoing renovations. Center City location is excellent. Room was small but clean, bed was small but comfortable. Shower, carpet were new but work was still ongoing throughout the hotel. Free wifi. Good for one night on short-notice business but interested to see how renovations evolve and whether the overall experience is improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Visitor 2013
Saratoga, NY
Mar 8, 2013

Great first experience of Philadelphia

First impression of this hotel was the beaming face of the receptionist checking us in. She was friendly and professional and very accommodating with questions. Hotel appears to be under some renovations. Elevator was quite small, and hallways are small, but the room was nice and clean. Comfortable beds, free wifi. Only complaint was that the lighting is a little dim, especially in the bathroom. Great neighborhood with a starbucks across the street, and a quick walk to the event we came to see. Looking forward to coming back next month and will rebook!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul1980
Belfast, N. Ireland
Feb 5, 2013

Good Hotel

Great room, 2 rooms joined into 1. Friendly staff and good experience. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top