$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
View map of 1, East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
65 reviews
Business

The hotel was nice right in the center of town I was able to walk around and see a lot of the... See full review

  • carl s.
  • Jun 18, 2015
Awesome room and location

The hotel is in a very cool location! Close to shopping and restaurants. Clean and great value.... See full review

  • Hillary H.
  • Jan 9, 2015

A quick walk to the convention center, Reading Terminal Market and the cultural district, The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers guests spacious accommodations and plentiful amenities. The hotel is a home away from home, with studios and one-bedrooms, with some suites have full kitchens. In addition, guests enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free evening social events during the week. Other hotel amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access and laundry facilities.

Rooms

The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers 290 nonsmoking suites in its 25-story building. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, pots, dishes and utensils. Separate areas for living, sleeping and working give guests room to relax. Standard amenities include premium bedding, complimentary high-speed Internet access, televisions with premium channels and an iron/ironing board. Request a higher floor for abundant light and views of the city and City Hall.

Property features

The hotel offers many conveniences such as a grocery service, limo service, valet parking, laundry/dry cleaning services, and concierge services. Pets are allowed (fees apply).

 

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast and evening social events
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Nearby attractions
  • City Hall (across the street)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sesame Place (22 mi/35.4 km)

 

Business
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Catering services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

 

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City also booked these hotels.

★★★
$139
4.2 / 5 141 reviews
★★★
$129
4.1 / 5 202 reviews
★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 66 reviews
★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 211 reviews
★★★★
$127
4.2 / 5 191 reviews
★★★
$132
3.6 / 5 115 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 65
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family total 5
Family
Canada
Aug 26, 2014

location

Good friendly staff. Location is good for seeing the liberty bell it was an overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sosyo
Family
Boston
Aug 20, 2014

Great location

Good location. Decently clean hotel. Breakfast and dinner included. So deal was good. Free internet too. No hot omlettes for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go for valet parking. Its more than double the cost of parking by the lot just next to the hotel.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nelchin101
Family
Caldwell, Nj
Aug 4, 2014

Great Stay

We are a family of four with a 2yr and we felt at home here. The room was clean and the staff was great. Would stay here again. Only down fall no pool:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cali Clan
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 12, 2014

Philadelphia Getaway

This was my family's first trip to the East Coast and we wanted to be in the center of it all. The Residence Inn was definitely that! Everything was within walking distance.Independence Hall, Reading Terminal Market, Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, The Rocky Statue, Love Park, you name it!!! The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast every morning, make your own fresh waffles!! The city of Philadelphia has so much to see and do and The Residence Inn was the perfect place to come back to each night!!! We will absolutely stay here again on our next trip!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ana mom
Family
Detroit, MI
Dec 28, 2013

Disapointed mom

I was charged double when I did my check in and since it was during the holidays no one could take care of it. Vale parking is very expensive, and it sometimes took over 30 min wait to get the car. No cleaning the room for the holidays!! We had to take care of it. Terrible,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lucasgts
Family
nj
Oct 8, 2013

spacious clean and great location

Our stay was so enjoyable. The room was very clean and very spacious. The staff was friendly and professional. The location was central to where we wanted to go and explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sister Tmark
Family
Philadelphia
Apr 28, 2013

Family trip

Overall, our stay was very pleasant and comfortable. It is in a great location and the staff was friendly. The only complaint I had was that the sofa bed was very uncomfortable and there weren't any sheets or pillows for me to put on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bghammy traveler
Family
Denver
Jan 28, 2013

Fabulous Philly Trip

This hotel was perfect for us. Great location, great buffet breakfast and a very nice staff. Very accessible to many nearby sights and activities. I would highly recommend this hotel. Thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit the Reading Terminal Building for all sorts of culinary options

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PLR traveling mon
Family
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 8, 2012

Family trip

It took me a while to write this review, but I cant say enough nice things about this place. From the outside, I thought I had made a mistake, but once you step off the elevator it looks like a totally different place. We stayed for 5 days and had a hot breakfast everyday, they even offered snacks and a very light meal in the the evening, e.g. tossed salad, sandwich, etc. We were impressed, We were expecting cold cereal and fruit for breakfast but instead we were treated to a make your own waffle bar, potatoes, several choices of breakfast meats, juices, coffee, tea etc. The staff was fantastic. From the servers in the breakfast area, to the clerks in the lobby. I would definitely stay here again. This hotel is in the middle of the city right across from city hall. It is not even a half block from one of the main streets that you can take a bus from down to the historic section of Philadelphia, Liberty Bell, etc. If I ever go to Philadelphia again, I will stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Chris' Jazz Cafe is nearby, they have great acts at a great price. There are also museums and sculptings which are in walking distance of the hotel, one or two miles.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
palomom
Family
aurora, MN
Jul 9, 2012

Right in the middle of everything !

I took my 14 year old granddaughter on a 5 day getaway in June. The Residence Inn is located right next to City Hall and we were within walking distance of many of Philadelphia's attractions. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially our floor maid, who always greeted us with a smile and notes left for us to have a nice day. The continental breakfast is on the 2nd floor and was very good. Since we were there 5 days, I noticed the menu didn't change very much, but there was a large enough selection to try something different now and then. The hotel is a $30 cab fare from the airport, and there was always one on hand. Checking in and out was super fast and easy, but I had done everything online beforehand. We were located on the 15th floor and at the end of the hallway, but our room was quiet and comfortable. The only small complaint I have, is the the bathrooms were a little small, but very clean. All in all, we had an excellent stay and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many attractions are within easy walking distance which saves on cab and subway fares. The Philadelphia Art Museum is about a mile away, but many things to see along the way, including the Franklin Institute, and it's a lovely walk down Franklin Parkway.

Back to menu Return to top