$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
1, East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
82 reviews
Philadelphia Getaway

This was my family's first trip to the East Coast and we wanted to be in the center of it all. The... See full review

  • Cali Clan
  • Jul 12, 2014
One Night Business Trip - Ideal Location

Great restaurants nearby, walking distance. Hotel staff was very friendly, forgot my toothbrush and... See full review

  • Benjamin DP
  • May 23, 2014
All-Suites hotel in Center City with great location, generous amenities

A quick walk to the convention center, Reading Terminal Market and the cultural district, The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers guests spacious accommodations and plentiful amenities. The hotel is a home away from home, with studios and one-bedrooms, with some suites have full kitchens. In addition, guests enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free evening social events during the week. Other hotel amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access and laundry facilities.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast and evening social events
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers 290 nonsmoking suites in its 25-story building. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, pots, dishes and utensils. Separate areas for living, sleeping and working give guests room to relax. Standard amenities include premium bedding, complimentary high-speed Internet access, televisions with premium channels and an iron/ironing board. Request a higher floor for abundant light and views of the city and City Hall.

Features

The hotel offers many conveniences such as a grocery service, limo service, valet parking, laundry/dry cleaning services, and concierge services. Pets are allowed (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • City Hall (across the street)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sesame Place (22 mi/35.4 km)

 

Business
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Catering services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

 

Hotel Map

39.9522 -75.1626
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 82
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Sep 23, 2009

Downtown Philly

Please note: the valet parking guys were very helpful and did the best they could to get your car to you as fast as possible. That said: It took a long time to get our car but we don't believe that's because of the valet staff but rather is due to the distance where the cars are parked. However, the staff at the front desk were almost always involved in conversations with each other or other black people. I'm white and my husband is black. He got immediate attention while I was left to wait until the staff got around to me. I have never before played the race card but the difference in treatment was painfully obvious. Generally the black staff at the front desk were cordial to my husband and perfunctory and distant to me. Although I will now have to travel to Philly several times each year, I won't stay at the Marriott Residence Inn in Center City again. I might try to see how the staff at the other Marriotts downtown act towards me to see if Marriott has a training issue or my experience was isolated behavior only in the one Marriott in which we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal was within walking distance and was delightfully full of both shopping and dining opportunities.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Sep 23, 2009

Downtown Philly

Please note: the valet parking guys were very helpful and did the best they could to get your car to you as fast as possible. That said: It took a long time to get our car but we don't believe that's because of the valet staff but rather is due to the distance where the cars are parked. However, the staff at the front desk were almost always involved in conversations with each other or other black people. I'm white and my husband is black. He got immediate attention while I was left to wait until the staff got around to me. I have never before played the race card but the difference in treatment was painfully obvious. Generally the black staff at the front desk were cordial to my husband and perfunctory and distant to me. Although I will now have to travel to Philly several times each year, I won't stay at the Marriott Residence Inn in Center City again. I might try to see how the staff at the other Marriotts downtown act towards me to see if Marriott has a training issue or my experience was isolated behavior only in the one Marriott in which we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal was within walking distance and was delightfully full of both shopping and dining opportunities.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
greenlightning
Dc
Oct 14, 2013

Ambience couldl be better

Wonderful freindly hard working staff Free but terrible breakfast. Good bsuiness center. Located a block form the Marriott and most downown events. The room was called a suite but a better name for this very small room with a refregerator would be an efficiency. But you get what you pay for and the room was very inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newlyweds
Waterford, Ireland
Jun 20, 2011

Excellent Hotel

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary. Our room was a King Bed Room and was on the corner of the building so we had lovely views. The hotel is directly across from City Hall which is a beautiful building. There is also a Macys store across the street. The location of the hotel is very convenient, and most attractions are within a coforatble walking distance. We did the open top bus tour which was a great way to see all the areas of the city. I would recomend that you do this in your first day or 2 so that you get your bearings. The staff were very helpful, and called the bus station for us regarding timetables to the shopping outlets. The philladelphia premium outlets are 2 hours away and you need to take 2 buses, but worth the trip if you love shooping. The King of Prussia Mall is more expensensive, but is just 30 mins away by bus. We also went to Franlkin Mills Mall which took about an hour by bus. All were very good. The bedroom was very spacious and had a fully fucntioning kitchen, dining table, couch, flat screen TV, huge King size bed and lovely ensuite. Extremely clean and modern, could not fault it. Breakfast was lovely, and was complementary. Overall we had a lovely stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus stop is just around the corner on Market Street and 13th Street.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cmigity
Philly
Oct 7, 2013

Secret rendezvous

Great room great location. The room was cleaned and came with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy the tourist
Bloomington, MN
Sep 27, 2010

Location, location, location

The hotel was within walking distance of all of the tourist attractions. Very quiet with a nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizlee
Nuneaton, UK
Sep 13, 2013

super sight seeing position

Staff friendly and obliging. location superb for sightseeing, everything within walking distance. Fantastic view of skyline from high bedroom floor. Breakfast good and good complimentary evening meals, Mon thru Thurs. Walked to historical sights, Liberty Bell and Independence Mall area. Reading Terminal Food Market a true taste of American life. Big Bus Tour a must. Shopping expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
baltimore MD
Dec 13, 2010

great location

great location, staff helpful and friendly. Well kept for such an old hotel and they are very safety conscous. I love the convenence of the suite type room with full kitchen and a hot breakfast in the morning all included. I would stay here again the next time I go to Philli.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

one block over is the Reeding Market, a must see with great food and Amish specialties.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art Loving Vegan
Iowa City, Iowa
Jan 8, 2013

Just what we needed for a museum weekend

We came to town to see a museum exhibit and this hotel was a great match for us. The location on Penn Square was perfect for downtown walks, and our room was more than we needed for space and comfort. I particularly liked the friendly staff we encountered working the front desk in the evenings, and I saw exceptional quality of character from the the attendant at breakfast when she stepped in to assist an older guest in a wheelchair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nodding Head Brewery was a great place for local beers and vegan-friendly food. It felt like we stumbled upon a great local secret, and the prices were really reasonable. Also they were open late on Sunday when many other food places near our hotel were closed.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stuart, FL
Aug 31, 2009

Great location and very hospitable

Great for sightseeing and using the train system was simple enough with the staff's wonderful guidance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

McGillins oldest Irish Pub around the corner was a fun way to begin our short stay.

Back to menu Return to top