$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
1, East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
64 reviews
THe best choice

I did select this hotel because; it has breakfast it has full kitchen it has internet When we... See full review

  • manuel64
  • Aug 19, 2014
Perfect Philly Vacation

This hotel is in perfect location, across from City Hall in Center City. Easy walk to all major... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 27, 2014
All-Suites hotel in Center City with great location, generous amenities

A quick walk to the convention center, Reading Terminal Market and the cultural district, The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers guests spacious accommodations and plentiful amenities. The hotel is a home away from home, with studios and one-bedrooms, with some suites have full kitchens. In addition, guests enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free evening social events during the week. Other hotel amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access and laundry facilities.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast and evening social events
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers 290 nonsmoking suites in its 25-story building. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, pots, dishes and utensils. Separate areas for living, sleeping and working give guests room to relax. Standard amenities include premium bedding, complimentary high-speed Internet access, televisions with premium channels and an iron/ironing board. Request a higher floor for abundant light and views of the city and City Hall.

Features

The hotel offers many conveniences such as a grocery service, limo service, valet parking, laundry/dry cleaning services, and concierge services. Pets are allowed (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • City Hall (across the street)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sesame Place (22 mi/35.4 km)

 

Business
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Catering services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

 

Hotel Map

39.9522 -75.1626
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bghammy traveler
Denver
Jan 28, 2013

Fabulous Philly Trip

This hotel was perfect for us. Great location, great buffet breakfast and a very nice staff. Very accessible to many nearby sights and activities. I would highly recommend this hotel. Thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit the Reading Terminal Building for all sorts of culinary options

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Mountain
Colorado
Nov 9, 2010

Center City Philadelphia

The Marriott Residence Inn is centrally located to experience what Philadelphia offers. For those who enjoy walking it is walkable to the historic district and to the art museum. I visited both. The Reading Terminal Market is a block away. The fact that breakfast was included was very convenient. Philadelphia makes for a great short visit. It is good restaurant town, has a great art museum, and U.S. history for the history buffs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Warmdaddy's for live blues music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy the tourist
Bloomington, MN
Sep 27, 2010

Location, location, location

The hotel was within walking distance of all of the tourist attractions. Very quiet with a nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizlee
Nuneaton, UK
Sep 13, 2013

super sight seeing position

Staff friendly and obliging. location superb for sightseeing, everything within walking distance. Fantastic view of skyline from high bedroom floor. Breakfast good and good complimentary evening meals, Mon thru Thurs. Walked to historical sights, Liberty Bell and Independence Mall area. Reading Terminal Food Market a true taste of American life. Big Bus Tour a must. Shopping expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
baltimore MD
Dec 13, 2010

great location

great location, staff helpful and friendly. Well kept for such an old hotel and they are very safety conscous. I love the convenence of the suite type room with full kitchen and a hot breakfast in the morning all included. I would stay here again the next time I go to Philli.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

one block over is the Reeding Market, a must see with great food and Amish specialties.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah09
Baltimore, Maryland
Aug 5, 2014

Friendly staff, good location, great stay!

My boyfriend and I spent one night at this hotel and had a very pleasant stay. Our room was very clean and tidy. Our one complaint was that there was no safe in the room, but this didn't cause any problems for us. The complimentary breakfast was very well done. The scrambled eggs were fresh and there was a lot of variety. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Overall, we had a great stay here and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in the middle of Philly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market (a famous Philly attraction with tons of food options) is just a short few blocks away! Definitely check it out if you are looking for a yummy lunch. It has all types of cuisine and is always a bustling environment -- somewhere you should go just to check out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art Loving Vegan
Iowa City, Iowa
Jan 8, 2013

Just what we needed for a museum weekend

We came to town to see a museum exhibit and this hotel was a great match for us. The location on Penn Square was perfect for downtown walks, and our room was more than we needed for space and comfort. I particularly liked the friendly staff we encountered working the front desk in the evenings, and I saw exceptional quality of character from the the attendant at breakfast when she stepped in to assist an older guest in a wheelchair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nodding Head Brewery was a great place for local beers and vegan-friendly food. It felt like we stumbled upon a great local secret, and the prices were really reasonable. Also they were open late on Sunday when many other food places near our hotel were closed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PLR traveling mon
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 8, 2012

Family trip

It took me a while to write this review, but I cant say enough nice things about this place. From the outside, I thought I had made a mistake, but once you step off the elevator it looks like a totally different place. We stayed for 5 days and had a hot breakfast everyday, they even offered snacks and a very light meal in the the evening, e.g. tossed salad, sandwich, etc. We were impressed, We were expecting cold cereal and fruit for breakfast but instead we were treated to a make your own waffle bar, potatoes, several choices of breakfast meats, juices, coffee, tea etc. The staff was fantastic. From the servers in the breakfast area, to the clerks in the lobby. I would definitely stay here again. This hotel is in the middle of the city right across from city hall. It is not even a half block from one of the main streets that you can take a bus from down to the historic section of Philadelphia, Liberty Bell, etc. If I ever go to Philadelphia again, I will stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Chris' Jazz Cafe is nearby, they have great acts at a great price. There are also museums and sculptings which are in walking distance of the hotel, one or two miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ace1st
South Florida
May 18, 2014

Great Experience

I was very pleased with the location and the cleanliness of the hotel. I really enjoyed my first time experience in the northeast region due to all the hotel attributes. Excellent proximity to the subway rail. I had my first experience in a subway and on a train. Downside to the hotel is that Philly is an old city so you will see mildew or algae on the outside of most tall buildings, which includes the windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
palomom
aurora, MN
Jul 9, 2012

Right in the middle of everything !

I took my 14 year old granddaughter on a 5 day getaway in June. The Residence Inn is located right next to City Hall and we were within walking distance of many of Philadelphia's attractions. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially our floor maid, who always greeted us with a smile and notes left for us to have a nice day. The continental breakfast is on the 2nd floor and was very good. Since we were there 5 days, I noticed the menu didn't change very much, but there was a large enough selection to try something different now and then. The hotel is a $30 cab fare from the airport, and there was always one on hand. Checking in and out was super fast and easy, but I had done everything online beforehand. We were located on the 15th floor and at the end of the hallway, but our room was quiet and comfortable. The only small complaint I have, is the the bathrooms were a little small, but very clean. All in all, we had an excellent stay and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many attractions are within easy walking distance which saves on cab and subway fares. The Philadelphia Art Museum is about a mile away, but many things to see along the way, including the Franklin Institute, and it's a lovely walk down Franklin Parkway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search