$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
1, East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
66 reviews
THe best choice

I did select this hotel because; it has breakfast it has full kitchen it has internet When we... See full review

  • manuel64
  • Aug 19, 2014
Perfect Philly Vacation

This hotel is in perfect location, across from City Hall in Center City. Easy walk to all major... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 27, 2014
All-Suites hotel in Center City with great location, generous amenities

A quick walk to the convention center, Reading Terminal Market and the cultural district, The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers guests spacious accommodations and plentiful amenities. The hotel is a home away from home, with studios and one-bedrooms, with some suites have full kitchens. In addition, guests enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free evening social events during the week. Other hotel amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access and laundry facilities.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast and evening social events
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers 290 nonsmoking suites in its 25-story building. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, pots, dishes and utensils. Separate areas for living, sleeping and working give guests room to relax. Standard amenities include premium bedding, complimentary high-speed Internet access, televisions with premium channels and an iron/ironing board. Request a higher floor for abundant light and views of the city and City Hall.

Features

The hotel offers many conveniences such as a grocery service, limo service, valet parking, laundry/dry cleaning services, and concierge services. Pets are allowed (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • City Hall (across the street)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sesame Place (22 mi/35.4 km)

 

Business
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Catering services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AZ Architect
Business
Arizona
Nov 23, 2013

Need to be close to convention

While it is nice that they offer a complimentary breakfast and dinner, it is not very good quality. Reminded me of hot lunch back in high school. The decor of the room appears to be from 1988 (maple cabinets that are actually trying to look line oak with cheap brass handles). But I would not write a bad review of the place if that was all I had to complain about. My first morning shower was done with no hot water. Well technically, there was almost warm water for about a minute before becoming ice cold. The next morning (after the engineer was sent to fix it) had the water switching from scalding to freezing, so I got to dance in and out for the precious moments of warm water. The third morning had no cold water. Not out of the shower, the bathroom sink or the kitchen sink. So the water was scalding hot and there was no way to shower at all. When checking out, I mentioned my problems and they could not offer me any compensation (other than a soda and some candy from the snack shop) because I bought through a third party. At least that was the claim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to the convention center, that is the only reason I would advise anyone consider this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ana mom
Business
Detroit, MI
Dec 28, 2013

Disapointed mom

I was charged double when I did my check in and since it was during the holidays no one could take care of it. Vale parking is very expensive, and it sometimes took over 30 min wait to get the car. No cleaning the room for the holidays!! We had to take care of it. Terrible,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Codirectior
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2014

Receipts

The hotel said that the chain does not give a full itemized bill for the room charges when you pre-pay through a travel service . Business travelers beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Aug 19, 2010

Fair...look elsewhere

US History; Shopping and get-away for Mother-daughter were main reason for trip. Hotel staff did could not give us info re: History. Room was poorly maintained. Microwave cooked on HIGH even when on defrost setting. Moved chair and found the top off of someone else's Cheese Whiz. The ice maker dumped water and not frozen cubes. Worst was the cigarette smoke that came in when the A/C was running, especially through Bathroom ductwork. Then it would eventually dissipate. Had a sore throat for several days from the smoke smell. Maintenance staff came up one night but they could not smell anything. Homeless people abound in Philly. They leave their belongings all over the place. The Urine/feces smell is frequent on your walk throughout the city. Police on every other corner so you feel safe. Hotel is across from Penn Square--a beautiful city hall with amazing architecture. If you want to see amazing buildings...visit Philly. The Masonic Temple and many other buildings are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Station is a MUST. It has every imaginable food and market available. Several Philly Cheesesteak choices, Mexican, Italian, Pizza, Chinese, Sushi, American, donuts, cookies, candies--you name it--all under one roof including fresh seafood, meats, produce as well as dining areas. Starbucks and Duncan Donut are within 1 block. Macy's across the street. Burlington Coat factory about 2 blocks, Old Navy and other stores within 5 blocks. Expensive stores to the north about 3-5 blocks. Take the 125 or 124 bus to King of Prussia Mall--cost is $7 but they have over 350 stores including JCP, Macy, Bloomy's, Neiman Marcus and more! Olive Garden, Wendy's and McD is 1 block away. It's a long walk to Historical and waterfront area...if you are into History...stay in Historical area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plmbr
Business
Louisville, KY
Aug 12, 2012

good location for what I wanted to do

The hotel staff was very couteous and helpful and the location was perfect, tho the hotel lacked amenities, mostly dining facility. I would stay again there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an excellant Italian restaurant nearby called Maggianos, Try it! excellent Cannaloni!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
biochemboy
Business
Woodinville, WA
Feb 14, 2013

Functional for Business

There is a very nice breakfast provided for those who stay, a business center and an average fitness room. Overall, I didn't spend much time in the hotel, but it was a great place to come back to at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sister Tmark
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 28, 2013

Family trip

Overall, our stay was very pleasant and comfortable. It is in a great location and the staff was friendly. The only complaint I had was that the sofa bed was very uncomfortable and there weren't any sheets or pillows for me to put on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
greenlightning
Business
Dc
Oct 14, 2013

Ambience couldl be better

Wonderful freindly hard working staff Free but terrible breakfast. Good bsuiness center. Located a block form the Marriott and most downown events. The room was called a suite but a better name for this very small room with a refregerator would be an efficiency. But you get what you pay for and the room was very inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
putida
Business
Fayetteville, AR
May 22, 2009

Not Bad

I wish I could more soundproof this hotel. Also, some of female staffs, not male staffs, were distinctly unfriendly towards us. Only good thing I would tell you is that the hotel did renovations and is close to shopping center. If you want to buy small souvenirs, bottle drinks or snacks, visit the gift shop located at the down-next of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No sales-tax for clothing. This is the greatest point on shopping. And some of luxurios brands are close to hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 23, 2009

Downtown Philly

Please note: the valet parking guys were very helpful and did the best they could to get your car to you as fast as possible. That said: It took a long time to get our car but we don't believe that's because of the valet staff but rather is due to the distance where the cars are parked. However, the staff at the front desk were almost always involved in conversations with each other or other black people. I'm white and my husband is black. He got immediate attention while I was left to wait until the staff got around to me. I have never before played the race card but the difference in treatment was painfully obvious. Generally the black staff at the front desk were cordial to my husband and perfunctory and distant to me. Although I will now have to travel to Philly several times each year, I won't stay at the Marriott Residence Inn in Center City again. I might try to see how the staff at the other Marriotts downtown act towards me to see if Marriott has a training issue or my experience was isolated behavior only in the one Marriott in which we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal was within walking distance and was delightfully full of both shopping and dining opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top