$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
1, East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
67 reviews
THe best choice

I did select this hotel because; it has breakfast it has full kitchen it has internet When we... See full review

  • manuel64
  • Aug 19, 2014
Perfect Philly Vacation

This hotel is in perfect location, across from City Hall in Center City. Easy walk to all major... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 27, 2014
All-Suites hotel in Center City with great location, generous amenities

A quick walk to the convention center, Reading Terminal Market and the cultural district, The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers guests spacious accommodations and plentiful amenities. The hotel is a home away from home, with studios and one-bedrooms, with some suites have full kitchens. In addition, guests enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free evening social events during the week. Other hotel amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access and laundry facilities.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast and evening social events
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers 290 nonsmoking suites in its 25-story building. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, pots, dishes and utensils. Separate areas for living, sleeping and working give guests room to relax. Standard amenities include premium bedding, complimentary high-speed Internet access, televisions with premium channels and an iron/ironing board. Request a higher floor for abundant light and views of the city and City Hall.

Features

The hotel offers many conveniences such as a grocery service, limo service, valet parking, laundry/dry cleaning services, and concierge services. Pets are allowed (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • City Hall (across the street)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sesame Place (22 mi/35.4 km)

 

Business
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Catering services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 67
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave T Super Genius
Business
Clifton, NJ
Sep 29, 2014

Wonderful weekend

The staff was very attentive and helpful. Our room was very clean and was wonderful. the hotel itself is very close to many of the Philly attractions. Breakfast is included which was more than your average continental breakfast. I thought the price was very good for what we had. AND you're right across the street from the Philadelphia City Hall building which is one of the most magnificent buildings I have ever seen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruth's Been Around
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 25, 2014

Everythign was truly Excellent, except...

I live 2 miles north of center city but i booked a room at this hotel for a little stay-cation for my boyfriends birthday. The staff was amazing. Gvae us choice of lower floor with king sized bed or higher floor with a view and a queen sized bed. Gave us a small free upgrade and wished him a happy birthday at the start and finish of each sentence. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. Only problem was our thermostat was broken and seemingly the AC as well. When we asked the front desk for a fan, they said they had none for guests. When we asked while we were out of the hotel between 5-7p if they could check on it. They said of course. When we returned to change for our dinner reservations, the temperature in the room then read "60" as apposed to the 76 that it had previously, but there was barely a diference in the actual temperature in the room. I understand that some people 's comfortable sleeping temperature is in the 70's, and/or high 70's, but unfortunately, my boyfriend and i are not those people. As a result we did not get the restful sleep we should have/could have/ would have gotten which did, but only slightly took away from the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just ask. There is so much phenomenal food in the area and the staff was very knowledgable and friendly. - also, Macy's, and cvs right next door in case you forget ANYTHING :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manuel64
Business
Pompano Beach, FL, EEUU
Aug 19, 2014

THe best choice

I did select this hotel because; it has breakfast it has full kitchen it has internet When we arrived the surpise was huge. it is located close to Mr Penn in the tpo of city hall, our room was in 18th floor, from our window, Mr penn was really close to us. The staff was really friendly. in 3 words: It was great!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

We went to New Jersey state, crossing Benjamin Franklin bridge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah09
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Aug 5, 2014

Friendly staff, good location, great stay!

My boyfriend and I spent one night at this hotel and had a very pleasant stay. Our room was very clean and tidy. Our one complaint was that there was no safe in the room, but this didn't cause any problems for us. The complimentary breakfast was very well done. The scrambled eggs were fresh and there was a lot of variety. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Overall, we had a great stay here and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in the middle of Philly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market (a famous Philly attraction with tons of food options) is just a short few blocks away! Definitely check it out if you are looking for a yummy lunch. It has all types of cuisine and is always a bustling environment -- somewhere you should go just to check out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 27, 2014

Perfect Philly Vacation

This hotel is in perfect location, across from City Hall in Center City. Easy walk to all major attractions & about 2 blocks away from Reading Market Terminal. Staff was great and very helpful. Room was nice size with full kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penn Alum and Dad
Business
Richmond, VA
May 21, 2014

Convenient, convenient, convenient

The location of this hotel was perfect, and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was roomy and mostly comfortable. Our only complaint was that it was difficult to control the room temperature. It was either too cold or too stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
greenlightning
Business
Dc
Oct 14, 2013

Ambience couldl be better

Wonderful freindly hard working staff Free but terrible breakfast. Good bsuiness center. Located a block form the Marriott and most downown events. The room was called a suite but a better name for this very small room with a refregerator would be an efficiency. But you get what you pay for and the room was very inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cmigity
Business
Philly
Oct 7, 2013

Secret rendezvous

Great room great location. The room was cleaned and came with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizlee
Business
Nuneaton, UK
Sep 13, 2013

super sight seeing position

Staff friendly and obliging. location superb for sightseeing, everything within walking distance. Fantastic view of skyline from high bedroom floor. Breakfast good and good complimentary evening meals, Mon thru Thurs. Walked to historical sights, Liberty Bell and Independence Mall area. Reading Terminal Food Market a true taste of American life. Big Bus Tour a must. Shopping expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art Loving Vegan
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
Jan 8, 2013

Just what we needed for a museum weekend

We came to town to see a museum exhibit and this hotel was a great match for us. The location on Penn Square was perfect for downtown walks, and our room was more than we needed for space and comfort. I particularly liked the friendly staff we encountered working the front desk in the evenings, and I saw exceptional quality of character from the the attendant at breakfast when she stepped in to assist an older guest in a wheelchair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nodding Head Brewery was a great place for local beers and vegan-friendly food. It felt like we stumbled upon a great local secret, and the prices were really reasonable. Also they were open late on Sunday when many other food places near our hotel were closed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top