$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
View map of 1, East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
California
Jul 27, 2014

Perfect Philly Vacation

This hotel is in perfect location, across from City Hall in Center City. Easy walk to all major attractions & about 2 blocks away from Reading Market Terminal. Staff was great and very helpful. Room was nice size with full kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Missouri
Aug 19, 2010

Fair...look elsewhere

US History; Shopping and get-away for Mother-daughter were main reason for trip. Hotel staff did could not give us info re: History. Room was poorly maintained. Microwave cooked on HIGH even when on defrost setting. Moved chair and found the top off of someone else's Cheese Whiz. The ice maker dumped water and not frozen cubes. Worst was the cigarette smoke that came in when the A/C was running, especially through Bathroom ductwork. Then it would eventually dissipate. Had a sore throat for several days from the smoke smell. Maintenance staff came up one night but they could not smell anything. Homeless people abound in Philly. They leave their belongings all over the place. The Urine/feces smell is frequent on your walk throughout the city. Police on every other corner so you feel safe. Hotel is across from Penn Square--a beautiful city hall with amazing architecture. If you want to see amazing buildings...visit Philly. The Masonic Temple and many other buildings are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Station is a MUST. It has every imaginable food and market available. Several Philly Cheesesteak choices, Mexican, Italian, Pizza, Chinese, Sushi, American, donuts, cookies, candies--you name it--all under one roof including fresh seafood, meats, produce as well as dining areas. Starbucks and Duncan Donut are within 1 block. Macy's across the street. Burlington Coat factory about 2 blocks, Old Navy and other stores within 5 blocks. Expensive stores to the north about 3-5 blocks. Take the 125 or 124 bus to King of Prussia Mall--cost is $7 but they have over 350 stores including JCP, Macy, Bloomy's, Neiman Marcus and more! Olive Garden, Wendy's and McD is 1 block away. It's a long walk to Historical and waterfront area...if you are into History...stay in Historical area.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmobes
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 13, 2010

great!

I chose to stay at this hotel instead of the hotel the conference I attended was being held at. I maid this choice because I have stayed at Residence Inns before and liked the actual feeling of being in a small apartment instead of a "hotel". Several of the attendees at my conference stated that they wished they had stayed at a different hotel because the hotel where the conference was at was too "pretenscious" and was trying to be too "high class" rather than comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always ask the front desk if ou have forgitten something - they know the closest location where you can find what you need. I had left my cell phone charger at home and they were able to direct me to a Verizon store within a block of the hotel!

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MTBman
Family
Plano, Texas
Jul 6, 2010

Great location and accomodations

This residence Inn is a great location for experiencing and learning about early American history. Is is convient to many historical locations within walkind distance. The reading Terminal Market is a must stop along the way. We took the Big Bus Tour and ended up at the Zoo which is very good and on our return we stopped in at the Phidelphia Art Museum. My only negitive comment is about the location. Big city, and noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Check into the Philidelphia Pass for great discounts, the Big Bus Tour for getting around as well as the Philly Flash. Chech out the Reading Terminal Market for produce, sandwiches and lots more.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
EL CAJON ,CA
Apr 21, 2010

GREAT LOCATION FOR THE PRICE.

I VISIT WITH FAMILY AND FRIENDS. SHOPPED AT MY FAVORITE STORE--MACY'S. I WAS BORN AND RAISED IN PHILLY. CAME HOME TO CELEBRATE MY 55th B-DAY. I HAD A WONDERFUL TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baltimore for business
Business
los angeles, ca
Feb 18, 2010

Super friendly staff

The staff here is really nice and the free breakfast is great. The only problem is really slow internet connection and the rooms are a bit small for a suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane St Clair
Business
Orlando, Florida
Feb 15, 2010

Hotel Review

I've stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn, Center City, several times and have excellent customer service each time. The rooms are comfortable. The beds are very comfortable, with nice bedding. The staff is accomodating. Location is good.No complaints at all. I often suggest this hotel to anyone I know going to Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN FRANCISCO
Oct 19, 2009

GREAT LOCATION FOR BUSINESS

ALL GOOD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles
Sep 23, 2009

Downtown Philly

Please note: the valet parking guys were very helpful and did the best they could to get your car to you as fast as possible. That said: It took a long time to get our car but we don't believe that's because of the valet staff but rather is due to the distance where the cars are parked. However, the staff at the front desk were almost always involved in conversations with each other or other black people. I'm white and my husband is black. He got immediate attention while I was left to wait until the staff got around to me. I have never before played the race card but the difference in treatment was painfully obvious. Generally the black staff at the front desk were cordial to my husband and perfunctory and distant to me. Although I will now have to travel to Philly several times each year, I won't stay at the Marriott Residence Inn in Center City again. I might try to see how the staff at the other Marriotts downtown act towards me to see if Marriott has a training issue or my experience was isolated behavior only in the one Marriott in which we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal was within walking distance and was delightfully full of both shopping and dining opportunities.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler on a Whim
Family
Atlanta, GA
Aug 31, 2009

Weekend Trip to Philly

I really lucked out and got a corner room overlooking City Hall. The view from two windows was fantastic especially at night. The location was absolutely perfect. I chose the Residence Inn for this trip because I wanted a city view, and I got everything I wanted! Plus in these days of a tough economy, having a super breakfast and WiFi included was a real plus. The staff at the hotel were as professional as can be. I asked for small things for info or comfort, and each desk clerk was as pleasant as the next in accommodating me. Numerous transit opportunities are all outside the door: the trolley, the subway, and the regional rail. Who could ask for more convenience than that? I tried the hotel shuttle from the airport which was very good, and once I figured the rail system out, I tried the R1 train back to the airport. Both were fantastic and easy to navigate. I left Philly with a positive impression and will definitely stay at this hotel again. If you need a fancy lobby and such, this is not the hotel for you. It is built for extended stay, so its features are built around the needs of the traveller who is looking for location, terrific bed, and good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking to different sights was a breeze. Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, and terrific lunch at Chinatown. Also, the StarTrek exhibit at the Franklin Institute really brought back memories, and was kitchy and fun. Make sure to stop and get a photo taken just before you enter the exhibit. When you get to the gift shop, check out your "beam me up, Scotty" photo for sale. My daughter and I had to have it! It was a great promo for the exhibit. I also recommend the Marriott Hotel restaurant next door, "13." Food and presentation was very nice. The seafood choices were terrific. Also check out the Reading Terminal Market around the corner. A real treat. The Amish vendors are opened only part of the week, I think Wed-Sat. I wanted to pack home some baked goods from the Termini bakery, but I never got the chance to go back. My advice is to buy on a whim. Also Macy's is next door, so anything you might have forgotten can be purchased nearby. Also, the Mutter Museum has been featured on the Travel Channel, so I went. It was really a terrific look at old medical history, science, and the macabre. It houses personal effects and stories of Lister, the Curies, Benjamin Rush, Chang-and-Eng, etc. A real history-slash-carnival buff's kind of place.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Stuart, FL
Aug 31, 2009

Great location and very hospitable

Great for sightseeing and using the train system was simple enough with the staff's wonderful guidance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

McGillins oldest Irish Pub around the corner was a fun way to begin our short stay.

Back to menu Return to top