$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
1, East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
64 reviews
THe best choice

I did select this hotel because; it has breakfast it has full kitchen it has internet When we... See full review

  • manuel64
  • Aug 19, 2014
Perfect Philly Vacation

This hotel is in perfect location, across from City Hall in Center City. Easy walk to all major... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 27, 2014
All-Suites hotel in Center City with great location, generous amenities

A quick walk to the convention center, Reading Terminal Market and the cultural district, The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers guests spacious accommodations and plentiful amenities. The hotel is a home away from home, with studios and one-bedrooms, with some suites have full kitchens. In addition, guests enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free evening social events during the week. Other hotel amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access and laundry facilities.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast and evening social events
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers 290 nonsmoking suites in its 25-story building. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, pots, dishes and utensils. Separate areas for living, sleeping and working give guests room to relax. Standard amenities include premium bedding, complimentary high-speed Internet access, televisions with premium channels and an iron/ironing board. Request a higher floor for abundant light and views of the city and City Hall.

Features

The hotel offers many conveniences such as a grocery service, limo service, valet parking, laundry/dry cleaning services, and concierge services. Pets are allowed (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • City Hall (across the street)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sesame Place (22 mi/35.4 km)

 

Business
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Catering services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

 

Hotel Map

39.9522 -75.1626
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jul 27, 2014

Perfect Philly Vacation

This hotel is in perfect location, across from City Hall in Center City. Easy walk to all major attractions & about 2 blocks away from Reading Market Terminal. Staff was great and very helpful. Room was nice size with full kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
EL CAJON ,CA
Apr 21, 2010

GREAT LOCATION FOR THE PRICE.

I VISIT WITH FAMILY AND FRIENDS. SHOPPED AT MY FAVORITE STORE--MACY'S. I WAS BORN AND RAISED IN PHILLY. CAME HOME TO CELEBRATE MY 55th B-DAY. I HAD A WONDERFUL TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baltimore for business
Business
los angeles, ca
Feb 18, 2010

Super friendly staff

The staff here is really nice and the free breakfast is great. The only problem is really slow internet connection and the rooms are a bit small for a suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane St Clair
Business
Orlando, Florida
Feb 15, 2010

Hotel Review

I've stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn, Center City, several times and have excellent customer service each time. The rooms are comfortable. The beds are very comfortable, with nice bedding. The staff is accomodating. Location is good.No complaints at all. I often suggest this hotel to anyone I know going to Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN FRANCISCO
Oct 19, 2009

GREAT LOCATION FOR BUSINESS

ALL GOOD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Sep 23, 2009

Downtown Philly

Please note: the valet parking guys were very helpful and did the best they could to get your car to you as fast as possible. That said: It took a long time to get our car but we don't believe that's because of the valet staff but rather is due to the distance where the cars are parked. However, the staff at the front desk were almost always involved in conversations with each other or other black people. I'm white and my husband is black. He got immediate attention while I was left to wait until the staff got around to me. I have never before played the race card but the difference in treatment was painfully obvious. Generally the black staff at the front desk were cordial to my husband and perfunctory and distant to me. Although I will now have to travel to Philly several times each year, I won't stay at the Marriott Residence Inn in Center City again. I might try to see how the staff at the other Marriotts downtown act towards me to see if Marriott has a training issue or my experience was isolated behavior only in the one Marriott in which we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal was within walking distance and was delightfully full of both shopping and dining opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Philly Vacationer
New Jersey
Sep 8, 2009

Very pleased with Hotel accommodations!

Location was great! Easy access to all the sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler on a Whim
Atlanta, GA
Aug 31, 2009

Weekend Trip to Philly

I really lucked out and got a corner room overlooking City Hall. The view from two windows was fantastic especially at night. The location was absolutely perfect. I chose the Residence Inn for this trip because I wanted a city view, and I got everything I wanted! Plus in these days of a tough economy, having a super breakfast and WiFi included was a real plus. The staff at the hotel were as professional as can be. I asked for small things for info or comfort, and each desk clerk was as pleasant as the next in accommodating me. Numerous transit opportunities are all outside the door: the trolley, the subway, and the regional rail. Who could ask for more convenience than that? I tried the hotel shuttle from the airport which was very good, and once I figured the rail system out, I tried the R1 train back to the airport. Both were fantastic and easy to navigate. I left Philly with a positive impression and will definitely stay at this hotel again. If you need a fancy lobby and such, this is not the hotel for you. It is built for extended stay, so its features are built around the needs of the traveller who is looking for location, terrific bed, and good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking to different sights was a breeze. Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, and terrific lunch at Chinatown. Also, the StarTrek exhibit at the Franklin Institute really brought back memories, and was kitchy and fun. Make sure to stop and get a photo taken just before you enter the exhibit. When you get to the gift shop, check out your "beam me up, Scotty" photo for sale. My daughter and I had to have it! It was a great promo for the exhibit. I also recommend the Marriott Hotel restaurant next door, "13." Food and presentation was very nice. The seafood choices were terrific. Also check out the Reading Terminal Market around the corner. A real treat. The Amish vendors are opened only part of the week, I think Wed-Sat. I wanted to pack home some baked goods from the Termini bakery, but I never got the chance to go back. My advice is to buy on a whim. Also Macy's is next door, so anything you might have forgotten can be purchased nearby. Also, the Mutter Museum has been featured on the Travel Channel, so I went. It was really a terrific look at old medical history, science, and the macabre. It houses personal effects and stories of Lister, the Curies, Benjamin Rush, Chang-and-Eng, etc. A real history-slash-carnival buff's kind of place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stuart, FL
Aug 31, 2009

Great location and very hospitable

Great for sightseeing and using the train system was simple enough with the staff's wonderful guidance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

McGillins oldest Irish Pub around the corner was a fun way to begin our short stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coast-to-coast traveller
Scottsdale , AZ.
Jun 2, 2009

Residence Inn Center City

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
putida
Business
Fayetteville, AR
May 22, 2009

Not Bad

I wish I could more soundproof this hotel. Also, some of female staffs, not male staffs, were distinctly unfriendly towards us. Only good thing I would tell you is that the hotel did renovations and is close to shopping center. If you want to buy small souvenirs, bottle drinks or snacks, visit the gift shop located at the down-next of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No sales-tax for clothing. This is the greatest point on shopping. And some of luxurios brands are close to hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search