$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
View map of 1, East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 12, 2010

Army-Navy game 2010

Exceptionally clean room Room had everything we needed Very friendly staff Great breakfast spread Ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Free breakfast that is really a breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Em Butters
Business
Maryland
Nov 12, 2010

Great Girls Weekend

We booked this hotel because of the price and it was the only one we could find that had 2 queens and a sofabed. Traveling with 3 adults we all wanted our own bed. It was a little hard to find because everything was historic so there wasn't a big sign or anything, but once we got there we realized we were right next to Macy's. And walking distance from a lot of stores and restaurants. The view from our room was amazing! We were going to take the megabus up to New York the next day and had such a good time we decided not to leave and just hang out in Philly all day. The staff was very helpful, breakfast was good, all over great trip! OH and the beds had Tons of pillows and were super comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Look online for a restaurant and make reservations ahead of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Mountain
Business
Colorado
Nov 9, 2010

Center City Philadelphia

The Marriott Residence Inn is centrally located to experience what Philadelphia offers. For those who enjoy walking it is walkable to the historic district and to the art museum. I visited both. The Reading Terminal Market is a block away. The fact that breakfast was included was very convenient. Philadelphia makes for a great short visit. It is good restaurant town, has a great art museum, and U.S. history for the history buffs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Warmdaddy's for live blues music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Worcester, MA
Oct 18, 2010

Great location, friendly staff

My stay was very easy. Friendly staff, nice room equip with kitchen (I didn't have the chance to use it). The included breakfast was extensive and very good! Fantastic location- right around the corner from the subway and the convention center. I would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy the tourist
Business
Bloomington, MN
Sep 27, 2010

Location, location, location

The hotel was within walking distance of all of the tourist attractions. Very quiet with a nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Aug 19, 2010

Fair...look elsewhere

US History; Shopping and get-away for Mother-daughter were main reason for trip. Hotel staff did could not give us info re: History. Room was poorly maintained. Microwave cooked on HIGH even when on defrost setting. Moved chair and found the top off of someone else's Cheese Whiz. The ice maker dumped water and not frozen cubes. Worst was the cigarette smoke that came in when the A/C was running, especially through Bathroom ductwork. Then it would eventually dissipate. Had a sore throat for several days from the smoke smell. Maintenance staff came up one night but they could not smell anything. Homeless people abound in Philly. They leave their belongings all over the place. The Urine/feces smell is frequent on your walk throughout the city. Police on every other corner so you feel safe. Hotel is across from Penn Square--a beautiful city hall with amazing architecture. If you want to see amazing buildings...visit Philly. The Masonic Temple and many other buildings are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Station is a MUST. It has every imaginable food and market available. Several Philly Cheesesteak choices, Mexican, Italian, Pizza, Chinese, Sushi, American, donuts, cookies, candies--you name it--all under one roof including fresh seafood, meats, produce as well as dining areas. Starbucks and Duncan Donut are within 1 block. Macy's across the street. Burlington Coat factory about 2 blocks, Old Navy and other stores within 5 blocks. Expensive stores to the north about 3-5 blocks. Take the 125 or 124 bus to King of Prussia Mall--cost is $7 but they have over 350 stores including JCP, Macy, Bloomy's, Neiman Marcus and more! Olive Garden, Wendy's and McD is 1 block away. It's a long walk to Historical and waterfront area...if you are into History...stay in Historical area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmobes
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 13, 2010

great!

I chose to stay at this hotel instead of the hotel the conference I attended was being held at. I maid this choice because I have stayed at Residence Inns before and liked the actual feeling of being in a small apartment instead of a "hotel". Several of the attendees at my conference stated that they wished they had stayed at a different hotel because the hotel where the conference was at was too "pretenscious" and was trying to be too "high class" rather than comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always ask the front desk if ou have forgitten something - they know the closest location where you can find what you need. I had left my cell phone charger at home and they were able to direct me to a Verizon store within a block of the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MTBman
Business
Plano, Texas
Jul 6, 2010

Great location and accomodations

This residence Inn is a great location for experiencing and learning about early American history. Is is convient to many historical locations within walkind distance. The reading Terminal Market is a must stop along the way. We took the Big Bus Tour and ended up at the Zoo which is very good and on our return we stopped in at the Phidelphia Art Museum. My only negitive comment is about the location. Big city, and noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Check into the Philidelphia Pass for great discounts, the Big Bus Tour for getting around as well as the Philly Flash. Chech out the Reading Terminal Market for produce, sandwiches and lots more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
EL CAJON ,CA
Apr 21, 2010

GREAT LOCATION FOR THE PRICE.

I VISIT WITH FAMILY AND FRIENDS. SHOPPED AT MY FAVORITE STORE--MACY'S. I WAS BORN AND RAISED IN PHILLY. CAME HOME TO CELEBRATE MY 55th B-DAY. I HAD A WONDERFUL TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baltimore for business
Business
los angeles, ca
Feb 18, 2010

Super friendly staff

The staff here is really nice and the free breakfast is great. The only problem is really slow internet connection and the rooms are a bit small for a suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top