Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
1, East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
81 reviews
One Night Business Trip - Ideal Location

Great restaurants nearby, walking distance. Hotel staff was very friendly, forgot my toothbrush and... See full review

  • Benjamin DP
  • May 23, 2014
Fabulous Place to Stay!

I was so pleased with my stay at the Philadelphia Residence Inn! Not only did I have free wifi and... See full review

  • Harley Kit
  • Oct 14, 2013
All-Suites hotel in Center City with great location, generous amenities

A quick walk to the convention center, Reading Terminal Market and the cultural district, The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers guests spacious accommodations and plentiful amenities. The hotel is a home away from home, with studios and one-bedrooms, with some suites have full kitchens. In addition, guests enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free evening social events during the week. Other hotel amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access and laundry facilities.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast and evening social events
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers 290 nonsmoking suites in its 25-story building. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, pots, dishes and utensils. Separate areas for living, sleeping and working give guests room to relax. Standard amenities include premium bedding, complimentary high-speed Internet access, televisions with premium channels and an iron/ironing board. Request a higher floor for abundant light and views of the city and City Hall.

Features

The hotel offers many conveniences such as a grocery service, limo service, valet parking, laundry/dry cleaning services, and concierge services. Pets are allowed (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • City Hall (across the street)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sesame Place (22 mi/35.4 km)

 

Business
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Catering services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

 

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

39.9522 -75.1626
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Dec 12, 2010

Army-Navy game 2010

Exceptionally clean room Room had everything we needed Very friendly staff Great breakfast spread Ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Free breakfast that is really a breakfast

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Em Butters
Maryland
Nov 12, 2010

Great Girls Weekend

We booked this hotel because of the price and it was the only one we could find that had 2 queens and a sofabed. Traveling with 3 adults we all wanted our own bed. It was a little hard to find because everything was historic so there wasn't a big sign or anything, but once we got there we realized we were right next to Macy's. And walking distance from a lot of stores and restaurants. The view from our room was amazing! We were going to take the megabus up to New York the next day and had such a good time we decided not to leave and just hang out in Philly all day. The staff was very helpful, breakfast was good, all over great trip! OH and the beds had Tons of pillows and were super comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Look online for a restaurant and make reservations ahead of time.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Em Butters
Maryland
Nov 12, 2010

Great Girls Weekend

We booked this hotel because of the price and it was the only one we could find that had 2 queens and a sofabed. Traveling with 3 adults we all wanted our own bed. It was a little hard to find because everything was historic so there wasn't a big sign or anything, but once we got there we realized we were right next to Macy's. And walking distance from a lot of stores and restaurants. The view from our room was amazing! We were going to take the megabus up to New York the next day and had such a good time we decided not to leave and just hang out in Philly all day. The staff was very helpful, breakfast was good, all over great trip! OH and the beds had Tons of pillows and were super comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Look online for a restaurant and make reservations ahead of time.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Mountain
Colorado
Nov 9, 2010

Center City Philadelphia

The Marriott Residence Inn is centrally located to experience what Philadelphia offers. For those who enjoy walking it is walkable to the historic district and to the art museum. I visited both. The Reading Terminal Market is a block away. The fact that breakfast was included was very convenient. Philadelphia makes for a great short visit. It is good restaurant town, has a great art museum, and U.S. history for the history buffs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Warmdaddy's for live blues music.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Mountain
Colorado
Nov 9, 2010

Center City Philadelphia

The Marriott Residence Inn is centrally located to experience what Philadelphia offers. For those who enjoy walking it is walkable to the historic district and to the art museum. I visited both. The Reading Terminal Market is a block away. The fact that breakfast was included was very convenient. Philadelphia makes for a great short visit. It is good restaurant town, has a great art museum, and U.S. history for the history buffs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Warmdaddy's for live blues music.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Worcester, MA
Oct 18, 2010

Great location, friendly staff

My stay was very easy. Friendly staff, nice room equip with kitchen (I didn't have the chance to use it). The included breakfast was extensive and very good! Fantastic location- right around the corner from the subway and the convention center. I would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Worcester, MA
Oct 18, 2010

Great location, friendly staff

My stay was very easy. Friendly staff, nice room equip with kitchen (I didn't have the chance to use it). The included breakfast was extensive and very good! Fantastic location- right around the corner from the subway and the convention center. I would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy the tourist
Bloomington, MN
Sep 27, 2010

Location, location, location

The hotel was within walking distance of all of the tourist attractions. Very quiet with a nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy the tourist
Bloomington, MN
Sep 27, 2010

Location, location, location

The hotel was within walking distance of all of the tourist attractions. Very quiet with a nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missouri
Aug 19, 2010

Fair...look elsewhere

US History; Shopping and get-away for Mother-daughter were main reason for trip. Hotel staff did could not give us info re: History. Room was poorly maintained. Microwave cooked on HIGH even when on defrost setting. Moved chair and found the top off of someone else's Cheese Whiz. The ice maker dumped water and not frozen cubes. Worst was the cigarette smoke that came in when the A/C was running, especially through Bathroom ductwork. Then it would eventually dissipate. Had a sore throat for several days from the smoke smell. Maintenance staff came up one night but they could not smell anything. Homeless people abound in Philly. They leave their belongings all over the place. The Urine/feces smell is frequent on your walk throughout the city. Police on every other corner so you feel safe. Hotel is across from Penn Square--a beautiful city hall with amazing architecture. If you want to see amazing buildings...visit Philly. The Masonic Temple and many other buildings are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Station is a MUST. It has every imaginable food and market available. Several Philly Cheesesteak choices, Mexican, Italian, Pizza, Chinese, Sushi, American, donuts, cookies, candies--you name it--all under one roof including fresh seafood, meats, produce as well as dining areas. Starbucks and Duncan Donut are within 1 block. Macy's across the street. Burlington Coat factory about 2 blocks, Old Navy and other stores within 5 blocks. Expensive stores to the north about 3-5 blocks. Take the 125 or 124 bus to King of Prussia Mall--cost is $7 but they have over 350 stores including JCP, Macy, Bloomy's, Neiman Marcus and more! Olive Garden, Wendy's and McD is 1 block away. It's a long walk to Historical and waterfront area...if you are into History...stay in Historical area.

Back to menu Return to top