Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
View map of 1, East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
65 reviews
Business

The hotel was nice right in the center of town I was able to walk around and see a lot of the... See full review

  • carl s.
  • Jun 18, 2015
Awesome room and location

The hotel is in a very cool location! Close to shopping and restaurants. Clean and great value.... See full review

  • Hillary H.
  • Jan 9, 2015

A quick walk to the convention center, Reading Terminal Market and the cultural district, The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers guests spacious accommodations and plentiful amenities. The hotel is a home away from home, with studios and one-bedrooms, with some suites have full kitchens. In addition, guests enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free evening social events during the week. Other hotel amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access and laundry facilities.

Rooms

The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers 290 nonsmoking suites in its 25-story building. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, pots, dishes and utensils. Separate areas for living, sleeping and working give guests room to relax. Standard amenities include premium bedding, complimentary high-speed Internet access, televisions with premium channels and an iron/ironing board. Request a higher floor for abundant light and views of the city and City Hall.

Property features

The hotel offers many conveniences such as a grocery service, limo service, valet parking, laundry/dry cleaning services, and concierge services. Pets are allowed (fees apply).

 

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast and evening social events
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Nearby attractions
  • City Hall (across the street)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sesame Place (22 mi/35.4 km)

 

Business
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Catering services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

 

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

39.9522 -75.1626
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PLR traveling mon
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 8, 2012

Family trip

It took me a while to write this review, but I cant say enough nice things about this place. From the outside, I thought I had made a mistake, but once you step off the elevator it looks like a totally different place. We stayed for 5 days and had a hot breakfast everyday, they even offered snacks and a very light meal in the the evening, e.g. tossed salad, sandwich, etc. We were impressed, We were expecting cold cereal and fruit for breakfast but instead we were treated to a make your own waffle bar, potatoes, several choices of breakfast meats, juices, coffee, tea etc. The staff was fantastic. From the servers in the breakfast area, to the clerks in the lobby. I would definitely stay here again. This hotel is in the middle of the city right across from city hall. It is not even a half block from one of the main streets that you can take a bus from down to the historic section of Philadelphia, Liberty Bell, etc. If I ever go to Philadelphia again, I will stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Chris' Jazz Cafe is nearby, they have great acts at a great price. There are also museums and sculptings which are in walking distance of the hotel, one or two miles.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rafmod
Business
Modesto, CA
Oct 22, 2012

Conference trip

Very close to the Convention Center. Had everything I needed at a reasonable cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market for a quick lunch or groceries.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AT2306
Business
Montclair, NJ
Sep 4, 2012

Residence Inn

We loved our stay here and are looking to stay at more Residence Inns when we travel now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShopSher
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Aug 20, 2012

Can't Beat the Location for Business

The location is great for Center City - can grab bus, subway, taxi - anything from the hotel or 1-2 blocks away. The staff is really wonderful, breakfast area & bar pretty good, hotel clean. There are only 2 things that were kind of a bummer: 1) there is nowhere but Chili's to get room service from (and first night when I got in late and really needed that option, Chili's was not delivering). However, you are a HALF block from the enterance to the Marriott Courtyard and their restaurant was open late and very good - Residence Inn called over there for me and asked them to hold the kitchen open! 2) I could never get the room COLD (just mildly comfortable) - but I'm convinced that you never get COLD in a Philly hotel room in summer! So was happy to just be comfortable. Area is fine until late at night (where there isn't anyplace fine) and you can walk around. 7-Eleven next to front door, but not much in there. 2 blocks away is JFK & 15th or 16th and you can find everything from a bank, to a nail place, to clothing, to restaurants here. I come back for business a lot & would stay here again - love having a kitchen on long stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rittenhouse Square a 15 min walk - great restaurants & people-watching.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patty and Doug
Business
Maryland, USA
Jul 9, 2012

great trip for business and pleasure

very convenient location and wonderful full service hotel. Able to complete both business and touring easily from hotel location. Lots of great restaurants very close and not too far if wanting to visiti neighborhood specialties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Villa Di Roma

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
palomom
Business
aurora, MN
Jul 9, 2012

Right in the middle of everything !

I took my 14 year old granddaughter on a 5 day getaway in June. The Residence Inn is located right next to City Hall and we were within walking distance of many of Philadelphia's attractions. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially our floor maid, who always greeted us with a smile and notes left for us to have a nice day. The continental breakfast is on the 2nd floor and was very good. Since we were there 5 days, I noticed the menu didn't change very much, but there was a large enough selection to try something different now and then. The hotel is a $30 cab fare from the airport, and there was always one on hand. Checking in and out was super fast and easy, but I had done everything online beforehand. We were located on the 15th floor and at the end of the hallway, but our room was quiet and comfortable. The only small complaint I have, is the the bathrooms were a little small, but very clean. All in all, we had an excellent stay and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many attractions are within easy walking distance which saves on cab and subway fares. The Philadelphia Art Museum is about a mile away, but many things to see along the way, including the Franklin Institute, and it's a lovely walk down Franklin Parkway.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scottish Lady
Business
Scotland UK
Jun 9, 2012

excellent situation

Right in the centre, near trains, buses & trams. Airport train goes almost to the door. The kitchen and dining table is very convenient. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market for all kinds of food, cooked or to prepare yourself.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WATraveler
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Great Value for the Price

The hotel is nothing elaborate or fancy, but the rooms are very comfortable, the staff is exceptionally helpful, and all of the amenities (such as the continental breakfast) make your stay much nicer than an average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth
Aug 8, 2011

Great Personal Touch By Staff!

Went for a getaway weekend and anniversary. Great reception desk personnel. Walked to historic sites and great dining in the area from casual to fine steakhouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brazilian steak house has a great lunch special but be prepared to take a nap afterwards...you will leave very content.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newlyweds
Business
Waterford, Ireland
Jun 20, 2011

Excellent Hotel

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary. Our room was a King Bed Room and was on the corner of the building so we had lovely views. The hotel is directly across from City Hall which is a beautiful building. There is also a Macys store across the street. The location of the hotel is very convenient, and most attractions are within a coforatble walking distance. We did the open top bus tour which was a great way to see all the areas of the city. I would recomend that you do this in your first day or 2 so that you get your bearings. The staff were very helpful, and called the bus station for us regarding timetables to the shopping outlets. The philladelphia premium outlets are 2 hours away and you need to take 2 buses, but worth the trip if you love shooping. The King of Prussia Mall is more expensensive, but is just 30 mins away by bus. We also went to Franlkin Mills Mall which took about an hour by bus. All were very good. The bedroom was very spacious and had a fully fucntioning kitchen, dining table, couch, flat screen TV, huge King size bed and lovely ensuite. Extremely clean and modern, could not fault it. Breakfast was lovely, and was complementary. Overall we had a lovely stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus stop is just around the corner on Market Street and 13th Street.

Back to menu Return to top