Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
1, East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
66 reviews
THe best choice

I did select this hotel because; it has breakfast it has full kitchen it has internet When we... See full review

  • manuel64
  • Aug 19, 2014
Perfect Philly Vacation

This hotel is in perfect location, across from City Hall in Center City. Easy walk to all major... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 27, 2014
All-Suites hotel in Center City with great location, generous amenities

A quick walk to the convention center, Reading Terminal Market and the cultural district, The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers guests spacious accommodations and plentiful amenities. The hotel is a home away from home, with studios and one-bedrooms, with some suites have full kitchens. In addition, guests enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free evening social events during the week. Other hotel amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access and laundry facilities.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast and evening social events
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City offers 290 nonsmoking suites in its 25-story building. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, pots, dishes and utensils. Separate areas for living, sleeping and working give guests room to relax. Standard amenities include premium bedding, complimentary high-speed Internet access, televisions with premium channels and an iron/ironing board. Request a higher floor for abundant light and views of the city and City Hall.

Features

The hotel offers many conveniences such as a grocery service, limo service, valet parking, laundry/dry cleaning services, and concierge services. Pets are allowed (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • City Hall (across the street)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sesame Place (22 mi/35.4 km)

 

Business
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Catering services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

 

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

39.9522 -75.1626
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Benjamin DP
Business
Boston, MA
May 23, 2014

One Night Business Trip - Ideal Location

Great restaurants nearby, walking distance. Hotel staff was very friendly, forgot my toothbrush and had plenty in stock. The room was very clean, nice toiletries (Paul Mitchell), great downtown location. Not noisy at all where I was staying. Parking was a little expensive (parking garage nearby for $35 for 14 hours). Free breakfast was AWESOME. Lots of choices and it actually tasted very good. I would recommend this to anyone who needs to stay in Philly for business trips, book on this website because I received a great nightly rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penn Alum and Dad
Business
Richmond, VA
May 21, 2014

Convenient, convenient, convenient

The location of this hotel was perfect, and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was roomy and mostly comfortable. Our only complaint was that it was difficult to control the room temperature. It was either too cold or too stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ace1st
Business
South Florida
May 18, 2014

Great Experience

I was very pleased with the location and the cleanliness of the hotel. I really enjoyed my first time experience in the northeast region due to all the hotel attributes. Excellent proximity to the subway rail. I had my first experience in a subway and on a train. Downside to the hotel is that Philly is an old city so you will see mildew or algae on the outside of most tall buildings, which includes the windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sadhanna
Business
NYC
May 12, 2014

Good Choice

The staff and location are great. Lots to do around the area. The free breakfast is much less than impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The staff is pleasant and helpful. Use them to make your stay more pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Codirectior
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2014

Receipts

The hotel said that the chain does not give a full itemized bill for the room charges when you pre-pay through a travel service . Business travelers beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ana mom
Business
Detroit, MI
Dec 28, 2013

Disapointed mom

I was charged double when I did my check in and since it was during the holidays no one could take care of it. Vale parking is very expensive, and it sometimes took over 30 min wait to get the car. No cleaning the room for the holidays!! We had to take care of it. Terrible,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AZ Architect
Business
Arizona
Nov 23, 2013

Need to be close to convention

While it is nice that they offer a complimentary breakfast and dinner, it is not very good quality. Reminded me of hot lunch back in high school. The decor of the room appears to be from 1988 (maple cabinets that are actually trying to look line oak with cheap brass handles). But I would not write a bad review of the place if that was all I had to complain about. My first morning shower was done with no hot water. Well technically, there was almost warm water for about a minute before becoming ice cold. The next morning (after the engineer was sent to fix it) had the water switching from scalding to freezing, so I got to dance in and out for the precious moments of warm water. The third morning had no cold water. Not out of the shower, the bathroom sink or the kitchen sink. So the water was scalding hot and there was no way to shower at all. When checking out, I mentioned my problems and they could not offer me any compensation (other than a soda and some candy from the snack shop) because I bought through a third party. At least that was the claim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to the convention center, that is the only reason I would advise anyone consider this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harley Kit
Business
Idaho, USA
Oct 14, 2013

Fabulous Place to Stay!

I was so pleased with my stay at the Philadelphia Residence Inn! Not only did I have free wifi and breakfast, but I was also treated to their happy hour buffet as well - The service was exceptionally great! And I'd stay at this chain for every out of town meeting if they were all this awesome! :) The location to ALL of the convention centers as well as the historic part of down town couldn't be beat. Thank you to all the staff that made my stay perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to Independance Hall and the Liberty Bell, plus local shopping such as the Market Place and big box stores was super easy! Lots of informational signs were at the street intersections to let you know what direction to walk. Great place to visit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
greenlightning
Business
Dc
Oct 14, 2013

Ambience couldl be better

Wonderful freindly hard working staff Free but terrible breakfast. Good bsuiness center. Located a block form the Marriott and most downown events. The room was called a suite but a better name for this very small room with a refregerator would be an efficiency. But you get what you pay for and the room was very inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lucasgts
Business
nj
Oct 8, 2013

spacious clean and great location

Our stay was so enjoyable. The room was very clean and very spacious. The staff was friendly and professional. The location was central to where we wanted to go and explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top