$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
206 reviews
Good game experience

Flew in for Philadelphia Eagles opening day. Couldn't have had a better experience. Everything I... See full review

  • Makk Dogg
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great girls weekend

Spent 1 night for the flower show. Very comfortable! Wished there was a hot tub though. Overall a... See full review

  • Time well spent
  • Mar 10, 2014
Experience the famous birthplace of freedom, without wasting time in traffic, at the centrally located Philadelphia Marriott Downtown. With its skybridge to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, 72 meeting rooms, and impressive Grand Ballroom for events, business travelers have access to anything they could possibly want. The on-site Starbucks certainly doesn't hurt in the mornings, either. Guests staying for pleasure will find plenty in the classy environment of the Circ restaurant, comfy alfresco snacking on the 13 Terrace, or the taste of signature Chesapeake striped bass in 13 Restaurant. It doesn't have to be all about lazy days, however; the rowing machines at the Fitness Center and all-weather pool will make sure that visitors break a healthy sweat.
Key facts
  • 1,408 guestrooms
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor pool
  • Valet parking
  • Business Center
  • 8,547-square-feet of meeting space
  • 2 restaurants: 13 and Circ, with open-air terrace
  • On-site Starbucks cafe
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Conveniently located in downtown Philly, with the Pennsylvania Convention Center just around the corner and the Liberty Bell only eight blocks away, the Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia is ideally located in every way. SEPTA subway 13th street station is right across the street, as is the Reading Terminal Market, for the oldest consecutive running farmer's market in the nation (and where the Amish community comes to sell their produce). At night the city is all abuzz, with spectacular shows at the Forrest Theatre and plenty of excellent Center City restaurants in the hotel's direct vicinity.
Hints and tips
Valet parking can be fairly expensive and the valet bay is usually quite busy, so if you need directions, get them before you slide behind the wheel, because staff will try to get you going as soon as possible to clear the lane.

Dinner-wise, walk two blocks from the hotel and you'll be in the city's Chinatown district - an essential stop for authentic dim sum and other Asian fare.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9519 -75.1599
Area served
We are in the heart of Center City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Philadelphia Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Circ
One of the chic hotel restaurants in downtown Philadelphia, Circ serves as an urban retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city while offering guests signature cocktails and a menu filled with light snacks and tasty appetizers.
13 Restaurant
Serving American classics with a contemporary twist, 13 Restaurant's tantalizing menus feature something for everyone including seared filet mignon, grilled pork chops and Chesapeake striped bass for a tasty dining experience in downtown Philadelphia.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks® which provides busy travelers and locals with a convenient option over traditional downtown Philadelphia restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 206
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
foles
Business
Philadelphia,pa
Jan 25, 2014

not a good experience

Room had no heat;transferred to another room which was smaller;interrupted continously by room service before checkout

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Diamond620
Business
NY
Jun 27, 2013

BEDBUGS

Be aware of bedbugs at the hotel the coustermer service at the hotel dramatically changed after we informed the hotel of the bedbugs we found. They did not want to move our rooms and did not want to reinverse us for our nights stay the hotel staff seemed as they may have known about the bedbugs as it didn't seem to bother any of them at all. The lady at the claims department was very rude (Diane Bailey) Please do not stay at this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelller Travellling
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 14, 2012

Noisy cooling/heating in room

At all costs avoid staying in the adjoining building (Headhouse Tower). The cooling/heating system in the room is very noisy (about 55-60 decibels) and makes sleeping at night very difficult. My recommendation: call ahead and make sure they put you in the main building. No fridge in the room (at least in our room). Other than that, hotel is clean and nice (but we shouldn't have to pay for sleepless nights...)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, MI
Oct 11, 2009

Bed - ugh!!!

The bed had a very thick featherbed on top of the mattress. It had conformed to prior occupants so much so that it had a severe central depression. It gave the mattress the feel of sleeping on a bed which had contorted and conformed to an 800 pound person. In essence it was like sleeping on a swayback horse and was very uncomfortable. We removed it and the underlying mattress was better, but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Russ257
Business
Waterford, CT, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Issues

The pipes are loud and we experienced a TV outage on NYE for 15 hours, just when we wanted to crash and watch the ball drop. We did get to listen to the very loud water pipes groaning to break up the silence. However it is a clean and overall nice place. It's in a great location and staff were pleasant. Price was right in the package deal. Outage was probably a fluke, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capital Grille right around the corner, never disappoints. Stay away from Hard Rock right next door. And Circ in the lobby was good too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OregonLover
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 30, 2012

Great location

Hate having to pay for wi-fi when already paying a high price for the room -- and only one cup of in-room coffee in a 2-bed room -- seems insulting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carolina Belle
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 22, 2010

Great location, pricey valet.

Our experience with the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown was great with the exception of valet parking. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was nice (although I wish we had had a King instead of two doubles) and the bar at Circ was convenient. Unfortunately, our car keys were lost twice by the valet during our stay, resulting in us missing the wedding we traveled to Philadelphia for (from South Carolina) as well as missing our flight the next morning (and being stuck at the airport for 5 extra hours waiting on stand-by). If this mishap had not occurred, the trip would have been great, but the lack of diligence by the valet attendants made us miserable. If you stay at the Marriott Downtown and make use of their valet services, ensure that they know which keys are your keys before you leave your car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jul 8, 2009

Unbeatable location but bad room quality

Well we went to Philadelphia to attend a gathering in Convention center. As soon we reached the hotel we were delighted by knowing that the hotel is internally connected to the convention center, but our joy won't last for a long. We greatly struggled finding our room locations and there were nobody who can assist us till our hotel room. The room we stayed in was having a faulty flooring which was creating sound while walking. Though we were very busy we haven't complained!! Any ways the hotel is a bit old ..specially the bathrooms were not upto the class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DoubleJRZ
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 7, 2010

Could Use a Renovation

The rooms do not include refrigerators, the bathroom was old and outdated, the TV was not a flat screen and buzzed the entire time. However, the bed was very comfortable and it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pantophobia
Business
Alexandria, VA
Feb 28, 2011

Great location!

We booked this last minute after another vacation plan fell through. The location is amazing, right next to Reading Terminal Market. This isn't a fancy place--no flat screen TVs here--but all you're really doing is sleeping, right? The pool was fun, but unheated, and in Feb, it was a little chilly. I gave this place 3 stars because nothing really blew me away, but I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top