$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
301 reviews
Great girls weekend

Spent 1 night for the flower show. Very comfortable! Wished there was a hot tub though. Overall a... See full review

  • Time well spent
  • Mar 10, 2014
Fantastic getaway

The location is perfect. It's near Chinatown and all places of interest and also is near from... See full review

  • belindar
  • Mar 4, 2014
Experience the famous birthplace of freedom, without wasting time in traffic, at the centrally located Philadelphia Marriott Downtown. With its skybridge to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, 72 meeting rooms, and impressive Grand Ballroom for events, business travelers have access to anything they could possibly want. The on-site Starbucks certainly doesn't hurt in the mornings, either. Guests staying for pleasure will find plenty in the classy environment of the Circ restaurant, comfy alfresco snacking on the 13 Terrace, or the taste of signature Chesapeake striped bass in 13 Restaurant. It doesn't have to be all about lazy days, however; the rowing machines at the Fitness Center and all-weather pool will make sure that visitors break a healthy sweat.
Key facts
  • 1,408 guestrooms
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor pool
  • Valet parking
  • Business Center
  • 8,547-square-feet of meeting space
  • 2 restaurants: 13 and Circ, with open-air terrace
  • On-site Starbucks cafe
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Conveniently located in downtown Philly, with the Pennsylvania Convention Center just around the corner and the Liberty Bell only eight blocks away, the Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia is ideally located in every way. SEPTA subway 13th street station is right across the street, as is the Reading Terminal Market, for the oldest consecutive running farmer's market in the nation (and where the Amish community comes to sell their produce). At night the city is all abuzz, with spectacular shows at the Forrest Theatre and plenty of excellent Center City restaurants in the hotel's direct vicinity.
Hints and tips
Valet parking can be fairly expensive and the valet bay is usually quite busy, so if you need directions, get them before you slide behind the wheel, because staff will try to get you going as soon as possible to clear the lane.

Dinner-wise, walk two blocks from the hotel and you'll be in the city's Chinatown district - an essential stop for authentic dim sum and other Asian fare.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9519 -75.1599
Area served
We are in the heart of Center City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Philadelphia Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Circ
One of the chic hotel restaurants in downtown Philadelphia, Circ serves as an urban retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city while offering guests signature cocktails and a menu filled with light snacks and tasty appetizers.
13 Restaurant
Serving American classics with a contemporary twist, 13 Restaurant's tantalizing menus feature something for everyone including seared filet mignon, grilled pork chops and Chesapeake striped bass for a tasty dining experience in downtown Philadelphia.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks® which provides busy travelers and locals with a convenient option over traditional downtown Philadelphia restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cyasukot
Business
Lincoln, IL
Oct 26, 2009

Nice but Pricey

Nice location across from Reading Terminal Market. Bathrooms, though - low water pressure, leading to me never feeling clean for the 4 days I was there. Check out, concierge and staff worked well, friendly. Room service was good and while expensive, not as overpriced as some. Free internet - which was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit the Reading Terminal Market for snacks, lunches, gifts - much more varied, authentic and cheaper than gift shop or room service.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 12, 2010

A-ok

This hotel is a -ok. Nothing extraordinary and nothing so bad it's worth complaining about online. The best part for me was the location. It's easy to find from the airport. Either pre-arrange for a hotel shuttle ditctly with the hotel before you arrive or take the train from the airport to downtown, then switch to the metro. The metro stop is literally outside of the front door, which makes for easy acres to test of the city. Additionally, the hotel is within walking distance to rittenhouse square, which has a number of different bars and restaurants. It's also relatively close to Chinatown, which warrants a couple of hours of exploring. Finally, it's connected by skybrodge to the convention center, so it would be an exclent choice if you're in town for an event held there. While there's a starbucks and a hotel bar/restaurant in the lobby, dishing up mediocre hotel-quality food, you must walk across the street to reading terminal! There are multiple food stands with an immense selection of foods. Try it for breakfast or lunch. It reminded me of the diverse marketplace in Barcelona, a Philly gem. Otherthan that, the hotel was acceptably neat, clean, and quiet. The also allowed meticulous check-in early (11am) after I called and requested it. Thanks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
p.b.
steamboat springs, co
Nov 7, 2011

School Reunion

Sorry, but the hotel Lobby, entrance and innitial presentation was sub par. The room was nice but with no views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valencia, CA
May 29, 2009

Marriott Downtown Philly

Great location in Downtown, near all major sights and locales. In town for the first time for a college graduation. Loved the city and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TRIA Great wine bar with heavy apps, a hit with our entire party...

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midland, Texas
Sep 8, 2009

beautiful hotel...no hot tub??

the hotel itself was great...very beautiful, clean, and super friendly and helpful staff. i was disappointed that after a very long day traveling from texas to philadelphia there was no hot tub to get in and relax!! i definitely expected that for the price and the type of hotel. we also had a problem with valet losing our keys and taking approximately 15-20 minutes to find them and return our car to us while we were waiting to get back to the airport! luckily, we woke up in enough time to compensate for that!! overall, a great hotel and i would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stargazer 50
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Great location in Philly

This is a grand-type hotel with a large well-appointed front lobby and lounge area. The room was very good but the TV system didn't work on our second night. We've stayed a good number of Marriott franchise hotels and the room service is usually tops. However, the one breakfast we ordered wasn't what was described- "Kitchen-prepared" granola was "Kellogg's" in a box and "fresh berries" was a small plastic container with some thawed out strawberries. But if you are desirous of a great location in central Philly, this would serve you well. In the heart of the convention center and across from the Reading Mall, it offers a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lareina25
Long Island, NY
Jul 8, 2013

Family weekend getaway

The hotel was in a great location to see the historic sites of Philadelphia - about a 10 minute walk. Hotel was clean and comfortable with easy parking at the garage across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael8
Chicago, IL
Aug 27, 2012

Vacation weekend

The hotel is nice, clean, and conveniently located. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Philadelphia. That said, we were surprised to find that the only internet access available to guests was at a $15/day charge (with tax).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
lambertville, mi
May 17, 2009

comfort and convience. very helpful with

The central location of this motel was excellrnt. We are big museum "buffs". Right outside the hotel, there were many tours located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midland, Texas
Sep 8, 2009

beautiful hotel...no hot tub??

the hotel itself was great...very beautiful, clean, and super friendly and helpful staff. i was disappointed that after a very long day traveling from texas to philadelphia there was no hot tub to get in and relax!! i definitely expected that for the price and the type of hotel. we also had a problem with valet losing our keys and taking approximately 15-20 minutes to find them and return our car to us while we were waiting to get back to the airport! luckily, we woke up in enough time to compensate for that!! overall, a great hotel and i would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top