$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
301 reviews
Great girls weekend

Spent 1 night for the flower show. Very comfortable! Wished there was a hot tub though. Overall a... See full review

  • Time well spent
  • Mar 10, 2014
Fantastic getaway

The location is perfect. It's near Chinatown and all places of interest and also is near from... See full review

  • belindar
  • Mar 4, 2014
Experience the famous birthplace of freedom, without wasting time in traffic, at the centrally located Philadelphia Marriott Downtown. With its skybridge to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, 72 meeting rooms, and impressive Grand Ballroom for events, business travelers have access to anything they could possibly want. The on-site Starbucks certainly doesn't hurt in the mornings, either. Guests staying for pleasure will find plenty in the classy environment of the Circ restaurant, comfy alfresco snacking on the 13 Terrace, or the taste of signature Chesapeake striped bass in 13 Restaurant. It doesn't have to be all about lazy days, however; the rowing machines at the Fitness Center and all-weather pool will make sure that visitors break a healthy sweat.
Key facts
  • 1,408 guestrooms
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor pool
  • Valet parking
  • Business Center
  • 8,547-square-feet of meeting space
  • 2 restaurants: 13 and Circ, with open-air terrace
  • On-site Starbucks cafe
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Conveniently located in downtown Philly, with the Pennsylvania Convention Center just around the corner and the Liberty Bell only eight blocks away, the Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia is ideally located in every way. SEPTA subway 13th street station is right across the street, as is the Reading Terminal Market, for the oldest consecutive running farmer's market in the nation (and where the Amish community comes to sell their produce). At night the city is all abuzz, with spectacular shows at the Forrest Theatre and plenty of excellent Center City restaurants in the hotel's direct vicinity.
Hints and tips
Valet parking can be fairly expensive and the valet bay is usually quite busy, so if you need directions, get them before you slide behind the wheel, because staff will try to get you going as soon as possible to clear the lane.

Dinner-wise, walk two blocks from the hotel and you'll be in the city's Chinatown district - an essential stop for authentic dim sum and other Asian fare.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Philadelphia Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9519 -75.1599
Area served
We are in the heart of Center City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Circ
One of the chic hotel restaurants in downtown Philadelphia, Circ serves as an urban retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city while offering guests signature cocktails and a menu filled with light snacks and tasty appetizers.
13 Restaurant
Serving American classics with a contemporary twist, 13 Restaurant's tantalizing menus feature something for everyone including seared filet mignon, grilled pork chops and Chesapeake striped bass for a tasty dining experience in downtown Philadelphia.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks® which provides busy travelers and locals with a convenient option over traditional downtown Philadelphia restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asdfjkl;
Winston-Salem, NC
Jan 18, 2010

Not bad, not great

Hotel was very busy due to soccer coaches convention. We were not given a two-bed room as requested and had to sleep three people to a king bed as no cots available either. Room was not ready when we arrived to check in. Parking was very expensive at the hotel $36 + tax and not really cheaper nearby ($31). The hotel had no extras (free internet, flat screen TVs, in-room fridge, etc.) and the staff wasn't all that helpful when we asked for things. I honestly expected more from the Downtown Marriott--it was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of great restaurants within walking distance. My advice is to keep the car parked and walk--lots to eat within one mile from the hotel. Bindi has great Indian food (13th Street towards Sansom)--but take cash, credit cards not accepted.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pizzaqueen
Wheeling, WV
Jan 14, 2014

Girls getaway

Was hoping for more amenities. Coffee in room could have been better for the caliber of Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Dec 10, 2010

Pricey

Ordinary accomodations for a huge price. No complimentary airport shuttle. I must say, however that the front desk personnel were exceptional and accomodating. I would recommend IF a friend REALLY had to stay downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerTy
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 7, 2010

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

High Prices! BUT - very friendly staff that was knowledgeable, polite, spoke AMERICAN English and were empowered to make decisions (didn't have to run to management every 5 seconds). However, although the on-site staff were great, the reservations staff were not great. I was there for a conference. When booking the room, was told I did not have a conference rate, as it was only for partners of the organization. Come to find out, EVERYONE was eligible for the rate - had to go back to Marriott business services to get partial refund. .. . very accommodating, but extra time had to be spent, nonetheless. The rooms were decent - not a "wow" factor when you walked in (it smelled like Grandma's old apartment) - clean, but smaller than what we're used to in this day in age (granted the hotel was built years ago when hotel rooms didn't have to be huge with high ceilings, etc.) I was just expecting something a little more lavish for the prices I was quoted. But the location was great! Right in the center of it all! Center City - a great place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Philly has a GREAT walking tour. It's free! Something to take in warmer weather as it ends up being a few miles. Not bad - a great way to get the daily exercise, but will be more enjoyable in weather with temperatures above 50. Local restaurants were decently priced too - nothing outrageous like you find in other major cities!

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Billings, MT
Jun 11, 2009

Philadelphia Dowtowm Marriott

I was only there for one night. Marriott put me in a room right next to the ice machine (a little noisy). I had to use their parking garage to park my car at a charge of $36/day (kind of shock), a hotel that won't even let you park your own car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard. A Tired Traveler.
Business
Lake Tahoe .
Feb 21, 2011

Mixed Review.

Hotel is fine as a convention center type hotel. Unfortunately, a large Birthday party was being held in a suite next to my room and it sounded like 10-20 women screaming at the top of their lungs, using many obscenities! I had to call security several times between 2:30 and 4:15 AM. The noise finally abated around 5:00 AM. This occurred on my third night. My first two nights were fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Market is across the street and great for light meals or light shopping. It is the oldest urban farmers market in America.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard. A Tired Traveler.
Business
Lake Tahoe .
Feb 21, 2011

Mixed Review.

Hotel is fine as a convention center type hotel. Unfortunately, a large Birthday party was being held in a suite next to my room and it sounded like 10-20 women screaming at the top of their lungs, using many obscenities! I had to call security several times between 2:30 and 4:15 AM. The noise finally abated around 5:00 AM. This occurred on my third night. My first two nights were fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Market is across the street and great for light meals or light shopping. It is the oldest urban farmers market in America.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asdfjkl;
Winston-Salem, NC
Jan 18, 2010

Not bad, not great

Hotel was very busy due to soccer coaches convention. We were not given a two-bed room as requested and had to sleep three people to a king bed as no cots available either. Room was not ready when we arrived to check in. Parking was very expensive at the hotel $36 + tax and not really cheaper nearby ($31). The hotel had no extras (free internet, flat screen TVs, in-room fridge, etc.) and the staff wasn't all that helpful when we asked for things. I honestly expected more from the Downtown Marriott--it was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of great restaurants within walking distance. My advice is to keep the car parked and walk--lots to eat within one mile from the hotel. Bindi has great Indian food (13th Street towards Sansom)--but take cash, credit cards not accepted.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZorroAta
Business
Boulder, CO
Dec 3, 2012

Good Lacation

The hotel is centrally located, close to almost everything. ( The Market, where you can eat very affordable food!). I was not impressed by the hotel itself. There is nothing special in the bedroom. But the staff were very polite and professional. Overall, you pay for the location and nothing else. I was there just because my company paid for my stay. I would recommend it just for the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat for less at the Market, just accross the street! Also, you can avoid paying for the Internet ($12, 99) by going at Starbucks on the first floor to check your email (with your personal device- laptop, Ipad, etc.)

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples Florda
Oct 17, 2010

Excellent location

Excellent. The room was clean, the staff was very efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top