$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ljfleisch
Business
Charlottesville, VA
May 5, 2014

We were delighted

The Philadelphia Marriott was a perfect hotel for our long weekend in Philly! We were able to walk to all our favorite venues and restaurants from the hotel: Philadelphia Orchestra at Kimmel Center; the Philadelphia & Rodin Museums; the South Street Festival; the Magic Gardens on South Street; Chris' Jazz Club on Sansom St.; Estia Restaurant on Locust; green Eggs on 13th St; Foods on a First on Arch St; Redding Market; St Peter and Paul Cathedral; plus many more. The room was very comfortable and had a great view of City Hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend all of the restaurants I mentioned above.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Mar 23, 2010

Enjoyable experience

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were a good size and the staff was very friendly. The concierge service was fantastic - he booked us reservations at a delicious locally-owned establishment within walking distance. And if you decide to eat in the hotel the in-house restaurant had good food at high, but reasonable, prices. The conference facilities were comfortable. The only downside was a local high school had a formal Saturday night and were running up and down the halls all night long!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
History Buffs
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Walking the Revolution

The reason for our trip was to learn about American history. Although the walk to the Independence Hall Visitor's Center was about seven blocks, we walked it each day. From there, we went to the Constitution Center, the President's House, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Carpenter's Hall, the First and Second Banks in the U.S., Washington Square, Franklin Court and the Betsy Ross House. We ate at City Tavern. In each of these places, we touched the same had railing and ate at the same tables as Washington and Franklin. The best part about the hotel was that the beautiful 1860's City Hall was right outside our window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

No City Hall tours on weekends of holidays. Penn Square was closed at 4 p.m. on Sunday before Labor Day for a private party. Most of the Revolutionary War sites in Germantown were closed on Labor Day, but Cliveden was open. Our tour book suggested we begin that walk closer to town, but I suggest beginning at Cliveden and walk toward downtown, then ride the bus when you feel the surroundings getting dangerous. Some historical sites are in a questionable neighborhood. The city bus came right to the front of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pine Valley
Business
NYC
Oct 24, 2011

Comforts of home on a business trip!

Friendly, clean, quiet. Hotel is in the middle of the action and within walking distance to business venues. Had breakfast at Redding Market which is right across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CP18
Business
Chicago
Nov 1, 2011

Great Rooms and Location, but High Charges for Internet

Room was comfortable and location was great. The room was clean and the staff was very friiendly and quick to assist with anything you needed. The place looks great and has been recently rennovated, awesome place to stay. The only real complaint I have is more of an irritance than anything. This place is connected to the convention center, which means a majority of their guests are there for business and have work to do while they are there. Myself being one of those guests, was a little irritated to discover you had to pay to use the internet in your room. In the convention center, I was able to access the internet for no charge, but once I crossed the lobby into the rooms, I needed to pony up some cash. And they wanted 12.95 per day for slow speed or 14.95 per day for high speed. Besides having to work off my phone because I could not justify the cost for a few minutes of work here and there, this bugged me for another reason. The cable line coming into the rooms was delayed and spotty. I wanted to use my laptop to access some movies I had saved on a cloud, but I could not do this without paying more than it would have cost me to rent a movie from the hotel. It is bad enough that hotels are charging for internet on top of the high rates you already pay just to stay there, but 12.95 per day is a bit much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ErikN
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Nov 16, 2011

In the heart of Philly

I went on a business trip with a few destinations around Philadelphia. The Marriott Downtown was centrally located for my business needs and a close walk to a major train depot for SEPTA trains. Only draw back was that I didn't like how a major hotel would charge extra for internet usage when it's tailored for business travelers. Overall, hassle-free convenience when traveling Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BethS.
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Fantastic Location!

The location of this Marriott can't be beat. It's within walking distance of everything in Philly. The only thing that would make it better is free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rittenhouse Square! All the good shops are a few blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JadedGirl
Business
Roanoke, VA, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Event Weekend

We stayed three nights at the Downtown Marriott and were very pleased with the experience. Most of the staff were beyond courteous and extremely helpful. We did encounter two employees (front desk and concierge) that came across very snooty and condescending. The location is dead in the heart of the city center with restaurants within walking distance. The room was more than comfy and furnished in a sleek contemporary motif. Room service was timely and the food was good. Housekeeping was efficient, thorough and more than willing to accommodate any request. Parking was (in my opinion) overpriced. Most cities charge $12 to $15 per day for parking. In Hawaii I only payed $25 per day for parking yet this hotel charges guests almost $46 a day to park. We took the money we would have spent on parking and applied it toward airline tickets to fly and save us the hassle of driving seven hours. Overall, I would highly recommend the hotel to other potential guests as the hotel has a nice ambiance and flair with well-appointed rooms and the location is in the middle of the city close to attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stargazer 50
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Great location in Philly

This is a grand-type hotel with a large well-appointed front lobby and lounge area. The room was very good but the TV system didn't work on our second night. We've stayed a good number of Marriott franchise hotels and the room service is usually tops. However, the one breakfast we ordered wasn't what was described- "Kitchen-prepared" granola was "Kellogg's" in a box and "fresh berries" was a small plastic container with some thawed out strawberries. But if you are desirous of a great location in central Philly, this would serve you well. In the heart of the convention center and across from the Reading Mall, it offers a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SLD74
Business
Bath, New York
Mar 12, 2012

Weekend getaway to the Flower Festival

We had a great time! The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was nice and clean. It was very convenient having the skywalk attached to the Convention Center. The only complaint would be the high cost for parking and having to pay for internet. But overall, we had a great time and would definitely book with this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top