$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
301 reviews
Great girls weekend

Spent 1 night for the flower show. Very comfortable! Wished there was a hot tub though. Overall a... See full review

  • Time well spent
  • Mar 10, 2014
Fantastic getaway

The location is perfect. It's near Chinatown and all places of interest and also is near from... See full review

  • belindar
  • Mar 4, 2014
Experience the famous birthplace of freedom, without wasting time in traffic, at the centrally located Philadelphia Marriott Downtown. With its skybridge to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, 72 meeting rooms, and impressive Grand Ballroom for events, business travelers have access to anything they could possibly want. The on-site Starbucks certainly doesn't hurt in the mornings, either. Guests staying for pleasure will find plenty in the classy environment of the Circ restaurant, comfy alfresco snacking on the 13 Terrace, or the taste of signature Chesapeake striped bass in 13 Restaurant. It doesn't have to be all about lazy days, however; the rowing machines at the Fitness Center and all-weather pool will make sure that visitors break a healthy sweat.
Key facts
  • 1,408 guestrooms
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor pool
  • Valet parking
  • Business Center
  • 8,547-square-feet of meeting space
  • 2 restaurants: 13 and Circ, with open-air terrace
  • On-site Starbucks cafe
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Conveniently located in downtown Philly, with the Pennsylvania Convention Center just around the corner and the Liberty Bell only eight blocks away, the Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia is ideally located in every way. SEPTA subway 13th street station is right across the street, as is the Reading Terminal Market, for the oldest consecutive running farmer's market in the nation (and where the Amish community comes to sell their produce). At night the city is all abuzz, with spectacular shows at the Forrest Theatre and plenty of excellent Center City restaurants in the hotel's direct vicinity.
Hints and tips
Valet parking can be fairly expensive and the valet bay is usually quite busy, so if you need directions, get them before you slide behind the wheel, because staff will try to get you going as soon as possible to clear the lane.

Dinner-wise, walk two blocks from the hotel and you'll be in the city's Chinatown district - an essential stop for authentic dim sum and other Asian fare.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Philadelphia Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9519 -75.1599
Area served
We are in the heart of Center City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Circ
One of the chic hotel restaurants in downtown Philadelphia, Circ serves as an urban retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city while offering guests signature cocktails and a menu filled with light snacks and tasty appetizers.
13 Restaurant
Serving American classics with a contemporary twist, 13 Restaurant's tantalizing menus feature something for everyone including seared filet mignon, grilled pork chops and Chesapeake striped bass for a tasty dining experience in downtown Philadelphia.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks® which provides busy travelers and locals with a convenient option over traditional downtown Philadelphia restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Russ257
Waterford, CT, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Issues

The pipes are loud and we experienced a TV outage on NYE for 15 hours, just when we wanted to crash and watch the ball drop. We did get to listen to the very loud water pipes groaning to break up the silence. However it is a clean and overall nice place. It's in a great location and staff were pleasant. Price was right in the package deal. Outage was probably a fluke, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capital Grille right around the corner, never disappoints. Stay away from Hard Rock right next door. And Circ in the lobby was good too.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Dec 10, 2010

Pricey

Ordinary accomodations for a huge price. No complimentary airport shuttle. I must say, however that the front desk personnel were exceptional and accomodating. I would recommend IF a friend REALLY had to stay downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Jul 19, 2010

Centrally located. Helpful staff

We were in Philadelphia for a wedding. Hotel was close to train station and many desirable visitor sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the SEPTA to travel when you can. Great resource

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stomatta
Ithaca, NY
Oct 12, 2009

Probably wouldn't stay again

The staff (unapologetically) informed us that our room was not ready when we arrived. They refused to give us an estimate as to how long it would take to get it ready. We left our cell number and they were supposed to call and let us know. We checked every half hour for an hour and a half. The last time we checked they said the room was ready though they never bothered to call us. This killed our early evening plans. The staff didn't apologize or even act the slightest bit concerned. Also, we were forced to leave our bags with the bell staff who then expected a tip for holding the bags. This was an unnecessary cost. Again, Marriot couldn't care less. The room was nice but there was no wireless internet and you have to pay $13 for wired internet and long distance phone calls. The TV was a 25" CRT dinosaur. Do they realize what year this is? Also, no free breakfast and I'm sure I read that in the description the room included breakfast for up to 2 adults and 2 children. The Hilton Garden we stayed at 2 weeks before was cheaper, in the same area and, included everything the Marriot didn't. I Cannot recommend the Marriot, unless you enjoy paying more for less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is two blocks away. Great food there! Hotel is close to many attractions.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 29, 2010

it's ok

I stayed here for two nights because there was a conference at this hotel and I needed to attend it. It was basically fine -- the room is very clean, and for us who are attending the conference, of course, it's extremely convenient. I had one problem, though. When I was checking out, I needed to get a receipt because it was a business trip and I had to turn it in to the office (to show that I was really staying there). But the guy who checked me out did not give me a receipt. I asked for it two times, but he said because I booked it thru [...], the receipt should be in the e-mail from [...], and they cannot give it to me. I also asked him whether I can contact them if I can't find the receipt in my e-mail, but he was not at all kind, and it really made my impression of this hotel bad.I guess, if it's not expensive, I can kind of let it slide, but when you're paying nearly $200 a night, I'd expect a little better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ship Nut
Austin, TX
Dec 2, 2010

Nice Place

The hotel was really nice. I have only one complaint. I was trying to get to the Battleship New Jersey, I didn't have a rental car, and the River Taxi wasn't in service. The Concierge recommended taking the PETCO train to Camden and getting on the River Line to the Aquarium... Only problem was that the train stop in Camden was not only in the [*]but the River Line was 2 blocks from the PETCO station and there was no signs on how to get there. I'm from the New Orleans area and have been in/through many of the [*] in New Orleans and none were this bad. I was freaked out to be sent through such a place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market has awesome food, good prices and is across the street, you can't go wrong eating there!

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norwalk Ct
Feb 22, 2010

philly

great location..bathroom filthy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kenosha, WI
Jul 5, 2010

Philly Marriott Downton

Bed not very comfortable; foam pad laid on top of mattress insead of a new matress with attached foam top. Room wasn't cleaned until after 4 each day. No flat screen TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell and other historic attractions. If yu have a Medicare card, you can ride a trolley (Flash?) for free

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ship Nut
Austin, TX
Dec 2, 2010

Nice Place

The hotel was really nice. I have only one complaint. I was trying to get to the Battleship New Jersey, I didn't have a rental car, and the River Taxi wasn't in service. The Concierge recommended taking the PETCO train to Camden and getting on the River Line to the Aquarium... Only problem was that the train stop in Camden was not only in the [*]but the River Line was 2 blocks from the PETCO station and there was no signs on how to get there. I'm from the New Orleans area and have been in/through many of the [*] in New Orleans and none were this bad. I was freaked out to be sent through such a place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market has awesome food, good prices and is across the street, you can't go wrong eating there!

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stomatta
Ithaca, NY
Oct 12, 2009

Probably wouldn't stay again

The staff (unapologetically) informed us that our room was not ready when we arrived. They refused to give us an estimate as to how long it would take to get it ready. We left our cell number and they were supposed to call and let us know. We checked every half hour for an hour and a half. The last time we checked they said the room was ready though they never bothered to call us. This killed our early evening plans. The staff didn't apologize or even act the slightest bit concerned. Also, we were forced to leave our bags with the bell staff who then expected a tip for holding the bags. This was an unnecessary cost. Again, Marriot couldn't care less. The room was nice but there was no wireless internet and you have to pay $13 for wired internet and long distance phone calls. The TV was a 25" CRT dinosaur. Do they realize what year this is? Also, no free breakfast and I'm sure I read that in the description the room included breakfast for up to 2 adults and 2 children. The Hilton Garden we stayed at 2 weeks before was cheaper, in the same area and, included everything the Marriot didn't. I Cannot recommend the Marriot, unless you enjoy paying more for less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is two blocks away. Great food there! Hotel is close to many attractions.

Back to menu Return to top