$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OregonLover
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 30, 2012

Great location

Hate having to pay for wi-fi when already paying a high price for the room -- and only one cup of in-room coffee in a 2-bed room -- seems insulting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZorroAta
Business
Boulder, CO
Dec 3, 2012

Good Lacation

The hotel is centrally located, close to almost everything. ( The Market, where you can eat very affordable food!). I was not impressed by the hotel itself. There is nothing special in the bedroom. But the staff were very polite and professional. Overall, you pay for the location and nothing else. I was there just because my company paid for my stay. I would recommend it just for the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat for less at the Market, just accross the street! Also, you can avoid paying for the Internet ($12, 99) by going at Starbucks on the first floor to check your email (with your personal device- laptop, Ipad, etc.)

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob Zane
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 31, 2013

Marriott hotel -

The hotel is pretty big.the location is nice. However, the service and availability are not to the level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha, WI
Jul 5, 2010

Philly Marriott Downton

Bed not very comfortable; foam pad laid on top of mattress insead of a new matress with attached foam top. Room wasn't cleaned until after 4 each day. No flat screen TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell and other historic attractions. If yu have a Medicare card, you can ride a trolley (Flash?) for free

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carolina Belle
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 22, 2010

Great location, pricey valet.

Our experience with the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown was great with the exception of valet parking. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was nice (although I wish we had had a King instead of two doubles) and the bar at Circ was convenient. Unfortunately, our car keys were lost twice by the valet during our stay, resulting in us missing the wedding we traveled to Philadelphia for (from South Carolina) as well as missing our flight the next morning (and being stuck at the airport for 5 extra hours waiting on stand-by). If this mishap had not occurred, the trip would have been great, but the lack of diligence by the valet attendants made us miserable. If you stay at the Marriott Downtown and make use of their valet services, ensure that they know which keys are your keys before you leave your car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Jun 22, 2009

Located near the convention center...

I stayed here while at a convention; it was conveniently located next to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and also near the Reading Terminal Market. I found the bed to be really uncomfortable, but the room was clean and sufficient for my needs. The rooms were not nearly as nice as the rest of the hotel and I felt the price was slightly high considering the room, but I would probably stay there again if I couldn't find a better deal and was attending a conference at the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 29, 2010

it's ok

I stayed here for two nights because there was a conference at this hotel and I needed to attend it. It was basically fine -- the room is very clean, and for us who are attending the conference, of course, it's extremely convenient. I had one problem, though. When I was checking out, I needed to get a receipt because it was a business trip and I had to turn it in to the office (to show that I was really staying there). But the guy who checked me out did not give me a receipt. I asked for it two times, but he said because I booked it thru [...], the receipt should be in the e-mail from [...], and they cannot give it to me. I also asked him whether I can contact them if I can't find the receipt in my e-mail, but he was not at all kind, and it really made my impression of this hotel bad.I guess, if it's not expensive, I can kind of let it slide, but when you're paying nearly $200 a night, I'd expect a little better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jul 8, 2009

Unbeatable location but bad room quality

Well we went to Philadelphia to attend a gathering in Convention center. As soon we reached the hotel we were delighted by knowing that the hotel is internally connected to the convention center, but our joy won't last for a long. We greatly struggled finding our room locations and there were nobody who can assist us till our hotel room. The room we stayed in was having a faulty flooring which was creating sound while walking. Though we were very busy we haven't complained!! Any ways the hotel is a bit old ..specially the bathrooms were not upto the class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DoubleJRZ
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 7, 2010

Could Use a Renovation

The rooms do not include refrigerators, the bathroom was old and outdated, the TV was not a flat screen and buzzed the entire time. However, the bed was very comfortable and it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerTy
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 7, 2010

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

High Prices! BUT - very friendly staff that was knowledgeable, polite, spoke AMERICAN English and were empowered to make decisions (didn't have to run to management every 5 seconds). However, although the on-site staff were great, the reservations staff were not great. I was there for a conference. When booking the room, was told I did not have a conference rate, as it was only for partners of the organization. Come to find out, EVERYONE was eligible for the rate - had to go back to Marriott business services to get partial refund. .. . very accommodating, but extra time had to be spent, nonetheless. The rooms were decent - not a "wow" factor when you walked in (it smelled like Grandma's old apartment) - clean, but smaller than what we're used to in this day in age (granted the hotel was built years ago when hotel rooms didn't have to be huge with high ceilings, etc.) I was just expecting something a little more lavish for the prices I was quoted. But the location was great! Right in the center of it all! Center City - a great place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Philly has a GREAT walking tour. It's free! Something to take in warmer weather as it ends up being a few miles. Not bad - a great way to get the daily exercise, but will be more enjoyable in weather with temperatures above 50. Local restaurants were decently priced too - nothing outrageous like you find in other major cities!

Back to menu Return to top