$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YireneY
Business
Central CT
Jan 4, 2014

Philly New Years & Mummer parade

Hotel was huge & well appointed. Beds were extremely comfortable & room was spacious & very clean. We were on 19th floor & fire alarm went off in the wee hours of the morning but mgmt was able to determine it was false alarm & announce over speakers before we started down the 19 flights of stairs. Would not have hesitated to evacuate but was grateful we didn't have to since it was in the temp was single digits. Reading Terminal Market across street & lots of regional dining. Maggiano's is on the corner & has excellent Italian dishes & great service. We enjoyed the Mummers parade & competition @ PCC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tip: ask if convention center event will have access through hotel walkway. We chose hotel because it had a walkway to convention center. Unfortunately the event was not accessible thru this walkway & we had to return to rooms for coats to go out on street & stand in line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gallerygal
Business
Long Grove, IL
Jan 22, 2014

Just what I needed...

Everything about the stay was just fine. If it weren't for the fact I have had the good fortune to stay in truly luxury hotels, I would have scored higher. No complaints from this guest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China town in a couple of blocks away and I ate there with a friend. It was great and inexpensive!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Royston
Business
Down town philly
Feb 17, 2014

Fantastic Valentine stay

had a great time. The concierge were great and funny. They provided great service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CS2340
Business
philadelphia pa
Feb 25, 2014

Great Stay

I stayed with a few girlfriends for a night out on the town. It is in a great location close to many restaurants and bars. We had a great time and no problems at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reasonable Expectations
Business
Marriott Downtown Philadelphia
Mar 11, 2014

Very good location but....

The lobby is not very inviting to sit and relax in especially for a family with children. Concerning staff- -Except for the very personable doorman and hardworking room housekeeper, several of the front desk agents did not seem genuinely happy to be helpful (even somewhat condescending) when we inquired where there may be a more reasonably priced parking lot than the closest one which charges $50 per day, and where there may be a reasonably priced nice place to eat after the Terminal Reading Market has closed for the day. We also chose this hotel for the indoor pool that we knew our son would enjoy. But after arrival we were told that only lap swimming was allowed. My son used the pool anyway but did not, due the lap rule, enjoy himself as much as he normally does playing in a pool. We also did not like that the hotel charged $12 plus each day for any wifi / internet use. Isn't free wifi and internet these days considered a standard amenity? Concerning Location -- the hotel itself is conveniently located within walking, busing, or subway to many noteworthy places and best of all, right across the street from the wonderful terminal Reading Market where we are almost every meal. The location downside: The sad and disturbing downside: too many seemingly homeless people in the blocks surrounding the hotel, and the public areas need to be better cleaned and maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Occasional trekker
Business
New Jersey
Mar 13, 2014

Comfortable stay

The Philadelphia Marriott Downtown is a great location for those attending an event at the Philadelphia Convention Center, which is attached to the hotel. It's also across the street from Reading Terminal Market, which offers a great variety of food options for those staying at the hotel (morning, lunch, and early evening). The hotel room itself was fine-- clean, roomy, and relatively new.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Yorker Mom
Business
New York, NY
Mar 24, 2014

Overnight in Philly

The Marriott was centrally located and within walking distance to all of the attractions we wanted to see. The hotel had all of the amenities you would expect. Staff was friendly and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hate flying
Business
WallaWalla Washington
Apr 26, 2014

Good location

Enjoyed the hotel but was not overly happy with the restraunt in the hotel the prices were high and the food was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely visit reading terminal shopping center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ljfleisch
Business
Charlottesville, VA
May 5, 2014

We were delighted

The Philadelphia Marriott was a perfect hotel for our long weekend in Philly! We were able to walk to all our favorite venues and restaurants from the hotel: Philadelphia Orchestra at Kimmel Center; the Philadelphia & Rodin Museums; the South Street Festival; the Magic Gardens on South Street; Chris' Jazz Club on Sansom St.; Estia Restaurant on Locust; green Eggs on 13th St; Foods on a First on Arch St; Redding Market; St Peter and Paul Cathedral; plus many more. The room was very comfortable and had a great view of City Hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend all of the restaurants I mentioned above.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Mar 23, 2010

Enjoyable experience

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were a good size and the staff was very friendly. The concierge service was fantastic - he booked us reservations at a delicious locally-owned establishment within walking distance. And if you decide to eat in the hotel the in-house restaurant had good food at high, but reasonable, prices. The conference facilities were comfortable. The only downside was a local high school had a formal Saturday night and were running up and down the halls all night long!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top