$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luv Kids More M Chocolate
Business
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Sep 18, 2012

A Great Get-Away!

From the front door greeting to the final farewell, the staff at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown went out of their way to accommodate and please each guest. The hotel itself was immaculately maintained and beautifully appointed. The bed and angel pillows made an incredible and welcome night's sleep. I can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal Market - a city block of flavors, smells, foods and the hustle of folks from around the world enjoying foods, groceries, music and FUN! A Must See and Experience! Great value. Closes at 6 PM, 5 Sunday

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ErikN
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Nov 16, 2011

In the heart of Philly

I went on a business trip with a few destinations around Philadelphia. The Marriott Downtown was centrally located for my business needs and a close walk to a major train depot for SEPTA trains. Only draw back was that I didn't like how a major hotel would charge extra for internet usage when it's tailored for business travelers. Overall, hassle-free convenience when traveling Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BethS.
Couples
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Fantastic Location!

The location of this Marriott can't be beat. It's within walking distance of everything in Philly. The only thing that would make it better is free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rittenhouse Square! All the good shops are a few blocks from the hotel.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JadedGirl
Family
Roanoke, VA, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Event Weekend

We stayed three nights at the Downtown Marriott and were very pleased with the experience. Most of the staff were beyond courteous and extremely helpful. We did encounter two employees (front desk and concierge) that came across very snooty and condescending. The location is dead in the heart of the city center with restaurants within walking distance. The room was more than comfy and furnished in a sleek contemporary motif. Room service was timely and the food was good. Housekeeping was efficient, thorough and more than willing to accommodate any request. Parking was (in my opinion) overpriced. Most cities charge $12 to $15 per day for parking. In Hawaii I only payed $25 per day for parking yet this hotel charges guests almost $46 a day to park. We took the money we would have spent on parking and applied it toward airline tickets to fly and save us the hassle of driving seven hours. Overall, I would highly recommend the hotel to other potential guests as the hotel has a nice ambiance and flair with well-appointed rooms and the location is in the middle of the city close to attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stargazer 50
Couples
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Great location in Philly

This is a grand-type hotel with a large well-appointed front lobby and lounge area. The room was very good but the TV system didn't work on our second night. We've stayed a good number of Marriott franchise hotels and the room service is usually tops. However, the one breakfast we ordered wasn't what was described- "Kitchen-prepared" granola was "Kellogg's" in a box and "fresh berries" was a small plastic container with some thawed out strawberries. But if you are desirous of a great location in central Philly, this would serve you well. In the heart of the convention center and across from the Reading Mall, it offers a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SLD74
Friends
Bath, New York
Mar 12, 2012

Weekend getaway to the Flower Festival

We had a great time! The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was nice and clean. It was very convenient having the skywalk attached to the Convention Center. The only complaint would be the high cost for parking and having to pay for internet. But overall, we had a great time and would definitely book with this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonoprofessor
Family
Maywood, NJ, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Comfortable stay

The hotel was wonderful. We were allowed to check in very early which was great. The room was comfortable, clean, and condusive to relaxation. The one and only drawback was the valet parking. We were told when we left our car to call ahead 10 minutes before and our car would be waiting for us. Just prior to checkout I called but was told that I would need to bring my claim check to the valet. Once downstairs I was told that there was a 30 to 40 minute wait for my car. Bad ending to an otherwise wonderful experioence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gerdu
Single
martha'a vineyard
May 14, 2012

weekend family reunion

train from airport took me directly to this hotel. Perfect! Room available as stated. Clean convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take the train from the airport

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unci Mark
Family
Las Vegas NV
May 17, 2012

Great location

Could not get much better for location. Subway just out the door. Liberty bell 6 blocks away. Redding market across the street. More food than you can imagine within minutes walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donandsuz
Family
Chicago, IL, USA
Jun 4, 2012

Good central location for visiting

The friendly and helpful staff had no problem going above and beyond. If it's your first visit the Marriot is connected to the SEPTA so no problem finding the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeccaYoung
Friends
Daytona Beach, FL
Jul 23, 2012

1 night stay

From the staff to the nicely appointed guest rooms, the Marriott Market St. was the right choice. I was impressed that there was adequate staff in all areas, reducing the wait time for check-in and concierge services. All encounters with staff exceeded my expectations. The bed was very comfy, with high quality pillows and sheets. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Jims on 4th for Cheese steak subs. Also, Tony Lukes. Go before you're starving because the lines are down the block, even late at night.

Back to menu Return to top