$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
301 reviews
Great girls weekend

Spent 1 night for the flower show. Very comfortable! Wished there was a hot tub though. Overall a... See full review

  • Time well spent
  • Mar 10, 2014
Fantastic getaway

The location is perfect. It's near Chinatown and all places of interest and also is near from... See full review

  • belindar
  • Mar 4, 2014
Experience the famous birthplace of freedom, without wasting time in traffic, at the centrally located Philadelphia Marriott Downtown. With its skybridge to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, 72 meeting rooms, and impressive Grand Ballroom for events, business travelers have access to anything they could possibly want. The on-site Starbucks certainly doesn't hurt in the mornings, either. Guests staying for pleasure will find plenty in the classy environment of the Circ restaurant, comfy alfresco snacking on the 13 Terrace, or the taste of signature Chesapeake striped bass in 13 Restaurant. It doesn't have to be all about lazy days, however; the rowing machines at the Fitness Center and all-weather pool will make sure that visitors break a healthy sweat.
Key facts
  • 1,408 guestrooms
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor pool
  • Valet parking
  • Business Center
  • 8,547-square-feet of meeting space
  • 2 restaurants: 13 and Circ, with open-air terrace
  • On-site Starbucks cafe
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Conveniently located in downtown Philly, with the Pennsylvania Convention Center just around the corner and the Liberty Bell only eight blocks away, the Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia is ideally located in every way. SEPTA subway 13th street station is right across the street, as is the Reading Terminal Market, for the oldest consecutive running farmer's market in the nation (and where the Amish community comes to sell their produce). At night the city is all abuzz, with spectacular shows at the Forrest Theatre and plenty of excellent Center City restaurants in the hotel's direct vicinity.
Hints and tips
Valet parking can be fairly expensive and the valet bay is usually quite busy, so if you need directions, get them before you slide behind the wheel, because staff will try to get you going as soon as possible to clear the lane.

Dinner-wise, walk two blocks from the hotel and you'll be in the city's Chinatown district - an essential stop for authentic dim sum and other Asian fare.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Philadelphia Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9519 -75.1599
Area served
We are in the heart of Center City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Circ
One of the chic hotel restaurants in downtown Philadelphia, Circ serves as an urban retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city while offering guests signature cocktails and a menu filled with light snacks and tasty appetizers.
13 Restaurant
Serving American classics with a contemporary twist, 13 Restaurant's tantalizing menus feature something for everyone including seared filet mignon, grilled pork chops and Chesapeake striped bass for a tasty dining experience in downtown Philadelphia.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks® which provides busy travelers and locals with a convenient option over traditional downtown Philadelphia restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DoubleJRZ
Richmond, VA
Jun 7, 2010

Could Use a Renovation

The rooms do not include refrigerators, the bathroom was old and outdated, the TV was not a flat screen and buzzed the entire time. However, the bed was very comfortable and it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples Florda
Oct 17, 2010

Excellent location

Excellent. The room was clean, the staff was very efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Billings, MT
Jun 11, 2009

Philadelphia Dowtowm Marriott

I was only there for one night. Marriott put me in a room right next to the ice machine (a little noisy). I had to use their parking garage to park my car at a charge of $36/day (kind of shock), a hotel that won't even let you park your own car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 12, 2010

A-ok

This hotel is a -ok. Nothing extraordinary and nothing so bad it's worth complaining about online. The best part for me was the location. It's easy to find from the airport. Either pre-arrange for a hotel shuttle ditctly with the hotel before you arrive or take the train from the airport to downtown, then switch to the metro. The metro stop is literally outside of the front door, which makes for easy acres to test of the city. Additionally, the hotel is within walking distance to rittenhouse square, which has a number of different bars and restaurants. It's also relatively close to Chinatown, which warrants a couple of hours of exploring. Finally, it's connected by skybrodge to the convention center, so it would be an exclent choice if you're in town for an event held there. While there's a starbucks and a hotel bar/restaurant in the lobby, dishing up mediocre hotel-quality food, you must walk across the street to reading terminal! There are multiple food stands with an immense selection of foods. Try it for breakfast or lunch. It reminded me of the diverse marketplace in Barcelona, a Philly gem. Otherthan that, the hotel was acceptably neat, clean, and quiet. The also allowed meticulous check-in early (11am) after I called and requested it. Thanks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pantophobia
Alexandria, VA
Feb 28, 2011

Great location!

We booked this last minute after another vacation plan fell through. The location is amazing, right next to Reading Terminal Market. This isn't a fancy place--no flat screen TVs here--but all you're really doing is sleeping, right? The pool was fun, but unheated, and in Feb, it was a little chilly. I gave this place 3 stars because nothing really blew me away, but I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Jul 8, 2009

Unbeatable location but bad room quality

Well we went to Philadelphia to attend a gathering in Convention center. As soon we reached the hotel we were delighted by knowing that the hotel is internally connected to the convention center, but our joy won't last for a long. We greatly struggled finding our room locations and there were nobody who can assist us till our hotel room. The room we stayed in was having a faulty flooring which was creating sound while walking. Though we were very busy we haven't complained!! Any ways the hotel is a bit old ..specially the bathrooms were not upto the class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 29, 2010

it's ok

I stayed here for two nights because there was a conference at this hotel and I needed to attend it. It was basically fine -- the room is very clean, and for us who are attending the conference, of course, it's extremely convenient. I had one problem, though. When I was checking out, I needed to get a receipt because it was a business trip and I had to turn it in to the office (to show that I was really staying there). But the guy who checked me out did not give me a receipt. I asked for it two times, but he said because I booked it thru [...], the receipt should be in the e-mail from [...], and they cannot give it to me. I also asked him whether I can contact them if I can't find the receipt in my e-mail, but he was not at all kind, and it really made my impression of this hotel bad.I guess, if it's not expensive, I can kind of let it slide, but when you're paying nearly $200 a night, I'd expect a little better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lansing, MI
Jun 22, 2009

Located near the convention center...

I stayed here while at a convention; it was conveniently located next to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and also near the Reading Terminal Market. I found the bed to be really uncomfortable, but the room was clean and sufficient for my needs. The rooms were not nearly as nice as the rest of the hotel and I felt the price was slightly high considering the room, but I would probably stay there again if I couldn't find a better deal and was attending a conference at the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob Zane
Detroit, MI
Aug 31, 2013

Marriott hotel -

The hotel is pretty big.the location is nice. However, the service and availability are not to the level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lansing, MI
Jun 22, 2009

Located near the convention center...

I stayed here while at a convention; it was conveniently located next to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and also near the Reading Terminal Market. I found the bed to be really uncomfortable, but the room was clean and sufficient for my needs. The rooms were not nearly as nice as the rest of the hotel and I felt the price was slightly high considering the room, but I would probably stay there again if I couldn't find a better deal and was attending a conference at the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top