$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
207 reviews
Good game experience

Flew in for Philadelphia Eagles opening day. Couldn't have had a better experience. Everything I... See full review

  • Makk Dogg
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great girls weekend

Spent 1 night for the flower show. Very comfortable! Wished there was a hot tub though. Overall a... See full review

  • Time well spent
  • Mar 10, 2014
Experience the famous birthplace of freedom, without wasting time in traffic, at the centrally located Philadelphia Marriott Downtown. With its skybridge to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, 72 meeting rooms, and impressive Grand Ballroom for events, business travelers have access to anything they could possibly want. The on-site Starbucks certainly doesn't hurt in the mornings, either. Guests staying for pleasure will find plenty in the classy environment of the Circ restaurant, comfy alfresco snacking on the 13 Terrace, or the taste of signature Chesapeake striped bass in 13 Restaurant. It doesn't have to be all about lazy days, however; the rowing machines at the Fitness Center and all-weather pool will make sure that visitors break a healthy sweat.
Key facts
  • 1,408 guestrooms
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor pool
  • Valet parking
  • Business Center
  • 8,547-square-feet of meeting space
  • 2 restaurants: 13 and Circ, with open-air terrace
  • On-site Starbucks cafe
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Conveniently located in downtown Philly, with the Pennsylvania Convention Center just around the corner and the Liberty Bell only eight blocks away, the Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia is ideally located in every way. SEPTA subway 13th street station is right across the street, as is the Reading Terminal Market, for the oldest consecutive running farmer's market in the nation (and where the Amish community comes to sell their produce). At night the city is all abuzz, with spectacular shows at the Forrest Theatre and plenty of excellent Center City restaurants in the hotel's direct vicinity.
Hints and tips
Valet parking can be fairly expensive and the valet bay is usually quite busy, so if you need directions, get them before you slide behind the wheel, because staff will try to get you going as soon as possible to clear the lane.

Dinner-wise, walk two blocks from the hotel and you'll be in the city's Chinatown district - an essential stop for authentic dim sum and other Asian fare.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Philadelphia Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Circ
One of the chic hotel restaurants in downtown Philadelphia, Circ serves as an urban retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city while offering guests signature cocktails and a menu filled with light snacks and tasty appetizers.
13 Restaurant
Serving American classics with a contemporary twist, 13 Restaurant's tantalizing menus feature something for everyone including seared filet mignon, grilled pork chops and Chesapeake striped bass for a tasty dining experience in downtown Philadelphia.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks® which provides busy travelers and locals with a convenient option over traditional downtown Philadelphia restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob Zane
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 31, 2013

Marriott hotel -

The hotel is pretty big.the location is nice. However, the service and availability are not to the level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pizzaqueen
Business
Wheeling, WV
Jan 14, 2014

Girls getaway

Was hoping for more amenities. Coffee in room could have been better for the caliber of Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Jul 19, 2010

Centrally located. Helpful staff

We were in Philadelphia for a wedding. Hotel was close to train station and many desirable visitor sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the SEPTA to travel when you can. Great resource

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha, WI
Jul 5, 2010

Philly Marriott Downton

Bed not very comfortable; foam pad laid on top of mattress insead of a new matress with attached foam top. Room wasn't cleaned until after 4 each day. No flat screen TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell and other historic attractions. If yu have a Medicare card, you can ride a trolley (Flash?) for free

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carolina Belle
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 22, 2010

Great location, pricey valet.

Our experience with the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown was great with the exception of valet parking. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was nice (although I wish we had had a King instead of two doubles) and the bar at Circ was convenient. Unfortunately, our car keys were lost twice by the valet during our stay, resulting in us missing the wedding we traveled to Philadelphia for (from South Carolina) as well as missing our flight the next morning (and being stuck at the airport for 5 extra hours waiting on stand-by). If this mishap had not occurred, the trip would have been great, but the lack of diligence by the valet attendants made us miserable. If you stay at the Marriott Downtown and make use of their valet services, ensure that they know which keys are your keys before you leave your car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Jun 22, 2009

Located near the convention center...

I stayed here while at a convention; it was conveniently located next to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and also near the Reading Terminal Market. I found the bed to be really uncomfortable, but the room was clean and sufficient for my needs. The rooms were not nearly as nice as the rest of the hotel and I felt the price was slightly high considering the room, but I would probably stay there again if I couldn't find a better deal and was attending a conference at the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 29, 2010

it's ok

I stayed here for two nights because there was a conference at this hotel and I needed to attend it. It was basically fine -- the room is very clean, and for us who are attending the conference, of course, it's extremely convenient. I had one problem, though. When I was checking out, I needed to get a receipt because it was a business trip and I had to turn it in to the office (to show that I was really staying there). But the guy who checked me out did not give me a receipt. I asked for it two times, but he said because I booked it thru [...], the receipt should be in the e-mail from [...], and they cannot give it to me. I also asked him whether I can contact them if I can't find the receipt in my e-mail, but he was not at all kind, and it really made my impression of this hotel bad.I guess, if it's not expensive, I can kind of let it slide, but when you're paying nearly $200 a night, I'd expect a little better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jul 8, 2009

Unbeatable location but bad room quality

Well we went to Philadelphia to attend a gathering in Convention center. As soon we reached the hotel we were delighted by knowing that the hotel is internally connected to the convention center, but our joy won't last for a long. We greatly struggled finding our room locations and there were nobody who can assist us till our hotel room. The room we stayed in was having a faulty flooring which was creating sound while walking. Though we were very busy we haven't complained!! Any ways the hotel is a bit old ..specially the bathrooms were not upto the class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DoubleJRZ
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 7, 2010

Could Use a Renovation

The rooms do not include refrigerators, the bathroom was old and outdated, the TV was not a flat screen and buzzed the entire time. However, the bed was very comfortable and it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerTy
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 7, 2010

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

High Prices! BUT - very friendly staff that was knowledgeable, polite, spoke AMERICAN English and were empowered to make decisions (didn't have to run to management every 5 seconds). However, although the on-site staff were great, the reservations staff were not great. I was there for a conference. When booking the room, was told I did not have a conference rate, as it was only for partners of the organization. Come to find out, EVERYONE was eligible for the rate - had to go back to Marriott business services to get partial refund. .. . very accommodating, but extra time had to be spent, nonetheless. The rooms were decent - not a "wow" factor when you walked in (it smelled like Grandma's old apartment) - clean, but smaller than what we're used to in this day in age (granted the hotel was built years ago when hotel rooms didn't have to be huge with high ceilings, etc.) I was just expecting something a little more lavish for the prices I was quoted. But the location was great! Right in the center of it all! Center City - a great place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Philly has a GREAT walking tour. It's free! Something to take in warmer weather as it ends up being a few miles. Not bad - a great way to get the daily exercise, but will be more enjoyable in weather with temperatures above 50. Local restaurants were decently priced too - nothing outrageous like you find in other major cities!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top