$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
1201 Market, Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
198 reviews
Great girls weekend

Spent 1 night for the flower show. Very comfortable! Wished there was a hot tub though. Overall a... See full review

  • Time well spent
  • Mar 10, 2014
Fantastic getaway

The location is perfect. It's near Chinatown and all places of interest and also is near from... See full review

  • belindar
  • Mar 4, 2014
Large Center City hotel with direct access to convention center
The Philadelphia Marriott Downtown offers guests unmatched convenience. It is the largest hotel in Philadelphia, and it enjoys an enviable Center City location. The hotel is linked to the Pennsylvania Convention Center by a covered skybridge and is adjacent to the Reading Terminal Market. Guest rooms feature luxury bedding and large bathrooms. With 92,000 square feet of event and meeting space and a tourist's dream location, this hotel is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.
Highlights:
  • Hotel amenities include a full-service salon and spa, an indoor pool, a spa tub, a sauna, and two fitness rooms
  • Hotel connected to Pennsylvania Convention Center by covered walkway
  • Largest hotel in Philadelphia, with 23 floors, more than 1,300 rooms and 76 suites and 92,000 square feet of meeting space
Rooms:

All rooms are nonsmoking and are located in either the 23-story main building or the nine-story renovated historic building next door, connected via a skywalk. The 1,332 guest rooms and 76 suites feature Marriott's Revive Collection bedding, including 300-thread-count linens and a plush mattress topper. The room decor is traditional, with dark-wood furnishing and neutral colors. Standard amenities include televisions with premium channels/pay movies, large bathrooms with robes and hairdryers, a club chair with ottoman, desks and coffee/tea makers. Marriott's "Wired for Business" service is available, including high-speed Internet access and more. Refrigerators are available on request.

Features:

Dining options at the hotel include Circ, which offers a modern setting in the center of the lobby and features signature cocktails along with a menu of light snacks and appetizers. Marriott's main restaurant, 13, serves American classics with a contemporary twist. In addition, a Starbucks is located on-site.

 

Marriott's on-site salon and spa, Ettore, has been featured on TLC, Fox and NBC and in Modern Bride and Philadelphia Magazine.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (Across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions:
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4
Business:
  • 92,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 72 meeting rooms
  • Banquet facilities/event catering
  • Business center and services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Secretarial services

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Philadelphia Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9519 -75.1599
Area served
We are in the heart of Center City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Circ
One of the chic hotel restaurants in downtown Philadelphia, Circ serves as an urban retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city while offering guests signature cocktails and a menu filled with light snacks and tasty appetizers.
13 Restaurant
Serving American classics with a contemporary twist, 13 Restaurant's tantalizing menus feature something for everyone including seared filet mignon, grilled pork chops and Chesapeake striped bass for a tasty dining experience in downtown Philadelphia.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks® which provides busy travelers and locals with a convenient option over traditional downtown Philadelphia restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
NJ
Jan 11, 2010

Nickel and Dime you to Death!

You have to budget for the parking charge!! Over $40 a night including the taxes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Dec 8, 2009

Philly Marriott Downtown

I attended a professional meeting that was held at the hotel. Unfortunately it did not allow me time to explore the city. The hotel was clean, quiet, and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is literally 1/2 block from the second largest covered market in the country. You can find various kinds of food and other items in this market. In addition, there are many other restaurants located in the area.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Los angeles, CA
Dec 5, 2009

Excellent location

I was attending a conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

2
phillyvisitor
New York
Oct 26, 2009

If I wanted to go to the Zoo

The place is a zoo and you should avoid it at all cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat at Buddakhan

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
cyasukot
Business
Lincoln, IL
Oct 26, 2009

Nice but Pricey

Nice location across from Reading Terminal Market. Bathrooms, though - low water pressure, leading to me never feeling clean for the 4 days I was there. Check out, concierge and staff worked well, friendly. Room service was good and while expensive, not as overpriced as some. Free internet - which was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit the Reading Terminal Market for snacks, lunches, gifts - much more varied, authentic and cheaper than gift shop or room service.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Canton, OH
Oct 26, 2009

Beautiful Hotel, very helpful staff!

The beds in this hotel are ridiculously comfortable. You'll sink in and not want to get out. I forgot my iphone charger, went to the front desk and they actually charged my phone for me! They also pointed me to some fantastic restaurants. Extremely helpful for a person new to Philadelphia. The only downfall was no free wifi. It shouldnt be a luxury anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is Reading Terminal Market. Anything you could ever want to eat is there. Over 100 restaurants!

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Warwick RI
Oct 12, 2009

Fantastic Weekend Trip

This was a weekend away to visit our son who is director of Clean Water Action and is running the Philadelphia office on Market St. We wanted a good hotel close by with a bed for him to stay with us for a couple of days. The location couldn't have been better! The office was a couple of buildings down on the same street. We were in walking distance from so many fun things- and we sure did walk! We loved the proximity to all of the nice sights and restaurants. We saw town hall, liberty bell, Old Philadelphia and Magic Garden. After all of that walking, it was so great to come back to our room and sleep in those comfortable beds!They were great! We flew in from Rhode Island and had the best time! The staff was so helpful and everything was so clean. We would definitely come back to this hotel. One thing that would be nice would be free wireless in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring good walking shoes and a camera..Do not miss the Magic Gardens- It was cool!

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
stomatta
Ithaca, NY
Oct 12, 2009

Probably wouldn't stay again

The staff (unapologetically) informed us that our room was not ready when we arrived. They refused to give us an estimate as to how long it would take to get it ready. We left our cell number and they were supposed to call and let us know. We checked every half hour for an hour and a half. The last time we checked they said the room was ready though they never bothered to call us. This killed our early evening plans. The staff didn't apologize or even act the slightest bit concerned. Also, we were forced to leave our bags with the bell staff who then expected a tip for holding the bags. This was an unnecessary cost. Again, Marriot couldn't care less. The room was nice but there was no wireless internet and you have to pay $13 for wired internet and long distance phone calls. The TV was a 25" CRT dinosaur. Do they realize what year this is? Also, no free breakfast and I'm sure I read that in the description the room included breakfast for up to 2 adults and 2 children. The Hilton Garden we stayed at 2 weeks before was cheaper, in the same area and, included everything the Marriot didn't. I Cannot recommend the Marriot, unless you enjoy paying more for less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is two blocks away. Great food there! Hotel is close to many attractions.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Lancaster, PA.
Oct 12, 2009

Beautiful view from corner window!.

We came to Philadelphia mainly to see Billy Crystal's "700 Sundays". We decided to try a Sunday matinee this time, but arrived on Saturday so we could enjoy the downtown area and then go to dinner. Our room on the 14th floor was a lovely surprise. It was a corner room with a fantastic view. It was quiet, clean and relaxing. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Philadelphia offers many choices for fine dining and entertainment; not to mention historical sites.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Plymouth, MI
Oct 11, 2009

Bed - ugh!!!

The bed had a very thick featherbed on top of the mattress. It had conformed to prior occupants so much so that it had a severe central depression. It gave the mattress the feel of sleeping on a bed which had contorted and conformed to an 800 pound person. In essence it was like sleeping on a swayback horse and was very uncomfortable. We removed it and the underlying mattress was better, but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top