$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
208 reviews
Good game experience

Flew in for Philadelphia Eagles opening day. Couldn't have had a better experience. Everything I... See full review

  • Makk Dogg
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great girls weekend

Spent 1 night for the flower show. Very comfortable! Wished there was a hot tub though. Overall a... See full review

  • Time well spent
  • Mar 10, 2014
Experience the famous birthplace of freedom, without wasting time in traffic, at the centrally located Philadelphia Marriott Downtown. With its skybridge to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, 72 meeting rooms, and impressive Grand Ballroom for events, business travelers have access to anything they could possibly want. The on-site Starbucks certainly doesn't hurt in the mornings, either. Guests staying for pleasure will find plenty in the classy environment of the Circ restaurant, comfy alfresco snacking on the 13 Terrace, or the taste of signature Chesapeake striped bass in 13 Restaurant. It doesn't have to be all about lazy days, however; the rowing machines at the Fitness Center and all-weather pool will make sure that visitors break a healthy sweat.
Key facts
  • 1,408 guestrooms
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor pool
  • Valet parking
  • Business Center
  • 8,547-square-feet of meeting space
  • 2 restaurants: 13 and Circ, with open-air terrace
  • On-site Starbucks cafe
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Conveniently located in downtown Philly, with the Pennsylvania Convention Center just around the corner and the Liberty Bell only eight blocks away, the Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia is ideally located in every way. SEPTA subway 13th street station is right across the street, as is the Reading Terminal Market, for the oldest consecutive running farmer's market in the nation (and where the Amish community comes to sell their produce). At night the city is all abuzz, with spectacular shows at the Forrest Theatre and plenty of excellent Center City restaurants in the hotel's direct vicinity.
Hints and tips
Valet parking can be fairly expensive and the valet bay is usually quite busy, so if you need directions, get them before you slide behind the wheel, because staff will try to get you going as soon as possible to clear the lane.

Dinner-wise, walk two blocks from the hotel and you'll be in the city's Chinatown district - an essential stop for authentic dim sum and other Asian fare.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Philadelphia Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Circ
One of the chic hotel restaurants in downtown Philadelphia, Circ serves as an urban retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city while offering guests signature cocktails and a menu filled with light snacks and tasty appetizers.
13 Restaurant
Serving American classics with a contemporary twist, 13 Restaurant's tantalizing menus feature something for everyone including seared filet mignon, grilled pork chops and Chesapeake striped bass for a tasty dining experience in downtown Philadelphia.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks® which provides busy travelers and locals with a convenient option over traditional downtown Philadelphia restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Jun 7, 2010

Philadelphia Marriott

Close to lots of shopping and historic sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Betsy Ross home, Benjamin Franklin's grave and China Town are all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DoubleJRZ
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 7, 2010

Could Use a Renovation

The rooms do not include refrigerators, the bathroom was old and outdated, the TV was not a flat screen and buzzed the entire time. However, the bed was very comfortable and it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bedford, MA
May 27, 2010

Above average service in very large hote

Very easy acces from airport via public transit, location central for sightseing and sports(public transit) conceirge service was very accomadating Ivan made us feel like we were staying at a boutique hotel not one of the largest facilities in the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Plough and Stars Restraunt was not elegant but great food Railrod Terrminal a block away had great breakfast Waterworks was very elegant end of story

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 22, 2010

Reunion Weekend

Good location, close to trains, cabs. Clean room. Perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short Walk from trains that go directly to 30th street station or airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elyria,Ohio
May 22, 2010

fantastic family getaway

we were in town for my sons graduation from the university of Pennsylvania and stayed for a couple days to enjoy Philadelphia. When we got home I had to call the Marriot about a missing set of keys and the man who tried to help me was very friendly.Even though we didn't find the keys,I appreciated all the help he did do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the sites in Philadelphia are alot to see.I wish I could have had more time to see the rest of the city but time didn't allow it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 20, 2010

Excellent Location and Service

Attended a conference and the Convention Center. You can't beat being connected by a walking bridge. Independece Hall is within walking distance. For business, City Hall and Comcast Building are within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See Independence Hall if you stay in downtown Philly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, California
May 10, 2010

Amazing Accomadations

Was there for High School Mock trial competition. It was an amazing event at an amazing hotel. We completely enjoyed our room, the bed was soo comfortable and the hotel it self was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 16, 2010

Marriott Downtown - Philadelphia, PA

- great location - nice conference facilities - excellent concierge service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don C.
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 13, 2010

Nice hotel - nice location

Business trip. Everything was very convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 29, 2010

it's ok

I stayed here for two nights because there was a conference at this hotel and I needed to attend it. It was basically fine -- the room is very clean, and for us who are attending the conference, of course, it's extremely convenient. I had one problem, though. When I was checking out, I needed to get a receipt because it was a business trip and I had to turn it in to the office (to show that I was really staying there). But the guy who checked me out did not give me a receipt. I asked for it two times, but he said because I booked it thru [...], the receipt should be in the e-mail from [...], and they cannot give it to me. I also asked him whether I can contact them if I can't find the receipt in my e-mail, but he was not at all kind, and it really made my impression of this hotel bad.I guess, if it's not expensive, I can kind of let it slide, but when you're paying nearly $200 a night, I'd expect a little better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top