$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 11, 2015

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb and Curt
Lakewood, Washington
Feb 25, 2013

Great hotel!

We loved the hotel. It is close to everything in downtown Philly. The convention center is attached so we could avoid the wind and rain while getting to our event. The room was clean. All the staff that we talked to were pleasant, helpful, and anticipated our needs before we knew what they were. The only drawback was that internet cost $12.99 a day from the room. It was free in the lobby, but we didn't always want to go down to there to check email. Otherwise, it was one of the best experiences we have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Reading Terminal Market. There are many and varied food stalls and wonderful things for sale. We ate there almost every meal and didn't need to repeat any stalls, except our favorites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 12, 2010

A-ok

This hotel is a -ok. Nothing extraordinary and nothing so bad it's worth complaining about online. The best part for me was the location. It's easy to find from the airport. Either pre-arrange for a hotel shuttle ditctly with the hotel before you arrive or take the train from the airport to downtown, then switch to the metro. The metro stop is literally outside of the front door, which makes for easy acres to test of the city. Additionally, the hotel is within walking distance to rittenhouse square, which has a number of different bars and restaurants. It's also relatively close to Chinatown, which warrants a couple of hours of exploring. Finally, it's connected by skybrodge to the convention center, so it would be an exclent choice if you're in town for an event held there. While there's a starbucks and a hotel bar/restaurant in the lobby, dishing up mediocre hotel-quality food, you must walk across the street to reading terminal! There are multiple food stands with an immense selection of foods. Try it for breakfast or lunch. It reminded me of the diverse marketplace in Barcelona, a Philly gem. Otherthan that, the hotel was acceptably neat, clean, and quiet. The also allowed meticulous check-in early (11am) after I called and requested it. Thanks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler-2002
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 10, 2010

Marriott Downtown Philadelphia

I am pretty sure that the Marriott gives you their worst rooms if you book via [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Italmar
Business
San Juan, PR
Oct 5, 2010

Great location, good price.

Went there for a seminar and got a better price than at the advised hotel close-by (by the seminar organizers) and in my opinion better accommodations. Spacious room too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tequila's restaurant @ 16th & Locust, if you enjoy mexican food, has been the best for the past 23 years that I've been a customer. Short walk from the hotel. Many other good restaurants very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jc loves to run
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 20, 2010

The Place to Stay in Philly!

The location was fantastic! Eating, shopping, and transportation were centrally located and steps from the door. The staff is friendly and helpful and very responsive. Doormen and women are professional and cheerful. Concierge is knowledgable and enthusiastic. One night a rowdy group of people were carousing the hall- a phone call to the front had a security officer to the 7th floor in 2 minutes- problem solved! We wont stay any where else in the future - home away from home for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Station is kitty-corner and a must do. Bakery, sweets, produce stands, jewelry, deli shops, even a wine shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THE GREY GHOST
Business
SAINT LOUIS, MO
Sep 12, 2010

trip to philadelphia

THE STAFF, ESPECIALLY THE CONCIERGE WWERE VERY HELPFUL. MY ROOM WAS QUIET BUT THE WIRELESS INTERNET WAS DIFFICULT TO SET UP. I WISH THAT THERE WERE 'FREE WIRELESS' AND ITS OST JUST BULT IN TO ROOM CHARGE. THE GENERAL DECOR NEEDED UPDATING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

WALK TO THE ART MUSEUM FOR EXCERCISE AND VIEWING OF NEIGHBORHOODS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerTy
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 7, 2010

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

High Prices! BUT - very friendly staff that was knowledgeable, polite, spoke AMERICAN English and were empowered to make decisions (didn't have to run to management every 5 seconds). However, although the on-site staff were great, the reservations staff were not great. I was there for a conference. When booking the room, was told I did not have a conference rate, as it was only for partners of the organization. Come to find out, EVERYONE was eligible for the rate - had to go back to Marriott business services to get partial refund. .. . very accommodating, but extra time had to be spent, nonetheless. The rooms were decent - not a "wow" factor when you walked in (it smelled like Grandma's old apartment) - clean, but smaller than what we're used to in this day in age (granted the hotel was built years ago when hotel rooms didn't have to be huge with high ceilings, etc.) I was just expecting something a little more lavish for the prices I was quoted. But the location was great! Right in the center of it all! Center City - a great place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Philly has a GREAT walking tour. It's free! Something to take in warmer weather as it ends up being a few miles. Not bad - a great way to get the daily exercise, but will be more enjoyable in weather with temperatures above 50. Local restaurants were decently priced too - nothing outrageous like you find in other major cities!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sightseeing from Boston
Business
Natick, MA
Aug 31, 2010

Great location

great location and you can get the tour buses outside the lobby nice workout area and pool staff were helpful esp. concierge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Warrior8
Business
Longmont, CO
Aug 22, 2010

No issues

Maid service a bit less flexible than other hotels. I was in the room for about 1 hr. at lunchtime, when thge Maid came. I put up do not disturb during this time. Maid did not return to clean room later that day. Nice, spacious bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Market has tons of restaurants with lots of unhealthy, but tasty food. Thoroughly explore the area for the healthy food options that are there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angel Sawyer
Business
Los Angeles, Ca.
Aug 19, 2010

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ws
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 23, 2010

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Has a Starbucks on the first floor. Very convenient to the convention center--connected by a bridge. However, internet is not wireless (they provide short etheret cables) and it costs $12/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top