$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THE GREY GHOST
Single
SAINT LOUIS, MO
Sep 12, 2010

trip to philadelphia

THE STAFF, ESPECIALLY THE CONCIERGE WWERE VERY HELPFUL. MY ROOM WAS QUIET BUT THE WIRELESS INTERNET WAS DIFFICULT TO SET UP. I WISH THAT THERE WERE 'FREE WIRELESS' AND ITS OST JUST BULT IN TO ROOM CHARGE. THE GENERAL DECOR NEEDED UPDATING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

WALK TO THE ART MUSEUM FOR EXCERCISE AND VIEWING OF NEIGHBORHOODS

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerTy
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 7, 2010

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

High Prices! BUT - very friendly staff that was knowledgeable, polite, spoke AMERICAN English and were empowered to make decisions (didn't have to run to management every 5 seconds). However, although the on-site staff were great, the reservations staff were not great. I was there for a conference. When booking the room, was told I did not have a conference rate, as it was only for partners of the organization. Come to find out, EVERYONE was eligible for the rate - had to go back to Marriott business services to get partial refund. .. . very accommodating, but extra time had to be spent, nonetheless. The rooms were decent - not a "wow" factor when you walked in (it smelled like Grandma's old apartment) - clean, but smaller than what we're used to in this day in age (granted the hotel was built years ago when hotel rooms didn't have to be huge with high ceilings, etc.) I was just expecting something a little more lavish for the prices I was quoted. But the location was great! Right in the center of it all! Center City - a great place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Philly has a GREAT walking tour. It's free! Something to take in warmer weather as it ends up being a few miles. Not bad - a great way to get the daily exercise, but will be more enjoyable in weather with temperatures above 50. Local restaurants were decently priced too - nothing outrageous like you find in other major cities!

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sightseeing from Boston
Family
Natick, MA
Aug 31, 2010

Great location

great location and you can get the tour buses outside the lobby nice workout area and pool staff were helpful esp. concierge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Warrior8
Business
Longmont, CO
Aug 22, 2010

No issues

Maid service a bit less flexible than other hotels. I was in the room for about 1 hr. at lunchtime, when thge Maid came. I put up do not disturb during this time. Maid did not return to clean room later that day. Nice, spacious bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Market has tons of restaurants with lots of unhealthy, but tasty food. Thoroughly explore the area for the healthy food options that are there.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angel Sawyer
Couples
Los Angeles, Ca.
Aug 19, 2010

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ws
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 23, 2010

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Has a Starbucks on the first floor. Very convenient to the convention center--connected by a bridge. However, internet is not wireless (they provide short etheret cables) and it costs $12/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carolina Belle
Couples
Greenville, SC
Jul 22, 2010

Great location, pricey valet.

Our experience with the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown was great with the exception of valet parking. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was nice (although I wish we had had a King instead of two doubles) and the bar at Circ was convenient. Unfortunately, our car keys were lost twice by the valet during our stay, resulting in us missing the wedding we traveled to Philadelphia for (from South Carolina) as well as missing our flight the next morning (and being stuck at the airport for 5 extra hours waiting on stand-by). If this mishap had not occurred, the trip would have been great, but the lack of diligence by the valet attendants made us miserable. If you stay at the Marriott Downtown and make use of their valet services, ensure that they know which keys are your keys before you leave your car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minnesota
Jul 19, 2010

Centrally located. Helpful staff

We were in Philadelphia for a wedding. Hotel was close to train station and many desirable visitor sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the SEPTA to travel when you can. Great resource

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 15, 2010

Great Place

Friendly, fast check in and check out. Great room. Concierge lounge nice. All staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iankel1
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 12, 2010

The best!

Attended business meetings for the whole week, the hotel was very open, cooperative and willing to help with anything that popped up with our group. This was the best hotel I have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top