$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarksburg, Wv
Dec 28, 2010

Excellent Staff and Service

From arrival to departure, the service staff was professional, personable, friendly, and helpful. Also, great room and price. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Walnut Street Theater

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Harbor, Florida
Dec 19, 2010

Best Stay

A friend had a personal lost and being from out of town was in need of a place to stay. Enjoyed the stay and the courtesy of the staff. Room accommodations were wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Prepare to spend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Dec 10, 2010

Pricey

Ordinary accomodations for a huge price. No complimentary airport shuttle. I must say, however that the front desk personnel were exceptional and accomodating. I would recommend IF a friend REALLY had to stay downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ship Nut
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 2, 2010

Nice Place

The hotel was really nice. I have only one complaint. I was trying to get to the Battleship New Jersey, I didn't have a rental car, and the River Taxi wasn't in service. The Concierge recommended taking the PETCO train to Camden and getting on the River Line to the Aquarium... Only problem was that the train stop in Camden was not only in the [*]but the River Line was 2 blocks from the PETCO station and there was no signs on how to get there. I'm from the New Orleans area and have been in/through many of the [*] in New Orleans and none were this bad. I was freaked out to be sent through such a place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market has awesome food, good prices and is across the street, you can't go wrong eating there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Fla.
Nov 29, 2010

The hotel was excellence

During my stay, I visited family and friends for the holidays. I also did some shopping and dining. I will stay at this hotel again.Hotel staff and services are excellant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary,AB
Nov 24, 2010

Great location for the conference center

Direct access from the hotel to the conference center in Philly was very convenient. The hotel restaurant was excellent, the room was clean, the service was very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Shopping was close and a good choice of restaurants not far away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good shopping on Chestnut and Walnut streets between 13th and 19th streets. Old town, south off Market a good area to visit during the day. Macy's only a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuck's final tour
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Beautiful hotel, centrally located!

The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The beds were super comfortable! The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. One of the hotel staff referred us to an Itallian restaurant which is locally known for the food and atmosphere, and it was terrific. The valet directed us right to Pat's and Gino's for cheesesteak standwiches without any problems. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the time to walk around to see Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, Betsy Ross' house, etc. It is a lot of walking, but you will see and experience more than if you rode on a bus or in a buggy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Nov 3, 2010

Great stay

I was in a convention. The stay was perfect. Great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can reach the hotel directly from the airport using SEPTA East market Street station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montgomery, Alabama
Nov 1, 2010

Great location and great hotel

A great place to stay when visiting Philadelphia. Very close to the great attractions as well as restaurants and shopping. The room was comfortably appointed, and the service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't pass up the Reading Terminal Market for lunch. It's a must; the variety of types of food and cultures is unsurpassed. For dinner you have to eat at Maggiano's. Everything on the menu was delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
808Boomer
Business
Kapolei, HI
Oct 21, 2010

Philadelphia Experience

Downtown Marriott is a great central location. Trains and subway within walking distance. Rooms were nice, our maid was excellent (kid friendly), staff was friendly, and 1st floor is beautiful. Their restaurant "13" is ok, their prices are better during sporting events. However, a little online research will show a lot of better priced restaurants within walking distance. Overall, our package deal made this great hotel affordable. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of neat restaurants and shops within walking distance. Do some online research and take a walk around the hotel. Also, the nearby mall and Macy's close earlier than I expected.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top