$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveler from east coast
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 7, 2013

all good

perfectly aligned with the marriott hotel brand name

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading terminal market is only a block away.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Riverman
Single
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Christmas week vacation

It was a very nice hotel and a great location. Close to everything. Staff was very nice and really good amenities. Would stay there again when I go to Philadelphia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to terminal Market acroos the street for a great selection of foods. Atractions very close and great dining options very nearby.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BethS.
Couples
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Fantastic Location!

The location of this Marriott can't be beat. It's within walking distance of everything in Philly. The only thing that would make it better is free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rittenhouse Square! All the good shops are a few blocks from the hotel.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
echo924
Single
boise, id
Nov 22, 2011

Cable malfunctioned; fire alarm triggered!

Not happy with my stay. Had to pay for internet; then cable tv malfunctioned for several hours; internet was then given for free. Then fire alarm triggered for 15mins or so with conflicting automated message and hotel securiy message. Started going down the stairs then was asked to go back to my room while they figure out the problem. Not worth the high hotel price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ErikN
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Nov 16, 2011

In the heart of Philly

I went on a business trip with a few destinations around Philadelphia. The Marriott Downtown was centrally located for my business needs and a close walk to a major train depot for SEPTA trains. Only draw back was that I didn't like how a major hotel would charge extra for internet usage when it's tailored for business travelers. Overall, hassle-free convenience when traveling Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
p.b.
Family
steamboat springs, co
Nov 7, 2011

School Reunion

Sorry, but the hotel Lobby, entrance and innitial presentation was sub par. The room was nice but with no views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CP18
Business
Chicago
Nov 1, 2011

Great Rooms and Location, but High Charges for Internet

Room was comfortable and location was great. The room was clean and the staff was very friiendly and quick to assist with anything you needed. The place looks great and has been recently rennovated, awesome place to stay. The only real complaint I have is more of an irritance than anything. This place is connected to the convention center, which means a majority of their guests are there for business and have work to do while they are there. Myself being one of those guests, was a little irritated to discover you had to pay to use the internet in your room. In the convention center, I was able to access the internet for no charge, but once I crossed the lobby into the rooms, I needed to pony up some cash. And they wanted 12.95 per day for slow speed or 14.95 per day for high speed. Besides having to work off my phone because I could not justify the cost for a few minutes of work here and there, this bugged me for another reason. The cable line coming into the rooms was delayed and spotty. I wanted to use my laptop to access some movies I had saved on a cloud, but I could not do this without paying more than it would have cost me to rent a movie from the hotel. It is bad enough that hotels are charging for internet on top of the high rates you already pay just to stay there, but 12.95 per day is a bit much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pine Valley
Business
NYC
Oct 24, 2011

Comforts of home on a business trip!

Friendly, clean, quiet. Hotel is in the middle of the action and within walking distance to business venues. Had breakfast at Redding Market which is right across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Philly fanatic
Family
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Busy Center City

The room was clean, comfortable. The exercise room was the best with alot of equipment, free weights and complimentary headphones. The valet parking, although the drivers were wonderful was a zoo!! Very daunting. Also the location is good if you want to be in that area, but if you need to drive away too much congestion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Auntie Jackie
Couples
Stamford, CT, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Our 2nd anniversary trip to Philly

Everything was great - location was centralized, room was beyond clean, staff was very polite, loved the pool and gym area. Could not be more pleased!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The terminal market is around the corner and Macy's across the street - could not be more convenient

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
BALTIMORE MD
Oct 4, 2011

great place, easy to get to from highway. easy in and out check in-out.

great experience. Staff couteuos and friendly. one minus: no parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuba Libre. Great dining experience at a short distance from hotel.

Back to menu Return to top