Penn's View Hotel

3 stars
View map of 14 North Front Street, Front and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
30 reviews
Great location and price

The location and the price cannot be beat! Location location location. The room is not the newest/... See full review

  • S Louisiana girl
  • Jan 7, 2015
Lovely place to stay

Second stay at Penn's View, and not a disappointment. Room was clean, had bathrobes, nicely... See full review

  • Zingaro313
  • Nov 6, 2014
Penn's View Hotel has a distinctly European flavor that makes guests want to come back. The lobby is reminiscent of a type that guests would expect to find in Paris. The Ristorante Panorama, a trattoria-style restaurant, specializes in Northern Italian cuisine, served in a stunning dining room. There are some 120 different wines to choose from at The Wine Bar, which has made the Guinness Book of Records for its wine preservation system. Penn's View Hotel also offers complimentary access to the fitness center. 
Rooms
European-style furniture and decor is provided in all the guest rooms at Penn's View Hotel. The rooms are decorated with distinction and offer antique-style furniture and clocks, gold-colored and floral wallpaper and paintings that complement the rest of the décor. Views of downtown Philadelphia and popular nearby attractions are visible from the rooms and suites at Penn's View Hotel. Standard or premium rooms include king or queen-sized beds. Amenities include free morning papers delivered to the door, fireplaces and Jacuzzis in select rooms and room service during restaurant hours. Free wireless Internet access is available throughout the Penn's View Hotel. 
Highlights
  • A completely non-smoking hotel
  • Concierge service is provided to hotel guests
  • The hotel features a European style setting and experience, with unique décor
Nearby attractions
  • Christ Church Philadelphia (0.1mi/0.2 km)
  • Arden Theatre Company (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Efreths Alley Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Betsy Ross House (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Carpenter's Hall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Merchant Exchange Building (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Independence Seaport Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)  
  • Independence Visitor Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • National Constitution Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Ride the Ducks (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penn's View Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Penn's View Hotel Rooms

Jacuzzi King
Jacuzzi King rooms are unique rooms with one king bed and exposed brick-featuring Jacuzzi bathtub-and some with river views- All rooms include plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable tv-and a complimentary continental breakfast buffet-Room servic
Premium King
Premium Deluxe King-One king bed-a room is uniquely decorated with Chippendale-style furniture and impeccably detailed to ensure your comfort-featuring Jacuzzi and a fireplace-All rooms include plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable Tv and a compli
Premium Queen
Premium Queen-One Queen Bed-It is uniquely decorated with Chippendale-style furniture and impeccably detailed to ensure your comfort-featuring Jacuzzi and a fireplace-All rooms include plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable tv-complimentary continent
Standard Queen
Standard Queen rooms feature private marble bathrooms-hardwood floors-plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable TV-complimentary continental breakfast buffet-Concierge service is available 24 hours a day-Conveniently located for business-arts-exciting

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Fire place
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.7 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.7 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.7 mi

Dining

Ristorante Panorama
Ristorante Panorama is an authentic Italian, trattoria-style “upscale casual” restaurant located on the lobby level of The Penn’s View Hotel. The cuisine is contemporary authentic Italian with influence leaning toward the Northern Italian region, featuri
The Wine Bar
The Wine Bar at Penns View hotel has been officially recognized as a Guinness Book Of World Records holder for the largest wine preservation sytem in the world. The system offers 120 wines by the glass every day at our Wine Bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Penn's View Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brittney from TENNESSE
Business
Nashville TN
Sep 11, 2012

Home away from Home*~*

I found this hotel online and automatically thought that the picture would be way better than when I actually arrived to see it in person. I WAS WRONG!!!! I was impressed the entire stay (a full week). The room was extremely cozy.. it felt like my bedroom! I hardly recall ever even turning the television on. The customer service was far beyond expectation. The hotel itself is small and quite vintage style, so it makes it easier for the staff to learn the guests... especially a guest that is staying the entire week. I have not one complaint. They were outstanding... Sophia & Antonio were my personal favorites. I was sad to leave when the time came. The whole staff was there to wish me farewell with hugs. I will stay at Penn;s View every time I come to Philly now, hands down! I've never felt so welcome at any place of stay. I LOVE YOU GUYS FOR THE SERVICE PROVIDED PENN'S VIEW!! I will see you all again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J from Brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn
Apr 30, 2014

Fairly priced

We went the weekend of Penn Relays and all other hotels were in the $300 range-this was half that. The walls and doors are a little thin (noisy) and the configuration of this room was a weird. The bed could use an upgrade. I saw other rooms that looked a lot nicer. The breakfast is very good and a big free bonus compared to other hotels. Good location if you want to be around Penn's Landing and the historic area. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BusinessTraveler1175
Business
Florida
Jun 12, 2013

Ok Stay

The Bad: Water kept going between hot and cold while I was in the shower; was also annoyed that I went down to the restaurant and ordered food to go and was charged an extra fee for room service even though I brought the food back myself. The Good: Room was small but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PersoR
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 28, 2013

Convenient

Nice front desk staff, both night and day shift. Old building with slow elevator, but using the stairs is no problem. A little miffed about paying $23 to park outside with a room of $169. Room itself was nice enough, with a sitting area. Cleaning staff was very courteous and no rush in the AM. Continental breakfast, the usual fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
madison, nj
Jan 18, 2010

Great summer boutique hotel

This is a boutique hotel with a very friendly desk staff. Price is right. We have stayed there twice before in summer months. This time it was January, and the central heating system does generate noise. Perhaps it was the room, but the noise made it difficult to get to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fork is an excellent restaurant just two blocks from the hotel.

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 16, 2010

Penn's View offers value for price

Penn's View is located conveniently in the Old City within walking distance to all the major historic sites. It is clean, quiet, and the continental breakfast included with stay is just enough to get you out of the door in the morning. Although the hotel doesn't offer anything extraordinary, I have no complaints and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Plough & Stars bar lists their address as 123 Chestnut, which had us walking up and down Chestnut with much confusion. This great bar is actually located on 2nd Street between Market and Chestnut

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zack and Katie
Business
Mifflin County, PA
Mar 17, 2014

Weekend Fun

The hotel was in a very nice location. We were within walking distance of Independence Hall. We were staying there to attend a concert on South Street the evening that we checked in. The staff was very polite and the room was a little smaller than we expected but very nice. If we are ever in Philly again I will definitely try to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theater of Living Arts on South Street

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kdb510
Business
Quakertown, PA
Apr 6, 2014

Better than Expected

Hotel was cozy and unique. Reminded me of a bed and breakfast type homey atmosphere. Conveniently located to lots sites and restaurants. Would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dimples McGee
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 8, 2014

A Perfectly Lovely Inn/Bed & Breakfast Type Hotel.

The location puts you close to everything in historic Philadelphia. The staff were so warm and welcoming that we felt right at home. The brunch downstairs had all the yummies to get our day started. The room could have used an extra cleaning, though. There were hairs and small bits of stuff in the corners. Over all the room was neat and the linens were perfectly clean. Just an extra sweeping would have been nice. The friendliness and helpfulness of the place more than made up for these tiny faults. I would definitely stay here again. A great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awsguy1
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Cute outside, ok inside, very convenient

My stay was a positive experience. Looked at from the outside, the hotel entrance is a lovely colonial/early American building in an area with lots of similar structures. If you go and like colonial architecture, make sure to wander up Cuthbert St, a little to the north. My room was perfectly functional. The wine bar is excellent. The hotel is very accessible to downtown, Penn, etc. because the Market St. subway is right there. Also, a 5-10 minute ride gets you to 30 ST station and trains to the airport, Jersey, etc. The worst thing: the breakfast coffee was undrinkable. People, please, put some coffee in your coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HotelYankeeFoxtrot
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 5, 2012

Hidden gem

Boutique hotel steps from historic Philadelphia and close to many wonderful restaurants. They have a wonderful restaurant and wine bar attached - highly recommended. This was the second time I stayed here, and this time I splurged for a king room with a view and a fireplace. The fireplace was a nice touch. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. I'm sure I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fabulous Italian restaurant and wine bar in the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top