$131 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Penn's View Hotel

3 stars
14 North Front Street, Front and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
29 reviews
Awesome experience.

Wonderful hotel. Had a fantastic time. Will be doing it again real soon. The staff was very kind... See full review

  • PGDJ
  • Dec 9, 2013
Great romantic getaway!

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this unique hotel. We felt we had escaped to a European luxurious... See full review

  • Garry super sleuth
  • Jun 1, 2013
European elegance in a convenient Philadelphia setting
Penn's View Hotel has a distinctly European flavor that makes guests want to come back. The lobby is reminiscent of a type that guests would expect to find in Paris. The Ristorante Panorama, a trattoria-style restaurant, specializes in Northern Italian cuisine, served in a stunning dining room. There are some 120 different wines to choose from at The Wine Bar, which has made the Guinness Book of Records for its wine preservation system. Penn's View Hotel also offers complimentary access to the fitness center. 
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A completely non-smoking hotel
  • Concierge service is provided to hotel guests
  • The hotel features a European style setting and experience, with unique décor
Penn's View Hotel Rooms
European-style furniture and decor is provided in all the guest rooms at Penn's View Hotel. The rooms are decorated with distinction and offer antique-style furniture and clocks, gold-colored and floral wallpaper and paintings that complement the rest of the décor. Views of downtown Philadelphia and popular nearby attractions are visible from the rooms and suites at Penn's View Hotel. Standard or premium rooms include king or queen-sized beds. Amenities include free morning papers delivered to the door, fireplaces and Jacuzzis in select rooms and room service during restaurant hours. Free wireless Internet access is available throughout the Penn's View Hotel. 
Things To Do:
  • Christ Church Philadelphia (0.1mi/0.2 km)
  • Arden Theatre Company (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Efreths Alley Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Betsy Ross House (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Carpenter's Hall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Merchant Exchange Building (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Independence Seaport Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)  
  • Independence Visitor Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • National Constitution Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Ride the Ducks (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Hotel Map

39.9504 -75.142
Area served
Center City- 1.0 Miles West
Nearby airports
Philadellphia International Airport-PHL, (PHL), 3.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, 3 Stars

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penn's View Hotel also booked these hotels.

Penn's View Hotel Rooms

Jacuzzi King
Jacuzzi King rooms are unique rooms with one king bed and exposed brick-featuring Jacuzzi bathtub-and some with river views- All rooms include plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable tv-and a complimentary continental breakfast buffet-Room servic
Premium King
Premium Deluxe King-One king bed-a room is uniquely decorated with Chippendale-style furniture and impeccably detailed to ensure your comfort-featuring Jacuzzi and a fireplace-All rooms include plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable Tv and a compli
Premium Queen
Premium Queen-One Queen Bed-It is uniquely decorated with Chippendale-style furniture and impeccably detailed to ensure your comfort-featuring Jacuzzi and a fireplace-All rooms include plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable tv-complimentary continent
Standard Queen
Standard Queen rooms feature private marble bathrooms-hardwood floors-plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable TV-complimentary continental breakfast buffet-Concierge service is available 24 hours a day-Conveniently located for business-arts-exciting

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Fire place
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.7 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.7 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.7 mi

Dining

Ristorante Panorama
Ristorante Panorama is an authentic Italian, trattoria-style “upscale casual” restaurant located on the lobby level of The Penn’s View Hotel. The cuisine is contemporary authentic Italian with influence leaning toward the Northern Italian region, featuri
The Wine Bar
The Wine Bar at Penns View hotel has been officially recognized as a Guinness Book Of World Records holder for the largest wine preservation sytem in the world. The system offers 120 wines by the glass every day at our Wine Bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Penn's View Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Garry super sleuth
Alexandria, Va.
Jun 1, 2013

Great romantic getaway!

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this unique hotel. We felt we had escaped to a European luxurious spot. It is perfect for working around the historic district & has a spectacular wine bar. The included breakfast surpassed our expectations. We can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle The Baker
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 31, 2012

Nice romantic hotel

This is a great hotel for a romantic getaway. They have rooms with jacuzzis in the bathroom and gas fireplaces in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erica Pittsburgh
Business
Pittsburgh
Nov 30, 2012

Great place to stay

The staff is wonderful! This hotel has a bed and breakfast feel with modern amenities. The breakfast has a good selection for everyone, fresh fruit, waffles, cereal, boiled eggs, etc. The staff is very friendly and professional; this includes thebfrontndesk, the cleaning staff, and the kitchen staff. Inwouldbstay here again. The attached restaurant on the first floor has delicious food and a GREAT wine and liquor selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Liberty bell and Independence historical sites.

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brittney from TENNESSE
Business
Nashville TN
Sep 11, 2012

Home away from Home*~*

I found this hotel online and automatically thought that the picture would be way better than when I actually arrived to see it in person. I WAS WRONG!!!! I was impressed the entire stay (a full week). The room was extremely cozy.. it felt like my bedroom! I hardly recall ever even turning the television on. The customer service was far beyond expectation. The hotel itself is small and quite vintage style, so it makes it easier for the staff to learn the guests... especially a guest that is staying the entire week. I have not one complaint. They were outstanding... Sophia & Antonio were my personal favorites. I was sad to leave when the time came. The whole staff was there to wish me farewell with hugs. I will stay at Penn;s View every time I come to Philly now, hands down! I've never felt so welcome at any place of stay. I LOVE YOU GUYS FOR THE SERVICE PROVIDED PENN'S VIEW!! I will see you all again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biker Tom
New Hampshire
Aug 27, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel

This hotel was fabulous! If you are a wine drinker, they had over 120 different types of wine. Breakfast was continental but we left vey well fed. Rooms were small but quite comfortable. We had a room in the front by the highway (only drawback for us) and had trouble sleeping. The next morning we said something and were given our choice of rooms to move to. Great staff. We were able to walk just about everywhere we wanted to go. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Philadelphia Museum of Art is a must see.

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob Businessman
Business
Bergen County NJ
Jun 28, 2012

Good enough

The hotel was clean, pleasant and nice enough for overnight business stay. Very friendly staff. Pretty close to the stuff in Philly you want to see. Some people might be put off by the highway, but it is just the way Philly is built. Room was very good with a historical motif in line with building's architecture and included a fireplace (did not use) and jacuzzi tub (very relaxing). Price was a little high (my fault for booking late) and the Philly taxes added a considerable amount to the bill. Overall a solid B.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveln Man
Business
New Jersey
Jun 14, 2012

Overnight in Philadelphia

What a pleasant surprise the Penn's View Hotel was for a one night stay in Philadelphia. I was traveling for business, and wanted to try something with a non-corporate brand flavor for this quick trip (one less night at a Marriott is not going to make or break my rewards points). The Penn's View Hotel fit the bill perfectly. Even though it doesn't have a fitness center on premise, nor a large business center, the facilities and staff more than made up for these perceived necessities. The room was wonderful, very comfortable, and had a character not found in the chains. In the room was a full desk, with ample power sources and a strong WiFi connection. Furniture is in the theme of Colonial Style furniture, which added to the character of the room. Full queen sized bed, with two end tables, and a sitting chair. The bathroom was large and elegant with marble counter tops and floors. The Tub had a built in whirlpool, which was a very nice touch. Plenty of clean towels, unlimited supply of hot water (filled up the whirlpool without issue) and a nice terry cloth robe hanging in the closet. Restaurant (Ristorante Panorama) that was part of the facility appeared to be a popular local Italian themed restaurant (very busy at the bar and in the dining area) with a fabulous wine selection. Restaurant staff was well trained in their craft, and provided top level service to me and the people around. Hotel staff, both check-in and check-out were courteous and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, and am actually looking to now book a long weekend here with my wife. Located in Old City, it is in a nice area to walk around, with many great eating and night-life spots nearby. If you do not have to be at a conference located in one of the chain’s conference hotels downtown, this is a very nice alternative that exceeds the chains at that same pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely make one dinner reservation at the Ristorante Panorama, which is located in the same building. Wonderful, relaxed dining experience.

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chelseagal11
Pocono, PA, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Amazing room and great location

When I walked into the room it was amazing. The fireplace wa the best addition!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HotelYankeeFoxtrot
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 5, 2012

Hidden gem

Boutique hotel steps from historic Philadelphia and close to many wonderful restaurants. They have a wonderful restaurant and wine bar attached - highly recommended. This was the second time I stayed here, and this time I splurged for a king room with a view and a fireplace. The fireplace was a nice touch. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. I'm sure I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Fabulous Italian restaurant and wine bar in the hotel.

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awsguy1
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Cute outside, ok inside, very convenient

My stay was a positive experience. Looked at from the outside, the hotel entrance is a lovely colonial/early American building in an area with lots of similar structures. If you go and like colonial architecture, make sure to wander up Cuthbert St, a little to the north. My room was perfectly functional. The wine bar is excellent. The hotel is very accessible to downtown, Penn, etc. because the Market St. subway is right there. Also, a 5-10 minute ride gets you to 30 ST station and trains to the airport, Jersey, etc. The worst thing: the breakfast coffee was undrinkable. People, please, put some coffee in your coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
palomom
aurora, MN
Sep 21, 2011

Lovely anniversary getaway

Penn's View hotel is ideally located in Philadelphia old district. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted, including up to the Philadephia Art Museum, Penn's Landing, the Constitution Center, Reading Terminal Market, and so on. The nice part is that the subway is on the same block as the hotel, and the stop for the tour buses,carriage rides, etc, was only a few blocks up, so very easy to find transportation if needed. Tons of eating places in every direction. The Continental, just up the block, has sidewalk seating, and we ordered one salad for $13 that was large enough for the 2 of us to split. I recommend the Constitution Center, the program on Freedom was excellent and has an nice museum. We were also right near Franklin Fountain, an old fashioned ice cream parlor-excellent! The hotel was nice and accommodating . We had a king size bed which was very comfortable. It is right next to a busy road, but we were facing an alley, so we really didn't hear too much. The bathroom was nice and clean, the only problem was the Jacuzzi tub didn't work on the one night we went to use it, but the hotel adjusted that for us on the bill. They had a large ice water jar ready for when you came in, which was delightful on the days we were there. The continental breakfast was adequate, not quite as large as some hotels, but enough to get you going. My husband would have preferred more meat and choices, but we were both satisfied all in all. We were there for 5 nights, so we got a good feel of the place. I was a little worried our first night, because it was a little noisy, but after that we were fine. I would recommend staying here if you wish to be near the sights. Friendly, courteous staff as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is located within easy walking distance for many attractions. Subway is just back of the hotel, taxi's are readily available, and the tourist buses and carriage rides are about 4 blocks up from the hotel, with the hop on, hop off feature which was greatly appreciated.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search