$131 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Penn's View Hotel

3 stars
View map of 14 North Front Street, Front and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penn's View Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Garry super sleuth
Business
Alexandria, Va.
Jun 1, 2013

Great romantic getaway!

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this unique hotel. We felt we had escaped to a European luxurious spot. It is perfect for working around the historic district & has a spectacular wine bar. The included breakfast surpassed our expectations. We can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eileen M S
Business
Reading,PA
Jan 14, 2013

Great location. Wonderful continental breakfast.

The room was small but attractive, with hardwood floors and flocked wall paper. There was a view of Penn's Landing from the window. The continental breakfast was tasty enough that you forget that it's a continental. Excellant coffee. Next time, I want to try out the restaurant. The menu looked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many trendy and/or ethnic restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle The Baker
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 31, 2012

Nice romantic hotel

This is a great hotel for a romantic getaway. They have rooms with jacuzzis in the bathroom and gas fireplaces in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erica Pittsburgh
Business
Pittsburgh
Nov 30, 2012

Great place to stay

The staff is wonderful! This hotel has a bed and breakfast feel with modern amenities. The breakfast has a good selection for everyone, fresh fruit, waffles, cereal, boiled eggs, etc. The staff is very friendly and professional; this includes thebfrontndesk, the cleaning staff, and the kitchen staff. Inwouldbstay here again. The attached restaurant on the first floor has delicious food and a GREAT wine and liquor selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Liberty bell and Independence historical sites.

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brittney from TENNESSE
Business
Nashville TN
Sep 11, 2012

Home away from Home*~*

I found this hotel online and automatically thought that the picture would be way better than when I actually arrived to see it in person. I WAS WRONG!!!! I was impressed the entire stay (a full week). The room was extremely cozy.. it felt like my bedroom! I hardly recall ever even turning the television on. The customer service was far beyond expectation. The hotel itself is small and quite vintage style, so it makes it easier for the staff to learn the guests... especially a guest that is staying the entire week. I have not one complaint. They were outstanding... Sophia & Antonio were my personal favorites. I was sad to leave when the time came. The whole staff was there to wish me farewell with hugs. I will stay at Penn;s View every time I come to Philly now, hands down! I've never felt so welcome at any place of stay. I LOVE YOU GUYS FOR THE SERVICE PROVIDED PENN'S VIEW!! I will see you all again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biker Tom
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 27, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel

This hotel was fabulous! If you are a wine drinker, they had over 120 different types of wine. Breakfast was continental but we left vey well fed. Rooms were small but quite comfortable. We had a room in the front by the highway (only drawback for us) and had trouble sleeping. The next morning we said something and were given our choice of rooms to move to. Great staff. We were able to walk just about everywhere we wanted to go. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Philadelphia Museum of Art is a must see.

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob Businessman
Business
Bergen County NJ
Jun 28, 2012

Good enough

The hotel was clean, pleasant and nice enough for overnight business stay. Very friendly staff. Pretty close to the stuff in Philly you want to see. Some people might be put off by the highway, but it is just the way Philly is built. Room was very good with a historical motif in line with building's architecture and included a fireplace (did not use) and jacuzzi tub (very relaxing). Price was a little high (my fault for booking late) and the Philly taxes added a considerable amount to the bill. Overall a solid B.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveln Man
Business
New Jersey
Jun 14, 2012

Overnight in Philadelphia

What a pleasant surprise the Penn's View Hotel was for a one night stay in Philadelphia. I was traveling for business, and wanted to try something with a non-corporate brand flavor for this quick trip (one less night at a Marriott is not going to make or break my rewards points). The Penn's View Hotel fit the bill perfectly. Even though it doesn't have a fitness center on premise, nor a large business center, the facilities and staff more than made up for these perceived necessities. The room was wonderful, very comfortable, and had a character not found in the chains. In the room was a full desk, with ample power sources and a strong WiFi connection. Furniture is in the theme of Colonial Style furniture, which added to the character of the room. Full queen sized bed, with two end tables, and a sitting chair. The bathroom was large and elegant with marble counter tops and floors. The Tub had a built in whirlpool, which was a very nice touch. Plenty of clean towels, unlimited supply of hot water (filled up the whirlpool without issue) and a nice terry cloth robe hanging in the closet. Restaurant (Ristorante Panorama) that was part of the facility appeared to be a popular local Italian themed restaurant (very busy at the bar and in the dining area) with a fabulous wine selection. Restaurant staff was well trained in their craft, and provided top level service to me and the people around. Hotel staff, both check-in and check-out were courteous and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, and am actually looking to now book a long weekend here with my wife. Located in Old City, it is in a nice area to walk around, with many great eating and night-life spots nearby. If you do not have to be at a conference located in one of the chain’s conference hotels downtown, this is a very nice alternative that exceeds the chains at that same pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely make one dinner reservation at the Ristorante Panorama, which is located in the same building. Wonderful, relaxed dining experience.

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chelseagal11
Business
Pocono, PA, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Amazing room and great location

When I walked into the room it was amazing. The fireplace wa the best addition!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HotelYankeeFoxtrot
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 5, 2012

Hidden gem

Boutique hotel steps from historic Philadelphia and close to many wonderful restaurants. They have a wonderful restaurant and wine bar attached - highly recommended. This was the second time I stayed here, and this time I splurged for a king room with a view and a fireplace. The fireplace was a nice touch. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. I'm sure I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fabulous Italian restaurant and wine bar in the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top