$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Penn's View Hotel

3 stars
14 North Front Street, Front and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
29 reviews
Awesome experience.

Wonderful hotel. Had a fantastic time. Will be doing it again real soon. The staff was very kind... See full review

  • PGDJ
  • Dec 9, 2013
Great romantic getaway!

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this unique hotel. We felt we had escaped to a European luxurious... See full review

  • Garry super sleuth
  • Jun 1, 2013
European elegance in a convenient Philadelphia setting
Penn's View Hotel has a distinctly European flavor that makes guests want to come back. The lobby is reminiscent of a type that guests would expect to find in Paris. The Ristorante Panorama, a trattoria-style restaurant, specializes in Northern Italian cuisine, served in a stunning dining room. There are some 120 different wines to choose from at The Wine Bar, which has made the Guinness Book of Records for its wine preservation system. Penn's View Hotel also offers complimentary access to the fitness center. 
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A completely non-smoking hotel
  • Concierge service is provided to hotel guests
  • The hotel features a European style setting and experience, with unique décor
Penn's View Hotel Rooms
European-style furniture and decor is provided in all the guest rooms at Penn's View Hotel. The rooms are decorated with distinction and offer antique-style furniture and clocks, gold-colored and floral wallpaper and paintings that complement the rest of the décor. Views of downtown Philadelphia and popular nearby attractions are visible from the rooms and suites at Penn's View Hotel. Standard or premium rooms include king or queen-sized beds. Amenities include free morning papers delivered to the door, fireplaces and Jacuzzis in select rooms and room service during restaurant hours. Free wireless Internet access is available throughout the Penn's View Hotel. 
Things To Do:
  • Christ Church Philadelphia (0.1mi/0.2 km)
  • Arden Theatre Company (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Efreths Alley Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Betsy Ross House (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Carpenter's Hall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Merchant Exchange Building (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Independence Seaport Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)  
  • Independence Visitor Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • National Constitution Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Ride the Ducks (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penn's View Hotel also booked these hotels.

Penn's View Hotel Rooms

Jacuzzi King
Jacuzzi King rooms are unique rooms with one king bed and exposed brick-featuring Jacuzzi bathtub-and some with river views- All rooms include plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable tv-and a complimentary continental breakfast buffet-Room servic
Premium King
Premium Deluxe King-One king bed-a room is uniquely decorated with Chippendale-style furniture and impeccably detailed to ensure your comfort-featuring Jacuzzi and a fireplace-All rooms include plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable Tv and a compli
Premium Queen
Premium Queen-One Queen Bed-It is uniquely decorated with Chippendale-style furniture and impeccably detailed to ensure your comfort-featuring Jacuzzi and a fireplace-All rooms include plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable tv-complimentary continent
Standard Queen
Standard Queen rooms feature private marble bathrooms-hardwood floors-plush terry robes-morning newspaper-cable TV-complimentary continental breakfast buffet-Concierge service is available 24 hours a day-Conveniently located for business-arts-exciting

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Fire place
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.7 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.7 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.7 mi

Dining

Ristorante Panorama
Ristorante Panorama is an authentic Italian, trattoria-style “upscale casual” restaurant located on the lobby level of The Penn’s View Hotel. The cuisine is contemporary authentic Italian with influence leaning toward the Northern Italian region, featuri
The Wine Bar
The Wine Bar at Penns View hotel has been officially recognized as a Guinness Book Of World Records holder for the largest wine preservation sytem in the world. The system offers 120 wines by the glass every day at our Wine Bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Penn's View Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zingaro313
Business
New York
Nov 6, 2014

Lovely place to stay

Second stay at Penn's View, and not a disappointment. Room was clean, had bathrobes, nicely appointed if not "luxurious". Staff friendly and helpful, and the breakfast delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zingaro313
Business
New York
Aug 11, 2014

Terrific Boutique Hotel

This place was a find. it's in a great location for the historical section of Philadelphia, and also close to buses to get anywhere else you might want to go. The room was clean and neat. The breakfast buffet was great, and everyone on the staff we dealt with was friendly, even letting me use the printer behind the check in counter in a pinch! Be careful parking in the adjacent lot. Even though we were staying at the hotel and were entitled to stay until 3, they tried to charge us for the additional hours. We had to get the hotel manager to intervene for us (so again, kudos to the hotel staff). But if you use that lot, you may want to pay in advance, or make sure they note the time you are entitled to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dimples McGee
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 8, 2014

A Perfectly Lovely Inn/Bed & Breakfast Type Hotel.

The location puts you close to everything in historic Philadelphia. The staff were so warm and welcoming that we felt right at home. The brunch downstairs had all the yummies to get our day started. The room could have used an extra cleaning, though. There were hairs and small bits of stuff in the corners. Over all the room was neat and the linens were perfectly clean. Just an extra sweeping would have been nice. The friendliness and helpfulness of the place more than made up for these tiny faults. I would definitely stay here again. A great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J from Brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn
Apr 30, 2014

Fairly priced

We went the weekend of Penn Relays and all other hotels were in the $300 range-this was half that. The walls and doors are a little thin (noisy) and the configuration of this room was a weird. The bed could use an upgrade. I saw other rooms that looked a lot nicer. The breakfast is very good and a big free bonus compared to other hotels. Good location if you want to be around Penn's Landing and the historic area. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kdb510
Business
Quakertown, PA
Apr 6, 2014

Better than Expected

Hotel was cozy and unique. Reminded me of a bed and breakfast type homey atmosphere. Conveniently located to lots sites and restaurants. Would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zack and Katie
Business
Mifflin County, PA
Mar 17, 2014

Weekend Fun

The hotel was in a very nice location. We were within walking distance of Independence Hall. We were staying there to attend a concert on South Street the evening that we checked in. The staff was very polite and the room was a little smaller than we expected but very nice. If we are ever in Philly again I will definitely try to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theater of Living Arts on South Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PGDJ
Business
Catharpin
Dec 9, 2013

Awesome experience.

Wonderful hotel. Had a fantastic time. Will be doing it again real soon. The staff was very kind and very helpful. Thanks for joyous getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome Italian restaurant up the street and great Martini bar a couple blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PersoR
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 28, 2013

Convenient

Nice front desk staff, both night and day shift. Old building with slow elevator, but using the stairs is no problem. A little miffed about paying $23 to park outside with a room of $169. Room itself was nice enough, with a sitting area. Cleaning staff was very courteous and no rush in the AM. Continental breakfast, the usual fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BusinessTraveler1175
Business
Florida
Jun 12, 2013

Ok Stay

The Bad: Water kept going between hot and cold while I was in the shower; was also annoyed that I went down to the restaurant and ordered food to go and was charged an extra fee for room service even though I brought the food back myself. The Good: Room was small but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Garry super sleuth
Business
Alexandria, Va.
Jun 1, 2013

Great romantic getaway!

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this unique hotel. We felt we had escaped to a European luxurious spot. It is perfect for working around the historic district & has a spectacular wine bar. The included breakfast surpassed our expectations. We can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top