$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
117 S 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
82 reviews
Something special

I'm now a Kimpton regular. I love these hotels. They are just more fun, eclectic and funky. Even... See full review

  • drmarkflies
  • Sep 24, 2014
Great stay!

The hotel was beautiful and clean and the staff was so friendly! Beds were amazingly comfortable.... See full review

  • Teacher Laura
  • Aug 12, 2014

Built in the 1920s, Kimpton Palomar Hotel Philadelphia is a boutique hotel overflowing with quirky touches. The building is strikingly Art Deco, inside and out, with multicolored busts lining the lobby and modernist wall-art. Happy hours don’t come much more sophisticated than the hotel’s 'hosted wine hour,' where guests can refine their palates and make new friends. Dishes like truffle popcorn and beer-braised mussels at SQUARE 1682 are too unique not to be sampled. Make use of the in-room yoga mat for a private exercise routine, or take out one of the hotel's free bikes to get around town. You can always make time to chill on your bed later, with a massage and body treatment service that comes straight to you.

Key facts
  • 230 guestrooms and 17 suites
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center
  • Restaurant: SQUARE 1682
  • Yoga mats in all rooms
  • Full-service concierge
  • In-room spa service
  • Bicycles available for guests
  • 24-hour room service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Just north of Rittenhouse Square in the Center City area of Philadelphia, the Kimpton Palomar puts you in the middle of top-notch eateries like Parc, and shopping from Armani to H&M, with a short walk to the Pennsylvania Conference Center for business guests. Browse the contemporary exhibits at the Philadelphia Museum of Art (just over a mile away) or take a wander around the Gothic splendor of City Hall, a few blocks to the northeast.

Hints and tips

Those not in an early rush can enjoy the complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby throughout the morning.

Staying with a pet? Each furry friend receives free amenities, like their own bowl and bed, with special maps for walking trails in the area - ask for recommendations from the staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
Northeast Philadelphia Airport, (PNE), 17.40, MI, NE; Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 235-285 Sq. Ft. spa-inspired bath amenities..
Presidential Suite with 1 King B
Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed 1175 Sq. Ft. with separate living room.
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Ro
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Cityvw King Roll In
Accessible Cityview King w Roll In shower 2 peep holes lowered closet rack
Accessible Cityview King Room
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe Room 2 peep holes lowered closet rack rails in shower.
Accessible 2 Queen Dlx Roll In
Accessible 2 Queen Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 peep holes and rails in shower.
Accessible Spa King Room with 1
Accessible Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed 260 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 300 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 300 Sq. Ft., Etro Bath Amenities
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds. 300-325 Sq. Ft, Etro amenities
Cityview Queen Queen Room
Cityview Queen Queen Room with 2 Beds 300-325 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Amenities.
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 385 Sq. Ft Fuji soak tub and shower
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite, separate living room, Fuji tub, 430 Sq. Ft.
Parlor Room
Parlor Room, 625 Sq. Ft. connecting to Presidential Suite. Booked on property

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Square 1682
Square 1682 - Modern American Kitchen and Cocktails - is located in the heart of Center City Philadelphia and just steps from Rittenhouse Square. The corner restaurant and popular bar was recently voted USA Today*s Best Hotel Bar and it is where Executive

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 82
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
5
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlotte Moore
Business
Santa Barbara
Aug 15, 2012

A great stay

Good: This hotel provided a comfortable atmosphere, great service that was consistent, and of course a good location. What stood out for me was the valet service. I had many business and social meetings to attend. So, on many occasions I needed to return and change my apparel. Thus, the valet was very accommodating with keeping my vehicle on stand by. Bad: There was one front desk gentlemen who's name I did not capture because I avoided him. He seemed to be on a managerial level and projects the tyranny energy one should not display so aggressively. Do not let this comment keep you from staying at this great hotel. I felt the need to post this so that this individual and/or this hotel chain will re-evaluate and check if "everyone" is on the same level to deliver happy and consistent customer service. Sincere Regard, CAG

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snap Guest
Business
Sweden
Mar 7, 2013

Great stay

Hotel was great to stay at during my business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield, CT
Dec 22, 2010

Business Traveler

I travel on business often to Philadelphia. During my last trip I stayed at the Palomar Hotel, a Boutique Hotel in the heart of the city with great access to the business district as well as excellent restaurants. The hotel staff is very pleasant and accomodating. This is the second time I have stayed at the Palomar and it's starting to feel like home. A delightful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Davio's steakhouse is literally right next door to the hotel. Excellent Italian cuisine with an extensive assortment of steaks and chops. Perfect for business or pleasure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 11, 2010

philadelphia- palomar

I loved the decor of the hotel, it was very ecclectic while being modern. The location couldn't be any better. The staff was very accomodating and helpful with all the questions I asked and the bell man even brought me tea while waiting for my car as he noticed i was coughing and under the weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwalk, CT
Nov 30, 2010

Palomar Hotel, Philadelphia

The appointments and service of this hotel are excellent. The staff is friendly and attentive to their guests needs. In my opinion, they go above and beyond to make their guests stay delightful and pleasurable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THe hotel location is central to some outstanding restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AK123
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 25, 2012

Palomar

This hotel was really nice. Formerly an architect's building, it has real style. The lobby, the elevators, and the room especially. I got an upgrade for free and found the room to be just comfortable yet snazzy. In the mornings, a complimentary coffee and cannolli breakfast. Would have been nice to have some fruit as a non-decadent option, but oh well. Also, a free wine tasting in the evenings. Staff was very pleasant. I would definitely go back and will look for Kimpton hotels in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aprod
Business
Boston
Sep 20, 2012

Great location great hotel

we had a great time here. the roomservice was slow but really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snow RN
Business
Springfield, PA
Feb 11, 2010

Five star, modern, reasonable price

I stayed at the Hotel Palomar during the February 10th snowstorm so I could stay closer to work and not have to drive in the snow. This hotel is beautiful, modern, and reasonably priced. I loved the Palomar from the minute I walked in the door. The doormen took my luggage from the cab and walked me to the front desk. Check-in took all of two minutes and I was walked to the elevator. My room was clean, modern, and comfortable. The bed was amazing and the pillows were so fluffy! I am a nurse and have to sleep during the day so the blackout curtains were just great. I used the fitness facility and accidently de-magnitized my card by keeping it too close to my I-phone. I called the front desk from the phone (they have one outside every elevator) and someone brought me up a new key card. The fitness facility was clean, brand new, TVs on every cardio machine, it was just great. I didn't get to take advantage of the free coffee/tea in the mornings in the lobby or the wine tastings but the hotel does offer this every night. What a great thing to offer your guests! I found out that the Palomar also allows pets with no size limit. That is great to know in case we ever want to bring our dog with us and take a stroll around Philadelphia. I had to extend my stay for a half day due to the snow and work needing me an extra night. The Palomar extended a "snow rate" half day price to me. I appreciated that I didn't have to pay for an entire extra night. I'll be returning to the Palomar, and next time I won't be staying in the snow for work. I'll bring my dog, my husband, and we'll be taking advantage of the wine tasting for sure next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mercato

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Earth Kelly
Business
Roxbury, CT
Mar 21, 2010

Hotel Palomar

Great location -- everything within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant around the corner -- Alma de Cuba. I tried the hotel restaurant one night and found the two items I ordered to look and taste like something that was in a amateur chef competition.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drmarkflies
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Sep 24, 2014

Something special

I'm now a Kimpton regular. I love these hotels. They are just more fun, eclectic and funky. Even though I don't travel with my dog, I love dog friendly hotels like Kimptons. It takes away the mundane stuffiness of big hotels. People who work in Kimpton hotels seem to be having fun, and it translates to their elevated courtesy and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top