$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 117 S 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
95 reviews
Perfect Pet Friendly Hotel

I had high hopes for the Palomar and it still managed to exceed my expectations. The location is... See full review

  • lechuza1386
  • May 18, 2015
Awesome family and business trip

Love the location and the hotel. Super helpful and friendly staffs. In the central city. Could be... See full review

  • Gina W
  • Apr 25, 2015

Built in the 1920s, Kimpton Palomar Hotel Philadelphia is a boutique hotel overflowing with quirky touches. The building is strikingly Art Deco, inside and out, with multicolored busts lining the lobby and modernist wall-art. Happy hours don’t come much more sophisticated than the hotel’s 'hosted wine hour,' where guests can refine their palates and make new friends. Dishes like truffle popcorn and beer-braised mussels at SQUARE 1682 are too unique not to be sampled. Make use of the in-room yoga mat for a private exercise routine, or take out one of the hotel's free bikes to get around town. You can always make time to chill on your bed later, with a massage and body treatment service that comes straight to you.

Location

Just north of Rittenhouse Square in the Center City area of Philadelphia, the Kimpton Palomar puts you in the middle of top-notch eateries like Parc, and shopping from Armani to H&M, with a short walk to the Pennsylvania Conference Center for business guests. Browse the contemporary exhibits at the Philadelphia Museum of Art (just over a mile away) or take a wander around the Gothic splendor of City Hall, a few blocks to the northeast.

Highlights
  • 230 guestrooms and 17 suites
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center
  • Restaurant: SQUARE 1682
  • Yoga mats in all rooms
  • Full-service concierge
  • In-room spa service
  • Bicycles available for guests
  • 24-hour room service
  • Pets allowed
Policies

Those not in an early rush can enjoy the complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby throughout the morning.

Staying with a pet? Each furry friend receives free amenities, like their own bowl and bed, with special maps for walking trails in the area - ask for recommendations from the staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 235-285 Sq. Ft. spa-inspired bath amenities..
Presidential Suite with 1 King B
Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed 1175 Sq. Ft. with separate living room.
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Ro
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Cityvw King Roll In
Accessible Cityview King w Roll In shower 2 peep holes lowered closet rack
Accessible Cityview King Room
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe Room 2 peep holes lowered closet rack rails in shower.
Accessible 2 Queen Dlx Roll In
Accessible 2 Queen Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 peep holes and rails in shower.
Accessible Spa King Room with 1
Accessible Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed 260 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 300 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 300 Sq. Ft., Etro Bath Amenities
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds. 300-325 Sq. Ft, Etro amenities
Cityview Queen Queen Room
Cityview Queen Queen Room with 2 Beds 300-325 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Amenities.
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 385 Sq. Ft Fuji soak tub and shower
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite, separate living room, Fuji tub, 430 Sq. Ft.
Parlor Room
Parlor Room, 625 Sq. Ft. connecting to Presidential Suite. Booked on property

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Square 1682
Square 1682 - Modern American Kitchen and Cocktails - is located in the heart of Center City Philadelphia and just steps from Rittenhouse Square. The corner restaurant and popular bar was recently voted USA Today*s Best Hotel Bar and it is where Executive

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bad Penny
Solvang California
Oct 19, 2012

A Special time with Family'''''Lovely

The time of our lives.....I would love to come back next year to realy check out the vibe of your beautiful Philly,,,My sons wedding was even more special with your x pert staff and special attention to detail. Thank You Ariella Barshay.....And the door man....And the Restaurant. If 6 Stars was in order I would say 6

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GTMtraveler
Business
NYC
Dec 5, 2014

annoying staff

Honestly the staff cannot be bothered here. We came during the marathon weekend whcih was a mistake. We went out came back at liek 2pm and wanted to order room service. The front desk lady was like we don't do that. She was corrected by a guy after we asked 3x and wwere like I've never heard of a this quality without 24-7 roomserivce. We also asked about a late checkout not availble. When we were checkign out. a bunch of people came in and asked that. It was 11 am and the hotel offered rates to stay until 6pm. They are so incompentent here. Really not a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore
Aug 14, 2010

unhappy with parking fees

i did not expect to be charged parking parking fees. the hotel rooms do not have coffee maker, no ice machine or microwave available so you have to give hotel staff your meal to warm it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

very quiet environment I was surprised especially in downtown area

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not a PALOMAR kinda guest
Business
District of Columbia
Nov 21, 2014

Palomar .... YIKES!!!!

Was traveling with someone who had stayed at this hotel. I'd always heard it was friendly, very clean, the food - outstanding and service very professional. Upon arrival waited 20 minutes at the registration desk as there was only 2 people available. One person stayed on the phone the entire time and did not acknowledge anyone. Once we arrived in the room we ordered room service at 7:15 p.m. and checked on the order 45 minutes later. We were told, "No one could find the order and had no idea what we ordered." Then proceeded to repeat our order to us assuring us it would be up to us in another 30 minutes. We did not order anything complicated - sliders with sweet potato fries, short ribs with 2 desserts and 2 beverages. When it finally arrived they had sent up cutlery service for 1 person although the order was for two. We waited patiently. Ordered a movie and the movie had almost ended before our order arrived. The order did not arrive until 10:15. Arrived with two small pups and found the room too tight. It felt claustrophobic and was not clean. The toilet had leftovers. Dusty and was not refreshed before assignment despite the hotel was not at 90% occupancy. YIKES!!! Will stay away from this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go somewhere else to eat. The food was not delicious, warm or served attractively.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zandra the great
Business
wi
Aug 17, 2012

getaway

came into town for a couple night get away, the location is honestly great. Anything you ask the staff the will find out but they didnt seem anymore freindly than the average hotel. The room was decent I would say that the cityview room was worth the extracharge. I can say that the lower level of the hotel had a nice looking bar tho we didnt get a chance to visit. Overall a great location, nice, clean bathrrom, but i would never pay over two hundred for this hotel. even that is pushing it. If i cam back to philly i would definatly check out other hotels.. this ones a tad pricey for what you actually get. not a 4.5 rating at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

bistro ramano is a great italian resturant! pay the fifteen bucks for the celler room for two! Was definatly highlight of our trip but make a reservation. Also if you are going on a red bus tour when they tell you the price say oh that is too much for us and they will lower the price :)

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suzie Happy Camper
Business
Honolulu HI
Dec 4, 2012

Parking

It was a very disappointing having to pay 40.00 a day for parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superdine
Business
Port Jefferson Station
Mar 2, 2015

Avg hotel

The hotel is beautiful, in a great location, staff is extemely friendly, but there's no valet, the beds were uncomfortable, room was a little on the small side, there wasn't a vent in the bathroom, and the room was really drafty. For the price though it was average value, all the hotels have similar amenities, this was a right down the middle. I would give it another try, but I wouldn't recommend it until I had a more positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christina M.
Business
Richmond
Apr 14, 2015

Quick trip

The hotel was very nice but not quite as boutique in feel as we were hoping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wilson9665
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jan 2, 2014

In the middle of it all

great time for new years celebration. we were nearby everything we wanted to see. the hotel and staff are top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike from New York
Business
Nyc
Feb 24, 2014

Great Spot for a Special Occassion

We only stayed one night as a special getaway visit to Philly. This hotel was great. If I was traveling for a more mundane visit, I'd probably opt for a more plain and less expensive hotel. On the other hand, spending a little more for a funky hotel with a free wine hour, truffle popcorn, yoga mats in the closet, and character, was totally appropriate for our trip. Also great location. Tons of bars and restaurants, along with shopping. Try Franklin Mortgage and Investment for cocktails in a speakeasy setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mia1238
Business
Princeton, NJ
Apr 20, 2014

Holiday weekend

Really great value for a holiday weekend. Only complain would be the lobby was overly crowded upon checkin due to hotel giveaway free wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top