$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
117 S 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
118 reviews
Great Stay!

We had a great time at this hotel. It is a little pricey, but the service, room, and restaurant... See full review

  • Mallo Cup
  • Jun 2, 2014
Very happy with our stay!

We are a family of four and we stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. The room had ample space. The... See full review

  • nojunkfool
  • Apr 19, 2014

Built in the 1920s, Kimpton Palomar Hotel Philadelphia is a boutique hotel overflowing with quirky touches. The building is strikingly Art Deco, inside and out, with multicolored busts lining the lobby and modernist wall-art. Happy hours don’t come much more sophisticated than the hotel’s 'hosted wine hour,' where guests can refine their palates and make new friends. Dishes like truffle popcorn and beer-braised mussels at SQUARE 1682 are too unique not to be sampled. Make use of the in-room yoga mat for a private exercise routine, or take out one of the hotel's free bikes to get around town. You can always make time to chill on your bed later, with a massage and body treatment service that comes straight to you.

Key facts
  • 230 guestrooms and 17 suites
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center
  • Restaurant: SQUARE 1682
  • Yoga mats in all rooms
  • Full-service concierge
  • In-room spa service
  • Bicycles available for guests
  • 24-hour room service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Just north of Rittenhouse Square in the Center City area of Philadelphia, the Kimpton Palomar puts you in the middle of top-notch eateries like Parc, and shopping from Armani to H&M, with a short walk to the Pennsylvania Conference Center for business guests. Browse the contemporary exhibits at the Philadelphia Museum of Art (just over a mile away) or take a wander around the Gothic splendor of City Hall, a few blocks to the northeast.

Hints and tips

Those not in an early rush can enjoy the complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby throughout the morning.

Staying with a pet? Each furry friend receives free amenities, like their own bowl and bed, with special maps for walking trails in the area - ask for recommendations from the staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 235-285 Sq. Ft. Etro Bath Amenities.
Presidential Suite with 1 King B
Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed 1175 Sq. Ft. with separate living room.
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Ro
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Cityvw King Roll In
Accessible Cityview King w Roll In shower 2 peep holes lowered closet rack
Accessible Cityview King Room
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe Room 2 peep holes lowered closet rack rails in shower.
Accessible 2 Queen Dlx Roll In
Accessible 2 Queen Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 peep holes and rails in shower.
Accessible Spa King Room with 1
Accessible Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed 260 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 300 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 300 Sq. Ft., Etro Bath Amenities
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds. 300-325 Sq. Ft, Etro amenities
Cityview Queen Queen Room
Cityview Queen Queen Room with 2 Beds 300-325 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Amenities.
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 385 Sq. Ft Fuji soak tub and shower
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite, separate living room, Fuji tub, 430 Sq. Ft.
Parlor Room
Parlor Room, 625 Sq. Ft. connecting to Presidential Suite. Booked on property

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
Northeast Philadelphia Airport, (PNE), 17.40, MI, NE; Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Square 1682
Square 1682 - Modern American Kitchen and Cocktails - is located in the heart of Center City Philadelphia and just steps from Rittenhouse Square. The corner restaurant and popular bar was recently voted USA Today*s Best Hotel Bar and it is where Executive

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Teacher Traveller
New York, NY
Feb 23, 2011

Excellent hotel in great location

Beginning with the check-in, my experience at the Kimpton hotel was amazing. I was only in Philadelphia for a short vacation, but the location was ideal. Ample restaurants, shopping, and mass transportation are nearby. The room itself was spacious for one person and very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lawrence, KS
Dec 22, 2009

Excellent

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. Very friendly and helpful staff, modern and comfortable decor, wireless Internet included with room rate, complimentary hot chocolate and wine in the afternoons, good location, fair price. We'll definitely stay there the next time I'm in Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Dec 19, 2010

Exelent...

I had a great time in Palomar Philadelphia. Everything about this hotel was perfect. I am very happy I choose it over other options. I will come back :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, Pa
Nov 2, 2009

RUN! DON"T WALK TO THE PALOMAR

It couldn't have been nicer! I'll recommend it to EVERYONE! From the time we pulled up, till the time we pulled away, the staff couldn't of been more accomadating. Friendly, courtesy, helpful, just a pleasure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your car, you won't need it till you leave! EVERYTHING within walking distance.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cam in the City
Greenwood, DE
Feb 18, 2010

Hip, trendy hotel; perfect location.

The hotel was super trendy, and hip. The art displayed throughout the hotel (including the elevators) was quirky and fun, yet tasteful. The free wine social in the lobby was a great way to mingle with other guests. My friends and I had such a great time, and the location was absolutely perfect. Located right in the middle of Center City, we were able to walk to all the great hot-spots, clubs, shops, and restaurants. The rooms were a little small, but hardly work complaining about. The beds were very comfortable. Overall, a REALLY great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Free Wine social in the lobby from 5 to 6 pm! You can mingle with other guests and "get your drink on" before even heading out to dinner!

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snow RN
Business
Springfield, PA
Feb 11, 2010

Five star, modern, reasonable price

I stayed at the Hotel Palomar during the February 10th snowstorm so I could stay closer to work and not have to drive in the snow. This hotel is beautiful, modern, and reasonably priced. I loved the Palomar from the minute I walked in the door. The doormen took my luggage from the cab and walked me to the front desk. Check-in took all of two minutes and I was walked to the elevator. My room was clean, modern, and comfortable. The bed was amazing and the pillows were so fluffy! I am a nurse and have to sleep during the day so the blackout curtains were just great. I used the fitness facility and accidently de-magnitized my card by keeping it too close to my I-phone. I called the front desk from the phone (they have one outside every elevator) and someone brought me up a new key card. The fitness facility was clean, brand new, TVs on every cardio machine, it was just great. I didn't get to take advantage of the free coffee/tea in the mornings in the lobby or the wine tastings but the hotel does offer this every night. What a great thing to offer your guests! I found out that the Palomar also allows pets with no size limit. That is great to know in case we ever want to bring our dog with us and take a stroll around Philadelphia. I had to extend my stay for a half day due to the snow and work needing me an extra night. The Palomar extended a "snow rate" half day price to me. I appreciated that I didn't have to pay for an entire extra night. I'll be returning to the Palomar, and next time I won't be staying in the snow for work. I'll bring my dog, my husband, and we'll be taking advantage of the wine tasting for sure next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mercato

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Motd
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 18, 2014

Perfect Philly Hotel

The staff at the Palomar are the most welcoming. We spent a 3 day weekend there and it felt like a private retreat. The afternoon wine and cider happy hour was fun. Got to mingle with fellow guests, enjoy being out of the cold like a winter's lodge. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. Not incredibly spacious, but bigger than others in major cities. Many of our weekend destinations were in walking distance; museums, restaurants, shops and Reading Market. I would definitely return to the Palomar when visiting Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Reading Market early. Great tours on Saturday morning.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nut farmers
Chico, CA
Nov 26, 2010

Palomar Philadelphia

Ideal location within walking distance of Liberty Bell and other related historical musts. The friendly staff found info we needed and all were very helpful. Lovely amenities include coffee/tea in the am, wonderful rich hot chocolate in the afternoon and wine tasting too. During an emergency evacuation due to a smoke alarm going off, the staff was calm and very professional. Everything was under control but the staff had to follow fire procedure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The African museum is a must. Newly remodeled with wonderful exhibits.A pleasant surprise.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Dec 7, 2009

Sexy weekend getaway

From the fantastic decor to the welcoming staff to the free happy hour to the comfortable room, it could not have gotten any better for a couple looking to combine a brief business trip with a fun weekend overnight. Everything in town is walkable from here and we really enjoyed our stay and touristing around philly. The only issue (and not even really a huge issue) was that we booked a king deluxe and got a room with a queen...a bit too small for us when one has to get up early and we paid a premium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nut farmers
Chico, CA
Nov 26, 2010

Palomar Philadelphia

Ideal location within walking distance of Liberty Bell and other related historical musts. The friendly staff found info we needed and all were very helpful. Lovely amenities include coffee/tea in the am, wonderful rich hot chocolate in the afternoon and wine tasting too. During an emergency evacuation due to a smoke alarm going off, the staff was calm and very professional. Everything was under control but the staff had to follow fire procedure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The African museum is a must. Newly remodeled with wonderful exhibits.A pleasant surprise.

Back to menu Return to top