$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
117 S 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
89 reviews
Perfect place for a getaway

Was only in town 1 night to celebrate my wife's birthday, and must say, hands down, best hotel... See full review

  • rockbtm956
  • Nov 29, 2014
Above and Beyond!

My boyfriend, our dog and I just returned from a weekend at the Palomar. Everything was... See full review

  • Fresco's Mom
  • Nov 25, 2014

Built in the 1920s, Kimpton Palomar Hotel Philadelphia is a boutique hotel overflowing with quirky touches. The building is strikingly Art Deco, inside and out, with multicolored busts lining the lobby and modernist wall-art. Happy hours don’t come much more sophisticated than the hotel’s 'hosted wine hour,' where guests can refine their palates and make new friends. Dishes like truffle popcorn and beer-braised mussels at SQUARE 1682 are too unique not to be sampled. Make use of the in-room yoga mat for a private exercise routine, or take out one of the hotel's free bikes to get around town. You can always make time to chill on your bed later, with a massage and body treatment service that comes straight to you.

Key facts
  • 230 guestrooms and 17 suites
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center
  • Restaurant: SQUARE 1682
  • Yoga mats in all rooms
  • Full-service concierge
  • In-room spa service
  • Bicycles available for guests
  • 24-hour room service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Just north of Rittenhouse Square in the Center City area of Philadelphia, the Kimpton Palomar puts you in the middle of top-notch eateries like Parc, and shopping from Armani to H&M, with a short walk to the Pennsylvania Conference Center for business guests. Browse the contemporary exhibits at the Philadelphia Museum of Art (just over a mile away) or take a wander around the Gothic splendor of City Hall, a few blocks to the northeast.

Hints and tips

Those not in an early rush can enjoy the complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby throughout the morning.

Staying with a pet? Each furry friend receives free amenities, like their own bowl and bed, with special maps for walking trails in the area - ask for recommendations from the staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 235-285 Sq. Ft. spa-inspired bath amenities..
Presidential Suite with 1 King B
Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed 1175 Sq. Ft. with separate living room.
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Ro
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Cityvw King Roll In
Accessible Cityview King w Roll In shower 2 peep holes lowered closet rack
Accessible Cityview King Room
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe Room 2 peep holes lowered closet rack rails in shower.
Accessible 2 Queen Dlx Roll In
Accessible 2 Queen Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 peep holes and rails in shower.
Accessible Spa King Room with 1
Accessible Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed 260 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 300 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 300 Sq. Ft., Etro Bath Amenities
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds. 300-325 Sq. Ft, Etro amenities
Cityview Queen Queen Room
Cityview Queen Queen Room with 2 Beds 300-325 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Amenities.
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 385 Sq. Ft Fuji soak tub and shower
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite, separate living room, Fuji tub, 430 Sq. Ft.
Parlor Room
Parlor Room, 625 Sq. Ft. connecting to Presidential Suite. Booked on property

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Square 1682
Square 1682 - Modern American Kitchen and Cocktails - is located in the heart of Center City Philadelphia and just steps from Rittenhouse Square. The corner restaurant and popular bar was recently voted USA Today*s Best Hotel Bar and it is where Executive

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
braidalie
Santa Monica, CA
Mar 25, 2013

fun

A great place to stay downtown with a homey yet trendy atmosphere. Fantastic location for walkable restaurants, bars and sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crew Parent
Business
Washington DC
Mar 29, 2010

Great hotel

Stayed for three nights. Room was beautiful, new, relaxing spa-like feel. Not huge but very efficient layout. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We will definitely return to the Palomar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Valanni's was excellent tapas experience. El Paz also fun and delicious Mexican.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hackettstown new jersey
Jun 28, 2010

fantastic couple getaway

the hotel was in a perfect location for us , since it was our first time going to philly.. we could walk ,take subway, catch a taxi.. all within a short distance.. the staff, was some of the nicest people we have ever met as far as hotels.. we got to see the history of the town, enjoy some great places to eat.. and shopping was fun.. this was the first time in a very long time, that my husband and i were able to get away .. and just be adult and a couple again.. we would go back to the polomar hotel in a heart beat and bring out daughter this time... thank you sooo much for such a treat.. debbie lett

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

i would just tell a fellow traveler to ask the front desk for some of the best dining area.. esp.. since they are from the area.. thats what we did.. loved every place they directed us...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rumibean
Business
Memphis, TN
Jan 10, 2011

Awesome vacation

The staff was AMAZING. They were definitely helpful within the normal sphere of local recommendations and directions but their dedication to customer service really shone when we ran into trouble. When a lost iPhone caused panic, they were on top of the situation IMMEDIATELY and their efforts helped us retrieve it. Also, they were so kind to waive the fee for late checkout when we realized we had mixed up the times. And, of course, we received the room upgrade that seems to be de rigeur- so nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Zahav- most delicious & unique meal in Philadelphia!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drl8
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Best Hotel in Philadelphia

Outstanding service, clean and fresh energy throughout hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AK123
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 25, 2012

Palomar

This hotel was really nice. Formerly an architect's building, it has real style. The lobby, the elevators, and the room especially. I got an upgrade for free and found the room to be just comfortable yet snazzy. In the mornings, a complimentary coffee and cannolli breakfast. Would have been nice to have some fruit as a non-decadent option, but oh well. Also, a free wine tasting in the evenings. Staff was very pleasant. I would definitely go back and will look for Kimpton hotels in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manuel Pineiro
Business
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Aug 14, 2012

Great Hotel

I knew the hotel was good, but it was more than I expected. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was great. I highy recommend this hotel. I have never stayed at a Kimpton now I will look for one in other cities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aprod
Business
Boston
Sep 20, 2012

Great location great hotel

we had a great time here. the roomservice was slow but really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B. Spears
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Oct 10, 2012

Top Notch

This was my first stay in Philly and the Palomar certainly did not disappoint. Love the interior and design. After staying at a Kimpton the night before in New York City, I was impressed with how much nicer this hotel was. Don't forget to hit up the lobby for wine around 5-6 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kimpton is within walking distance of every popular downtown destination.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bad Penny
Business
Solvang California
Oct 19, 2012

A Special time with Family'''''Lovely

The time of our lives.....I would love to come back next year to realy check out the vibe of your beautiful Philly,,,My sons wedding was even more special with your x pert staff and special attention to detail. Thank You Ariella Barshay.....And the door man....And the Restaurant. If 6 Stars was in order I would say 6

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phiily Harry
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 4, 2012

A Fanastic Hotel to Stay for Business or Vacation

This hotel and their staff made sure my stay and needs were met far beyond my expections!! It was perfect in every way!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You never have to leave this hotel to have a perfect get a way experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top