$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
117 S 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
118 reviews
Great Stay!

We had a great time at this hotel. It is a little pricey, but the service, room, and restaurant... See full review

  • Mallo Cup
  • Jun 2, 2014
Very happy with our stay!

We are a family of four and we stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. The room had ample space. The... See full review

  • nojunkfool
  • Apr 19, 2014

Built in the 1920s, Kimpton Palomar Hotel Philadelphia is a boutique hotel overflowing with quirky touches. The building is strikingly Art Deco, inside and out, with multicolored busts lining the lobby and modernist wall-art. Happy hours don’t come much more sophisticated than the hotel’s 'hosted wine hour,' where guests can refine their palates and make new friends. Dishes like truffle popcorn and beer-braised mussels at SQUARE 1682 are too unique not to be sampled. Make use of the in-room yoga mat for a private exercise routine, or take out one of the hotel's free bikes to get around town. You can always make time to chill on your bed later, with a massage and body treatment service that comes straight to you.

Key facts
  • 230 guestrooms and 17 suites
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center
  • Restaurant: SQUARE 1682
  • Yoga mats in all rooms
  • Full-service concierge
  • In-room spa service
  • Bicycles available for guests
  • 24-hour room service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Just north of Rittenhouse Square in the Center City area of Philadelphia, the Kimpton Palomar puts you in the middle of top-notch eateries like Parc, and shopping from Armani to H&M, with a short walk to the Pennsylvania Conference Center for business guests. Browse the contemporary exhibits at the Philadelphia Museum of Art (just over a mile away) or take a wander around the Gothic splendor of City Hall, a few blocks to the northeast.

Hints and tips

Those not in an early rush can enjoy the complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby throughout the morning.

Staying with a pet? Each furry friend receives free amenities, like their own bowl and bed, with special maps for walking trails in the area - ask for recommendations from the staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 235-285 Sq. Ft. Etro Bath Amenities.
Presidential Suite with 1 King B
Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed 1175 Sq. Ft. with separate living room.
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Ro
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Cityvw King Roll In
Accessible Cityview King w Roll In shower 2 peep holes lowered closet rack
Accessible Cityview King Room
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe Room 2 peep holes lowered closet rack rails in shower.
Accessible 2 Queen Dlx Roll In
Accessible 2 Queen Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 peep holes and rails in shower.
Accessible Spa King Room with 1
Accessible Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed 260 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 300 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 300 Sq. Ft., Etro Bath Amenities
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds. 300-325 Sq. Ft, Etro amenities
Cityview Queen Queen Room
Cityview Queen Queen Room with 2 Beds 300-325 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Amenities.
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 385 Sq. Ft Fuji soak tub and shower
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite, separate living room, Fuji tub, 430 Sq. Ft.
Parlor Room
Parlor Room, 625 Sq. Ft. connecting to Presidential Suite. Booked on property

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
Northeast Philadelphia Airport, (PNE), 17.40, MI, NE; Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Square 1682
Square 1682 - Modern American Kitchen and Cocktails - is located in the heart of Center City Philadelphia and just steps from Rittenhouse Square. The corner restaurant and popular bar was recently voted USA Today*s Best Hotel Bar and it is where Executive

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc Paddy
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 24, 2010

!st time at a Kimpon Hotel

The Hotel was smart & sophisticated, yet seemed easy for a family as well. The staff was excellent & attentive. The location was superb, everything was within walking distance & what wasn't was a short cab ride away. The fact that it was pet friendly was a bonus & the hotel & rooms did not reflect that at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tintos - excellent Tapas restaurant!

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Aug 20, 2010

Lovely hotel in the Center City

This hotel was truly centrally located in the center of everything in Philadelphia. The rooms though somewhat small are elegantly appointed. I was initially assigned to a room that had a strange odor (similar to when you turn on your furnace after a long hot summer). When I phoned the desk they immediately offered to switch my room. I didn't have to do a thing but get up and walk! A valet was sent to my room with a cart to move my personal things and escorted me to a new room--equally elegant appointed (no downgrade, no tricky stuff). He used a pass key to get me in the new location then returned minutes later with my new room key! The entire staff was professional, pleasant and so professional, I felt as if I were in an alternate universe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This location is surrounded by many retail stores from low to moderate to high priced shopping! I was able to walk to the corner to buy a cough remedy at a national chain drug store! I picked up a few gift items around the corner at a well know retail shop. A small mall is a short block away and a nice department store is just across the street!

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LizzieK
Philadelphia
Dec 16, 2013

Perfect Thanksgiving stay with boyfriend

Home for Thanksgiving and booked this hotel to have a night with my boyfriend to meet up with friends. Perfect location, right in the center. Walk to everything. The wine/popcorn hour is awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free wine happy hour every night with popcorn. Right by the fireplace. Fun!

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 15, 2009

Wonderful hotel...a philly must!

Great place to stay..Location is perfect. This was our first time to Philly the hotel was within walking distance to most everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Couple
New York, NY
Aug 23, 2010

Beautiful, Modern, Luxurious

Superb location. Everything was top rate, modern, beautiful artwork and decor. New, fresh design. I highly recommend and would say there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums, restaurants, histroical sites all within walking distance

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mallo Cup
PA
Jun 2, 2014

Great Stay!

We had a great time at this hotel. It is a little pricey, but the service, room, and restaurant make it worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Sep 2, 2010

Beautiful hotel

This hotel just opened up from a renovation in October of 2009. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nojunkfool
New York
Apr 19, 2014

Very happy with our stay!

We are a family of four and we stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. The room had ample space. The hotel staff was very pleasant and the free wine and popcorn in the lobby every day from 5-6pm is a nice touch. I will definitely look to stay in a Kimpton property wherever I go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Join the Kimpton Club and get free stuff!

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B. Spears
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Oct 10, 2012

Top Notch

This was my first stay in Philly and the Palomar certainly did not disappoint. Love the interior and design. After staying at a Kimpton the night before in New York City, I was impressed with how much nicer this hotel was. Don't forget to hit up the lobby for wine around 5-6 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kimpton is within walking distance of every popular downtown destination.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Earth Kelly
Business
Roxbury, CT
Mar 21, 2010

Hotel Palomar

Great location -- everything within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant around the corner -- Alma de Cuba. I tried the hotel restaurant one night and found the two items I ordered to look and taste like something that was in a amateur chef competition.

Back to menu Return to top